We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A little gem, close to the lift with fantastic food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little gem, close to the lift with fantastic food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I visited in early Dec and the returned in January for a 1 week vacation. The hotel and rooms are not super modern, but very clean, comfortable and many with a great view of the Matterhorn. The place is about 100 yards from the lift so location with respect to the lifts is great and a short walk to the Main Street (Bahnhofstrasse).
The thing that is amazing is the nightly dinner (5 courses) for about 30 SF if you are taking the dinners with the room or 60 SF if you walk in. They are simply superb and perhaps one of the best in town regardless of price. We were going to eat there once and then eat out every night, however quickly changed our mind after the first meal. We're not disappointed in subsequent dinners.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank perlfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
492 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been to this hotel a few times, and keep going back because it is so close to the lifts, so the location is unbeatable. Rooms are comfortable even if small, and - for a 4 star hotel - they look a bit "tired"' including the bathroom that - at least in our room - did not have a proper shower (rather a hose in the bath that you would need to hold with one hand). Service has always been ok, but this year very disappointing. We had an almost comical "cappuccino drama" at breakfast, where we were first told that if we wanted a cappuccino we would have to pay for it and when we said that that was ok, we were still refused our cappuccinos, with the waiter making a huge fuss - and quite loud - about it. In the end we had our cappuccinos and were not charged for it even when we insisted to pay, so still not sure what the whole bad mood was about! we also asked if we could keep the room one hour past check out (12 instead of 11) and were refused to, as we were told the cleaning staff would leave at 11.... although at 11:45 they seemed to be all still there and working.... I guess nothing will ever take away the location, but next year we will think again before booking here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A great little family run hotel. The owners were so friendly and would do anything to assist you.

We arrived very early (10am) but were still able to check in. Which meant we could hit the slopes straight away.

We had a lovely double room end room with the balcony. The room was cosy and the beds comfy. The hotel is perfectly located near the lifts. There is a boot room, with heaters.

The hotel is wonderfully retro and I would definitely recommend!! Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moosey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Antares is situated very near to the cable car station that is used to access the Matterhorn Ski Paradise and the Klein Matterhorn cable car station,The staff are friendly and informative and can give local information which may not be available in guide books .Our room was a double room with a south facing balcony from which you could see the Matterhorn. For a double room the size is small but the bathroom is ok Rooms on the other side of the hotel face a grassy bank with trees , so make sure you book a room on the south side if you want to see the Matterhorn,the elevation is as shown on the photo above next to the address.The town centre is 10 mins from the hotel, but its a pleasant walk over the river bridge.The hotel has an electric taxi service to and from the railway station, We booked the hotel in advance and would do so again if we re visit Zermatt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Situated a little out of the centre of Zermatt, but still within walking distance of the train station (15 - 20 minutes with luggage).

Rooms on the Matterhorn have a virtually unobstructed view of the mountain (make sure you upgrade to a Matterhorn view room to ensure you get one, it's definitely worth it).

The bathrooms are superb, finished with Jade Onyx!

Service was friendly, and the receptionist made recommendations for our sightseeing and dinner options.

Continental breakfast was pleasant and the staff in the restaurant were helpful and courteous.

The lift only goes to the 4th (of 5) floors, but If you want a room with a view, this hotel will not disappoint (make sure you ask for it!!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdeesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked this hotel through hotels.com, when we were 1 hour from Zermatt, we received an email that they did not have a room for us. When we arrived, we called and they said they found us a room at a "lesser" hotel. Lesser hotel? I don't know because we didn't see this hotel. They blamed hotels.com for the error. Our "lesser hotel had no view and cost 10 Swiss francs less. My advice would be if you book this hotel, call and make sure they will honor your confirmation number because they certainly did not honor ours. The only reason they got 2 circles was because the girl found us room, the whole town was fully booked. I'm wondering what would have happened had we not found it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chadpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hotel is an older one, but the room we had had a brand new bathroom which was nice. Hotel is ok. The Hotel is about a 10 min. walk from where all the shops and restaurants are. If the weather is good it might be a pleasant walk, if not might be bad! Our room had a direct view f the Matterhorn which was beautiful. Breakfast was fine. Room size, just ok. No air conditioning, but with the balcony door open, it was ok. The owner was a very nice and pleasant lady. Free-Wi-fi. The hotel is only a few steps away from the Cable cars up to the Matterhorn which is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchi2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Bijou Hotel
Bijou Hotel
#70 of 110 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
#66 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#57 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albana Real
Hotel Albana Real
#81 of 110 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plateau Rosa
Hotel Plateau Rosa
#74 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 101, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#43 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#44 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing