We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great value!”
Review of Hotel Primavera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Primavera
Ranked #13 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Primavera was perfect for our needs. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, had a window and balcony with view of the Matterhorn. The breakfast was good, choice of cereals, breads, cheese, cold meats, jams and yoghurt - also served in a reaonable time range, 7.30 - 10.00 makes a nice change from UK B&Bs that aren't usually so flexible!

The location isn't bad, have seen comments that it is a bit of a walk... I would guess under 10 mins walk from the main train station and around 10 mins to the main strip of Zermatt, though I am a quick walker, it may take some longer! We also walked to the Klein Matterhorn cable car station a couple of times and I think that also took around 10 mins.

Another bonus for us was free use of the internet, really helpful if you are mountaineering and need to check on the forecast. They also provided soap and shower gel, which last year when we visited Switzerland we never got and I must admit I found really annoying! It's a small thing hut when you are paying that much for a room I think a bar of soap isn't too much to ask! All in all this was a really great find for us and such good value for Switzerland!

Room Tip: Ask for a view, they will gprovide if they can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cssmallwood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We chose this hotel mainly because of the price which is in our budget and we found that it is a very great value for money. Its cleanliness, good room and service did meet our expectation. The only thing we don't like much about the hotel is the location. Apart from that, everything is very good.

Location : is a bit far from the train station. Although you can surely travel on foot there, it is around 10-15 minute walk from the train station (with some path up hill), and add another 5 minute to the city center/ shops, restaurant.

Room : can't find any bad things about it at all
- we chose to pay a little extra for the one with Matterhorn view and wouldn't regret it. We had a balcony to sit and enjoy the view (but need to share with other rooms - but luckily, we were the only one who chose this type of room at that time, so no need to share with anyone).
- the room is big and perfectly clean.

Other :
- Staffs are helpful and can answer your questions.
- breakfast is nice but the restaurant is closed both lunch & dinner
- check in / check out is easy and very fast

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plaakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a basic hotel. It has a good breakfast, nice beds and solid internet connection. It is a bit of a trek from the train station. That said, between the excellent welcome and advice from the owner and the specular view of the Matterhorn from our bed we want to return. If you go to ski you do not need fancy amenities, just a solid breakfast and a staff that can provide good advice. We stayed in the summer, with a bit of rain. Planning an early departure the owner advised that he look first to see the weather above, and then suggested we take the lift to see the Matterhorn. Perfect advice. We will return for a ski vacation someday. Who needs frills when you open your eyes to that magnificent mountain the hotel owner treats you as an honored guest . . . although he did push my German skills to the breaking point. LOL.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We chose this hotel from the "board" at the train station and were a bit dubious. Could not have been more pleased with our choice. Nothing fancy but completely clean and comfortable - there was even a bathtub! Best of all was the stunning view of the Matterhorn revealed the next morning. My adult son and I would have been happy to stay longer - almost changed our itinerary to do so.///Excellent breakfast, wi-fi, extremely helpful and friendly staff. Only downside was an uphill walk from the station - fine for the young.
Really good value - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Zermatt, the hotel was excellent the welcome and the owner and staff were very friendly, it was clean we had a fabulous room with a view of the Mattterhorn and the breakfast was lovely. It is situated 10 mins walk from station/town.
We would definately stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Just had a great stay at the Primavera in Zermatt, great value for monye, excellent location for Sunnegga lift, very friendly staff and although hotel very old, was very clean and tidy, woudl recommend and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room on east side was OK, no view of Matterhorn but view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Wonderful view, clean, spacious room. (A kettle would be nice). Very nice breakfast, with good coffee and great tea selection. Free wifi works well. Friendly helpful charming staff. Quiet location and hotel, and easy walk to the main village, Sunnegga and the bus to Klein Matterhorn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.6 mi away
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Zermatt Youth Hostel
#3 of 76 in Zermatt
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primavera

Address: Wiestistrasse 168, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range: $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly 2 star Garni Hotel Primavera is located in the quiet area Wiesti in a sunny location with view of the Matterhorn. The winter sports facilities are only a few meters. Also a bus stop is within easy reach on foot. The rooms are traditionally furnished and offer everything you need for your stay in Zermatt ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primavera Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing