We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing alpine retreat”
Review of Hotel Primavera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Primavera
Ranked #11 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Two friends and I visited Zermatt in Switzerland to see a friend who was doing a ski season out there. Whilst it was the most expensive and luxurious location for a weekend away (especially as we weren't skiing because ski passes for a week cost up to £300...), Zermatt was extremely beautiful and relaxing and Hotel Primavera helped that. We booked through booking.com but about a week before our arrival we were contacted by the hotel who told us that they had messed up our booking and the dates, and our triple room was no longer available and we were being given an apartment in replacement at no extra cost. We were worried about this change in plan, but we had absolutely no need to be as the staff were extremely helpful and nice and the apartment was super! Zermatt was never going to be cheap but Primavera was a reasonable option in an extremely expensive resort. Whilst I can't comment on the rooms in the hotel, the apartment was very clean and comfortable, the hotel foyer was very tidy and clean, the breakfast every morning was plentiful and tasty, and the staff made it a very relaxing and pleasant stay. They weren't overbearing, it's not a 5 star resort but it was an accessible and charming place for friends, couples and families alike to visit one of the most expensive ski resorts in Europe. Would visit again!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is one heavenly accommodation amongst the series we had during our stay in Switzerland. While it is slightly more expensive, trust me, it really does worth every penny. We were allocated a humongous room just for the 3 of us. The large comfy bed makes waking up in the morning a drag. Our room comes with an attached toilet that's reasonable in size and pretty clean. A warm shower at the comfort of your own room is so much appreciated on a cold night.

The view from our room is amazing. Matterhorn is just right there. Beautiful motels with similar woody structure littered the town. If I have more days to spare, I don't mind sitting at the balcony, sipping a cup of coffee with some cookies and enjoy the charm of this little town, all day long.

The staffs in this hotel were very helpful. Seeing that we may look too fragile for our large luggage, the owner (I presume) helped us bring it down a small flight of stairs. With his strong build, he made it look so easy, but we had a bit of a struggle.

Breakfast was equally amazing. An assortment of ham platter, bread, cheese and cereals awaited us. With breakfast being the most important meal of the day, and especially for this place where many would head out for long hiking trips right after breakfast, Hotel Primavera pampers us with a satisfying meal to start our day.

Ask them for good dinning places and trust them to give you good recommendations. We found nice little cafe at the end of the town that serves really good cheese.

Room Tip: Request for a room that gives you good view of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiling_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The most friendly host, gd breakfast spread, close to station tho better tk taxi if u hv more than one luggage to pull. Impossible to pull luggage in snow pathways.i hd best room which opens up to mountain view at balcony.bcos of gd host, i've enjoyed zermatt tremendously.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ladyZermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Zermatt and at the Hotel Primavera. It is clean with a very helpful and friendly staff. It's a bit off the main part of town but we liked that it was quiet. A good breakfast offering with plenty of food and choices. Easy access to the ski slopes and good view of the Matterhorn. Would definitely stay here again...we couldn't have been happier with the whole experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KryssieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed one night at Hotel Primavera. The location of the hotel was 15 minuters walk away from the train station. There is a part where you will need to walk upslope. It can be quite tiring if you are lugging a big luggage. There is an elevator in the hotel. So if you manage to reach the hotel, carrying your bag to the room is not an issue after that.

We booked a room for 3. It comes with a double bed and one sofa bed. The room was spacious and clean. They provide soft pillows with crisp and clean comforter. We have a balcony in our room and the view from the room is beautiful. We can see Mattherhorn clearly from our balcony.

The staff and owner of Primavera are nice and helpful people. Initially, my friends and I were comtempating to extend our stay in Interlaken and therefore to move our stay in Matterhorn a day later. I emailed Josef (Owner) to check if that was possible and if there was any penalty involved. He responsed the next day to inform us that he has made the amendment for us with no penalty. However, later we have decided against it and made a call to tell him that we will reach at our original date and he was cool with that as well.

Breakfast were simple and good with helpful Josef offering to make coffee for us at the expresso machine.

Our room was in level 2 and we were able to connect to wifi in our room. So if you do need wifi and want the convenient of being able to surf in your room, you might like to request for the room in level 2 nearest to the lift (Do note that the room is for 3 though).

All in all, I must say I have a very good stay in Hotel Primavera and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerbreadman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. We had a bit of a problem finding the hotel from the station. It sounded easy but it was a bit difficult. I had a quick look on the booking web site before we arrived but we still had to ask a few people when we were walking around. I would suggest look it up carefully on google maps before getting to Zermatt or just use a taxi which is about 20SF. Once you know where the hotel is located it is a 15min walk to the station.The rooms were clean and quite spacious, the staff friendly and the breakfast pretty good with expresso coffee. There is internet in the lobby with 2 computers and wifi but it doesnt work in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_MumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Primavera was perfect for our needs. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, had a window and balcony with view of the Matterhorn. The breakfast was good, choice of cereals, breads, cheese, cold meats, jams and yoghurt - also served in a reaonable time range, 7.30 - 10.00 makes a nice change from UK B&Bs that aren't usually so flexible!

The location isn't bad, have seen comments that it is a bit of a walk... I would guess under 10 mins walk from the main train station and around 10 mins to the main strip of Zermatt, though I am a quick walker, it may take some longer! We also walked to the Klein Matterhorn cable car station a couple of times and I think that also took around 10 mins.

Another bonus for us was free use of the internet, really helpful if you are mountaineering and need to check on the forecast. They also provided soap and shower gel, which last year when we visited Switzerland we never got and I must admit I found really annoying! It's a small thing hut when you are paying that much for a room I think a bar of soap isn't too much to ask! All in all this was a really great find for us and such good value for Switzerland!

Room Tip: Ask for a view, they will gprovide if they can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cssmallwood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.6 mi away
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Zermatt Youth Hostel
#3 of 76 in Zermatt
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primavera

Address: Wiestistrasse 168, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range: $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Primavera 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly 2 star Garni Hotel Primavera is located in the quiet area Wiesti in a sunny location with view of the Matterhorn. The winter sports facilities are only a few meters. Also a bus stop is within easy reach on foot. The rooms are traditionally furnished and offer everything you need for your stay in Zermatt ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primavera Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing