We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views, fabulous staff”
Review of Hotel La Couronne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Couronne
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, fabulous staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is located in a great central location. The mountain view rooms are amazing, with balconies and comfortable chairs for you to enjoy the view. The second day of our stay was my birthday - and totally unsolicited, I was greeted at breakfast warmly with a special table they had made up for me with flowers. The breakfast provided is awesome - not continental, but what you would expect a Swiss restaurant to have - great eggs, rich cheeses, and meats. Would definitely return here!

Room Tip: definitely the mountain view roome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedee761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    60
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
127
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent one night here before heading down to Italy and it was great. The breakfast was included and was located in a beautiful open room with a view of the Matterhorrn. The rooms were updated, clean and the beds were comfortable. You can't go wrong with any room here because the hotel is close to the river, you get the peaceful sound all night. Very reasonably priced for Zermatt and was well worth it. I will only stay here on my travels to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Matterhorn view room is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

the hotel is located quite centrally, but if you decide to take the river view, keep in mind there is also a cemetery you will be facing. theres nothing great to speak of about the staff at the front desk. we wanted air circulation in the room but the hotel didnt have a fan to offer. definately not worth the price

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggydogg_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel offer us a ride (free) from station to hotel
it wasnt very far walk (we walked without our luggages later on) but it definately helped for the ride.

Room is big and view was great from the breakfast lounge with the manhattern horn view.

we didnt visit during the best season, all the shops were mostly closed. nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aychuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to get our bearings before heading up to Schwartzsee. it was a pleasant surprise to see the Matterhorn from our room as I wasn't aware that we had booked a room with this view. The staff were helpful about our hotel change and they arranged for hotel taxi to take us to the gondola to travel up to Schwartzsee, which was unexpected. Room and breakfast buffet were excellent. We got a good rate on our ski rental through the hotel and the ski shop is conveniently in part of the hotel building. The boot drier in the ski room works well, so there's no need to smuggle your damp boots up to your room to use the hairdryer! On arrival at the train station, use the telephone at the large hotel board to call Hotel La Couronne for a taxi - we only saw this by chance and it seems that a lot of visitors don't know about this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GallusAllus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very nice hotel centrally located in Zermatt. We had 2 rooms, 1 junior suite and a double room deluxe (north side) and both of them was really big. They provide the comfort you seek for a week in Zermatt. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially in the breakfast room. The breakfast is kind of approved, meaning that your basic needs are fulfilled. The junior suite had a nice view towards Matterhorn. Easy to reach the ski bus from the ski room. On the down side the room was a bit warm during night, even though we use the thermostat and the air freshener. And there is no tea or coffee facilities in the room.
The reception is closed at 22.00 in the evening so remember to warn the hotel about late check in.
I can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very very good hotel all round...

We stayed here 9-12 October 2013 in Room #408, which had a Matterhorn view and a reasonable size balcony for two. And what a view it was! Very impressed. I had emailed the hotel previously requesting a good view of the Matterhorn, and they certainly gave it to me. Good one La Couronne.

Our room was quite large with an extremely comfy bed, a small passage where the bathroom and toilet came off of and a large built in wardrobe. There is no minibar, but thats fine by me. And you didnt need a fridge as we just put our drinks out on the balcony. The room had a skylight in the main area and one in the bathroom for added light. And a two seat couch.

Staff were so courteous and helpful. Whether at the desk or breakfast area. Good one...

Our stay was good value for money at our time of stay, and included breakfast which had a good selection for a big day of site seeing.

The hotel is only 9minutes walk from the Zermatt Bahnhof (train station) and Gornergrat Bahn, and very easy to find so you dont need to pay for electric taxi's. And only about the same to the cable car up to Matterhorn Glacier.

If, or when, we return to Zermatt I will definately stay at the La Couronne again...

Room Tip: Room #408 great view of the Matterhorn and good size balcony. If you stay in Zermatt, pay the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 110 in Zermatt
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#33 of 110 in Zermatt
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.0 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couronne

Property: Hotel La Couronne
Address: Kirchstrasse 17, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#43 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Couronne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA COURONNE offers breathtaking Matterhorn views. The Hotel is located in a sunny and quiet place in the heart of Zermatt, the mountain railways can easily be reached on foot or by bus. Enjoy breakfast in the beautiful winter garden with its unique atmosphere and let yourself be spoiled at our restaurant OLD ZERMATT where we serve fresh cuisine and good wine. A vegetarian menu is also offered, gluten free dishes are available. SLALOM SPORT is situated in the same complex and offers hotel guests special discounts. After a great day out in the fresh mountain air, you can relax in the sauna. Free wireless internet is available in the entire hotel LA COURONNE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couronne Hotel
La Couronne Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing