We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic in Zermatt, seems better in winter...”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #85 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

As other reviewers noticed, the Antares is one of the "classic" hotels in Zermatt. Most of them are located in the area around the station, on the main street. The Antares is just around 1000 metres from them, but (together with the Focus and Coeur des Alpes, which I also reviewed in the past years, and a few others) is one of the best locations for skiers, just around 100 metres from the Matterhorn Express departure station. This is an invaluable feature you'll appreciate if you are in Zermatt for skiing, and it's probably well worth choosing the Antares alone, unless you're also looking for a "designer" hotel like the others I mentioned - and are also ready for a higher price.
The general hospitality situation in winter seems to be better than some reviewers found this summer. The spa, while not top notch as in other, more recently built hotels, was regularly accessible, and the only group of guests was a ski team from Sweden. The hotel, however, shows its age in many details. Rooms are small, and have a dated design. Buying a superior room will not improve room space (you'll just get a better view), the bathrooms have been renovated in 2008, you may find them luxurious or overstyled - like other details in the hotel, but you'll agree on the small size again. The room looked clean, but our luggage collected too much dust after being placed on the closet. Hot water is at the boiling point. Our bathrooms all had a massage-shower (kind of "car wash" style sprinklers) plus the traditional showerhead, and there was a digital scale in each room.
Wifi (for the techies: B standard only) works properly and it's free of charge. Two PCs are available for guests to use, near the reception.
This year we chose not to have dinner at the Antares, so I cannot comment on the restaurant; breakfast was ok, in line of that of other hotels in Zermatt. Food was not all that special in 2008.
The hotel owner, a vigorous lady, is generally kind, altough I did NOT enjoy an unpleasant comment on our Italian roots from the restaurant manager - probably he did not really realize the meaning, think "Lost in translation".
The hotel owner arranged a free trip to the station with the hotel car.
Be careful about arrival time: the reception and front door are closed after 11 pm, so you have to check in before this time and in the next days a key is provided to the guests planning a late return to the hotel. Same with the hotel car: service should be reserved in advance, this is normal in Zermatt as the hotel car, as ALL vechicles in Zermatt, is an electric only minivan, so they have to be sure the batteries are charged and so on.

While not as iconic as other properties in Zermatt, the Antares is still a reasonable choice, especially now that the Swiss currency commands a toll on the global expense for holidays in Zermatt. Please note that summer experiences from other reviewers seem to be different from my findings, especially regarding staff and general service.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet, as Zermatt is a no-car town. superior rooms seem to buy only a better view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrearp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

Everything about our stay @ Antares was great. At check in, the owner greeted us and made us feel like family…even upgraded our room without us asking! Breakfast was wonderful and service a delight. The location couldn’t be better and the hotel is cozy. Antares is the only place we would ever stay… I hope we get to go back. Monica and the other staff were wonderful… they certainly made our stay memorable and comfortable.
Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Room with view of Matterhorn is worth every penny...the attached picture was taken from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We'd visited the Antares twice before....around 12 years ago when it was a buzzing 'classic' Swiss 4**** hotel with a kitchen way above the average. And when we decided on Zermatt this year we were delighted to find that the owners were still actively involved...so booked and looked forward!

But sadly it's almost a different hotel.....while the hotel is still beautifully kept, the bar is permanently shut, (!) and the spa is only opened 'by request' with notice. So no drink before dinner except at the table....when your starter arrives before your drink...Does that sound like 4 star service? And no sociable spot for coffee afterwards....

Why? Sadly the strength of the Swiss franc means the regular 'summer holiday' business has virtually collapsed, and the Antares is living on 'one night only' coach parties from the far east who arrive and pour into the (hitherto almost empty) dining room around 9pm in the evening when they're fast-fed (huge noise and disruption...) before they all disappear at the same time to bed...and off early in the morning. The next day it's a different group, and so it goes on.

The effect on the kitchen must be depressing...and there's a marked effect on the food for the very few 'ordinary' residents who rattle around the rest of the time. I ordered a fish dish described as 'white fish fillet'......(it arrived badly overcooked and very strong)...later it emerged it was a piece of shark.

Added to all that, the staff are very obviously not a happy crew...and standards are sliding. Another reviewer mentioned a poor reception...they could also have mentioned the deputy manager's habit of wandering casually around the hotel (and the reception area) clad in a track suit....and staff not turning up when promised to help with luggage arrangements etc. Four star service it isnt.

Altogether it left us very sad....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menai000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

What can I say but absolutely superb hotel and incredibly friendly and accommodating staff who couldn't do enough to help you, Given how expensive Zermatt is for food and drinks, our half board and free packed lunches meant that the value for money that this hotel provided was superb and what could have been a horrendously expensive holiday for really affordable for discerning travellers who want the beauty and peaceful tranquility of an exquisite location in the world. The hotel was exceptional clean, your rooms were immaculdate and cleaned every day, the food was superb and the hotel were brilliant at accommodating our request for an early evening meal at 6.30 pm instead of the normal starting time of 7pm. The wellness centre was ready for us to use when we returned from our hiking each day but overall, it was the friendliness and sense of humour of all the staff throughout the hotel that made it such a memorable experience so much so, that we only got home at 1am this morning and I have already booked to stay at the hotel for another 10 days next June 2012. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, its cleanliness and exquisite food and brilliant sense of humour and fun that made our holiday that extra bit special!
Just cannot fault it and you will not be disappointed!l

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

First of all the property is superbly located. Just a couple minutes walk and you are at the ski lift. The rooms however are quite small, but it's alright. When the first thing you see when you open your eyes in the morning is the magnificient Matterhorn, you will forgive anything) The service is ever brilliant, you feel like at home.
The owner - a very nice lady - is like a mother for her guests, every dinner she would pass by checking if everything is ok, that is really nice.
Food is what people come here for again and again. Many of the guests seem to be regulars. Breakfast is just like anywhere elese, but the dinner is something. It's like you are in a chic French restaurant, only in a cozy alpine village. I have never had anything that good in a hotel.
Even though the hotel is a bit pricey, you definitely won't regret coming here. It is indeed the best hotel I've ever stayed at in the Alps.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose Matterhorn view room. Other rooms face just a wall of a near-by building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3u3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Location and views of Matterhorn superb - probably unbeatable - but overall a disappointing experience.

Whilst there are some positives about this hotel - the views, the good quality bathroom and its location - it is hard to see how its 4 star rating is justified. On arrival we were met by a scruffy lad who failed to explain many of the facilties and it felt as if we had arrived at a student hostel. Despite booking a superior room the room was small, dated and one chair had a cigarette burn in it.There was no info in the room about the hotel facilties. Breakfast was limited, although the fresh bread is tasty. Only on day 6/7 were we even offered a boiled egg ! As we had booked half board dinner had no choice at all (other than take it or leave it). We were not asked which courses we would like but presented with each at our table and some staff seemed offended when we did not want a dish. They refused to provide a jug of tap water and sold bottled water at 8Ch per litre. The chef seemed to have shares in a European veal mountain as it was served 4/7 nights (3 consecutively !) We baulked at Veal cheek. In fairness some dishes were very tasty and the chef has talent.

It felt like a ski hotel limping through the summer. Whilst some of the staff were friendly and welcoming others seemed disinterested. Very over rated at 4 star. We will not return.

Room Tip: Fantastic views of the Matterhorn in the south facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Zermatt and to the Antares and again the whole experience was great. My husband and I have just spent an excellent 7 nights, half-board, in a suite which was smaller than one would normally expect but it was very comfortable and south facing (south facing a must for the views of the Matterhorn).

The overall dining experience is very good from an ample array of breakfasts cereals, breads, fruit, cheeses, smoked salmon and eggs to the cake & coffee in the Stoube after a hard days skiing to the 5 course evening meals, you will certainly know you have been catered for by the end of the week!

The spa starts up around 3pm which is well worth a daily visit to ease the tired legs....

The whole atmosphere is great, Monica (the owner) makes a special trip every evening to welcome diners and generally ensures that you are enjoying your stay and the team in the restaurant and the bar are efficient and without exception very friendly and helpful.

OK so what about location, well the hotel is located about 100 mts from the gondola and about a 10 min. walk into the village centre. The centre is vibrant with plenty bars and shops there is also a smashing little cinema and an ice rink.

We can highly recommend the Antares. We have been to several ski resorts in Switzerland and this is by far the favorite. Looking forward to next year already!

Arlene & Keith (to you Monica ~ "good evening Scotland!")

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlene_nicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel National Zermatt
Hotel National Zermatt
#30 of 110 in Zermatt
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#62 of 110 in Zermatt
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#60 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
#64 of 110 in Zermatt
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#69 of 110 in Zermatt
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 101, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#54 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $175 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing