We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.”
Review of Hotel La Couronne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Couronne
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my two daughter and husband and myself. First of all it was one of the few hotel rooms that could accommodate four people. The beds were comfortable and the linens were soft and cozy. We had a breath-taking view of the Matterhorn and the weather was beautiful so we often ate lunch on the balcony. The hotel was right near the shuttle stop and it had a basement floor to exit with skis, etc. so it was as convenient as could be. We rented equipment from the hotel sport shop and the high quality equipment and fitting ended up being (with the hotel discount) the same as renting terrible equipment in New Hampshire! (Sadly that was the only thing comparably priced during the trip!). The hotel included an amazing breakfast of fresh breads, yogurt, meats, cheeses, fruits, granola, etc. The coffee was amazing and fresh brewed. We loved breakfast time. My only complaint was the extreme variability in the staff. Most of the front desk staff (Sonja and Sara) were amazing -- super friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The other wasn't -- at all. One of the bartenders was super nice and friendly, the other made you want to leave -- immediately. It was a little confusing. But overall, we had a wonderful stay at La Couronne and would recommend it.

Room Tip: For a family, the pull-out in 504 was outstanding.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Couronne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 246 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely hotel perfectly situated in the heart of town. 10 minute walk from the train station and only 2 minutes from the center. The ski shuttle stops across the street, there is also a convenience store across the street. A Ski shop is located on the lower level for equipment rentals and lift tickets can be purchased at the Receptions Desk. For Ski Pres, there is an indoor/outdoor pub next door. Despite the activity in the streets, the room was quiet because the hotel sits high and back from the street.
Spend the extra money and get a room with a Matterhorn view. It's spectacular. Rooms 302 and 303 have a slightly obstructed view of the peak due to the hotel across the street. There was also a delicious breakfast provided each morning. The staff was incredibly friendly.
The only thing negative was that I had to stand next to the door in order to get a WiFi signal, otherwise everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Matterhorn View Rooms. 3rd floor has the best views. Rooms 302 & 303 have...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here two nights and took a train trip up the mountain to Gornergrat (The Matterhorn Railway) The hotel has been modernised to a high degree. We enjoyed the breakfasts but could not recommend dinning at night there. There are many other fine restaurants around town

Room Tip: They are all fine. There are no cars here. Just electric taxis and trucks
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location was great! It's on the river in the middle of town. On the other side of the bridge (which the hotel is next to) is the bus stop to take you to the ski lifts. Over the bridge and 100 yards up a slight hill is the old church. Around the corner from the church begins the main street with most of the shopping & restaurants. The breakfast room features a great view of the Matterhorn. You get a discount at the ski shop that is in the same building as the hotel. I bought our lift tickets at the hotel too. They have a room to store your skis and racks that blow air to dry your boots. The basics: friendly, helpful staff and clean comfortable room. Call ahead if you know when you're train is arriving. They will pick you up. The half mile or so from the train station to the hotel is an expensive cab ride. We spent 4 nights at La Couronne. If I return to Zermatt, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice hotel, in a good location. We spent Christmas week in Zermatt. The hotel is well situated in the town of Zermatt. Right along the Vispa river, and a few minutes walk into town, and Bahnhoff Strasse. The ski bus is just a few steps away from the ski room. If so inclined you can walk to either the Schwarzsee gondola or to the Sunnegga Lift too. (about 250 meters to either one.) The hotel is about equal distance between the two. However, the bus comes every 10 minutes in the morning, and then in the evening.

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. They made reservations for restaruants on several occassions for us. The ski shop connected to the hotel also has a great staff. You can walk into the ski service shop from the hotel on the lower level. Had my skis waxed once. Just drop them off at the end of the day and pick them up the next morning, and head to the ski bus.

The breakfasts were also very good. Always soft boiled eggs, and another hot dish. Scrambled eggs, or maybe sausage, or hashbrowns. Several types of swiss cheeses and cold cuts. Pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, 3-4 different types of breads/rolls. Wonderful coffee, and hot chocolate too.
Great views of the Matterhorn when the weather was nice in the breaksfast room. Watched the sunrise and reveal the Matterhorn on several mornings.

Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel. Good value, and it was one of the few hotels that didn't have that pesky Saturday to Saturday, or Sunday to Sunday stay requirement. We booked for 9nts, and thought it was good value.

Nice size rooms. Thought the bed was comfortable. You can hear noise out in the hallway, but it was only an issue one night with some noisey neighbors. Otherwise it was very quite. Maids cleaned the room timely every morning when we left for the slopes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just returned from two nights at the Hotel La Couronne in Zermatt, and we had the best stay. We just had so many positive things to say about this place and would defintely stay again. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Matterhorn from our balcony. It was breathtaking and by far the best view we had of it except when we skied in Italy. Other positives - the hotel promptly picked us up from the train station when we gave them a call. They took our luggage to our room (which was ready at 11am!) while we checked in. We got loaded with information at check in - the woman who checked us in was super helpful and friendly. We were able to check in, rent our skis, and it the slopes within an hour a half. Having the rental store in the basement of the hotel is fantastic. And there is a way to walk from the rental place directly to the ski room without going up and down stairs which was ideal (there is a lot of schlepping in Zermatt). The ski room goes right out to the street level, and you just cross a bridge to get the bus (it's probably a 3 minute walk). The hotel is perfectly situated between all of the various points up the mountain. It's just a few minutes on the bus either way. It's also very close to the main street with all the shops and restaurants - less than a 5 minute walk. And, it's situated right long the creek which is a nice feature.
The room itself was very comfortable and clean (very clean I will add). The beds were great (I love the down comforters that you wrap up in - so awesome). The bathroom was spacious with a really nice towel warming rack. Our only complaint over all would be a lack of bar soap in the bathroom. They just have these two squeeze bottle things. If we stay again, we will just bring along our own bar. That might be more of an American thing...not sure.
Also, the included breakfast was very nice, too. They had a good selection of things (eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, fruit, etc.) and the breakfast room also had a great view of the Matterhorn! The hotel restaurant bar was also very cute - we got two free welcome drinks upon check in, so we had those the second night. We didn't try the hotel restaurant (the Old Zermatt Inn but I've read good things).
We also liked it that you could purchase your lift tickets / ski tickets at the hotel. You couldn't buy half days, but we were able to get our full day pass there which was very convenient.
Everything was just perfect. We thought it was a great value and we hope to stay again!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Matterhorn!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahitijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for five nights over xmas, we had a south facing superior room. The view was to die for! it was like a picture postcard!
we rang when we arrived at the station and they were there to pick us up immediately, the staff are so nice and. helpful
The room was very nice, lovely bathroom. big tv plenty of channels, breakfast was good. The location was perfect, overlooking the little river with a view of the Matterhorn and only five minutes to walk into the main street..

Room Tip: Room 308 is a corner room with a huge bed. room 307 is nice with lots of light.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 111 in Zermatt
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#25 of 111 in Zermatt
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#33 of 111 in Zermatt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couronne

Address: Kirchstrasse 17, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#43 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $182 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Couronne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA COURONNE offers breathtaking Matterhorn views. The Hotel is located in a sunny and quiet place in the heart of Zermatt, the mountain railways can easily be reached on foot or by bus. Enjoy breakfast in the beautiful winter garden with its unique atmosphere and let yourself be spoiled at our restaurant OLD ZERMATT where we serve fresh cuisine and good wine. A vegetarian menu is also offered, gluten free dishes are available. SLALOM SPORT is situated in the same complex and offers hotel guests special discounts. After a great day out in the fresh mountain air, you can relax in the sauna. Free wireless internet is available in the entire hotel LA COURONNE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couronne Hotel
La Couronne Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing