We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect : Fell in love with the room”
Review of Hotel Daniela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daniela
Ranked #47 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2009

The hotel was fantastic. My wife and I stayed in the suite on which was spread over the top two floors of the hotel. The lower floor had a living room, study table, a balcony and a bathroom. A staircase led to the upper floor which had a beautiful bedroom, sofas, dressing area, a study table and another bathroom. The upper room also had another big balcony.

Both the baconys had splendid views of the matterhorn.

The room itself was very traditional, beautiful and romantic. TV was good, and facilities in the bathroom were perfect.

The room was very clean and well mantained. Breakfast spread was good though there werent any warm options for breakfast. Maybe thats one thing that can improve

The staff was very friendly and were also very helpful.

By the way the guests can use the facilities (swimming, spa etc) in the Hotel Julen which is just a few steps away

All in all the place is just perfect for a romantic break/ honeymoon

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dum_chick_dum_dum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Daniela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 318 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2009

Had 3 rooms, 2 in the 2nd floor & 1 where I was staying was in the top 3rd floor ( full Matterhorn view). Great hotel and amenities. Could smell the freshness all over the place. Helpful friendly staff and very good breakfast.
Gym & other facilities I think could be reached in their sister hotel nearby but we didn't use personally.
The special thing I think about the hotel is the obvious cosy family sense of it together with the color schemes of the rooms & decoration which are very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ra77al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We just spent 8 nights at the Daniela with our 3 small children for an off season ski holiday. We were very pleased with the Daniela. The rooms are decent sized, as are the bathrooms. Plenty of hot water , comfy beds (although we really didn't like the pillows!). Everyone who works at the hotel is friendly and helpful - very professional. The hotel is convenient to town and slopes. Breakfast is good. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chickenfriedhummus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

A fine choice for Zermatt. Very friendly staff, excellent rooms, great views of matterhorn on south side, good breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

we just spent two nights in zermatt at the daniela, and other reviewers were right -- this place is a gem.
cheerful staff greeted us and showed us to our third-floor room that had a view of the matterhorn from porch. plenty of space in our double room.
we came at start of low period, and 170 SF for two seemed like a bargain. we'd highly recommend taking the half-board at hotel julen (sister hotel) for 30 SF per person for five excellent courses.
overall, the daniela is a winner.
steve mcpherson
denver, colo.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevem3609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Only could book 6 nights at the Mirabeau so they recommended this place (again, same owners I think). We arrived quite late and were expecting us. The hotel has an authentic swiss feel and I found it cosy. The rooms had everything you needed and was well laid out (shame about the stripy carpets). It had minibar, nice fruit, bathroom with bath, bathrobes and slippers, balcony (though facing over someone else's balcony opposite), TV, a grate for putting ski boots on, etc. They recommended a local restaurant (The Stockhorn) and we could use the nearby Hotel Julen for pool facilities. They also took us free of charge to the Mirabea the next day. While I was glad stayed at the Mirabeau, this hotel had more authentic charm.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Lovvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

The hotel’s website does not do this place justice as it is a modern small hotel with nice large bedrooms which you can happily chill out in. Breakfasts are good with a large selection of cold buffet food and there is a bar although it is hardly used. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Zermatt.

It is 5 minutes walk from town and the lifts except Klein Matterhorn which is 10 minutes away.

In addition, I would recommend the following restaurants – Le Mazot, the Stockhorn restaurant and Zum See which is in the mountains. There is also a cinema where you can dine in whilst watching the film. The cinema also has a cool bar as does Hotel Post.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#19 of 111 in Zermatt
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#33 of 111 in Zermatt
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 111 in Zermatt
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniela

Address: Steinmattstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $207 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniela 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniela may be small, but it has a lot to offer. Situated just 10 minutes away from the mountain lifts and the train station in a quiet location, the 23 renovated single, double and family rooms are all equipped with their own bathroom/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, WLAN, cable TV and safe. The bathrooms all have a hairdryer, free cosmetic articles and bathrobes, free of charge. The generous breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen or at the Hotel Alpenhof, where delicious 5-course selection menus are served. Wellness Around Tradition Julen: Guests staying at Hotel Daniela have free entry to the Julen SPA in the Romantik Hotel Julen or the Alpenhof SPA in the Wellness Hotel Alpenhof. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing