We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Expensive, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Expensive, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We decided to splash out as it was for a birthday celebration whilst there. Our room was lovely and the view of the Matterhorn, from both the small sitting room and the bedroom, was exceptional. We both were amazed that we had to enter the hotel via an ice cave, a long passage that led to the lift, a very novel and practical idea. I think that entrance saved us a long walk to the other entrance. We were close enough to walk into the town both day and night and we were very near to the train station to take us up to Gornergrat where we could get a closer look at the Matterhorn and mountain scenery. We had a delighful meal for our birthday celebration in the dining room where the staff all came to offer their congratulations. We arranged for a small cake to be served and the whole evening was made special. Thank you to the staff. It was a great night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    77
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
241
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

5 times in hotel schonegg, 5 years the last week of july. excellent service, location, and all the team is very present to help the guests. The cook is really fabulous, 15/20 gault millaud. We love the spa/sauna and the kindness of mr metri, the owner. Ask for the special summer deal, they offer you a 5 days pass, really interesting for a budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I were here for a special occassion. Everything was excellent but a charge of 5CHF for tap water in the restaurant even when ordered with wine at exhorbitant prices was a disgraceful abuse of guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeb4712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed for a week's skiing and found the hotel to be extremely comfortable and well situated. We paid a supplement for a south facing room with balcony which was well worthwhile - we had a splendid view of the Matterhorn when the clouds cleared. We even had an apres ski drink on the balcony on one evening although the hotel also has a nice terrace with the same lovely view.
The room was spacious by European resort standards, well appointed and had a nice bathroom with double basin, bath and really powerful shower. New towels twice a day and all spotless. The beds were slightly soft but we slept like logs.
There was a good breakfast buffet but the evening meal was exceptional. We had the half board menu which was 5 courses every day (6 on the last, with Easter eggs as it was good Friday). The food was really imaginative and the protions not too large although we still sometimes skipped a course so as not to overeat! We had tap water (free) every day plus wine which was prettly pricey but not much different from what is charged in other upmarket Zermatt hotels. Service was very efficient, pleasant and friendly and there was a piano player every night.
The hotel is reached via an 80m tunnel and then a lift (so no uphill walking despite its elevated position above the town). To ski we mainly went to the nearby Sunnega express, about a 5 minute walk up a slight hill then down a lift. Once we got the ski bus to the Matterhorn area from the nearby bus stop without any problem, although it was crowded on the way home. It was barely a 10 minute walk into the town centre, which is very pretty. The ski/boot room was well heated. Most evenings we had a hot tub (two, each for about 4 people, again with panoramic views). We also liked the Finnish bio hot steam room.
The hotel was not particularly cheap (none of the upmarket ones in Zermatt are) but we really enjoyed our stay and were particularly impressed with the overall standard of service. We will happily go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

This hotel is definitely not for everyone. Contrary to many of the good reports we found that it did not live up to its promise. To put it into its true perspective, it is a 32 room chalet - style hotel perched on a hillside above the Sunnega lift base, with commanding views of the town below. This presents a good deal of inconvenience since the access is through a long passageway tunneled out of the mountain upon which it is perched. Walking the length of this in ski boots and carrying skis is rather tedious to say the least, There is another access via the top road but this is a quite a long walk around. However, there is also a short cut to the Sunnega lift via side of the hotel, up a short staircase to the top road and about 50 metres to an elevator which deposits you at the train end of the Sunnega lift tunnel. The town Centre and Gornergrat railway station is a 10 minute walk away but access to the Matterhorn gondola is right at the opposite end of the town and not walkable in ski boots. The ski bus stops at the Sunnega lift base but is inevitably packed at peak times.

So - back to the hotel itself. At the end of the tunnel passage one is confronted with horribly tacky design lift facade and transported into the heart of the hotel. First impressions are that it is small and claustrophobic, although pleasantly designed and presented. The reception area, lounge, bar and restaurant are all quite close together on the 3rd floor. The reception staff are friendly and helpful ( and multi - lingual) and the porters are well organised to collect & transport baggage. Actually the bar, lounge and especially the restaurant are very cosy and well - appointed. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, as you would expect.

Although we had specified that a single room with a bath was essential ( there being 3 of us together with 2 sharing the other room) and that this was one of the only hotels in Zermatt which could provide one without charging an exorbitant supplement, on arrival we were given a double and a single room with a shower - no bath! upon producing aan e-mail from Swiss Travel which guaranteed a bath the staff went into a frenzy and eventually managed to move the single person to a room with a bath - but without a balcony. Heigh - ho! Our supposedly twin room ( for 2 men) was reasonably well furnished and had a large fixed double ended wardrobe, twin beds which were placed together and could only be separated by dragging one across to the other end of the room where it blocked access to the sofa, table, desk, easy chair, mini-bar,lamps, flat screen TV and balcony with chairs and table. The most surprising thing was the lack of any tea & coffee making facilities which in a hotel of this standard is unacceptable. The biggest shortcoming is the quality of the beds. Comfortable beds are the most basic requirement for a quality hotel and these certainly were not. They were soft cheap. In fact I spent most of the week sleeping on the sofa -bed, again, not what I expected for the price!and hey The bathroom was very nice with twin washbasins, bath, shower, fresh towells every day (but no heated towel rail) Although there were several power points scattered around the room, the electrical supply in Switzerland is surprisingly inconsistent and several times we had problems re-charging camera, phones etc. Room service is fantastic with 2 or 3 visits every day to tidy and clean.

The food was excellent and served with friendly professionalism to the background music provided by the resident musician. A fresh buffet was provided at breakfast and dinner and the a la carte dishes were exceptional. The table d'hote menu was also very good although the main course portions were small. Service was excellent. The wine list was extensive but outrageously expensive.

The spa, which looks fantastic in photos and does have a lovely view of the Matterhorn and the town below, is quite small and has 2 standard sized hot tubs, foot spas, a sauna and steam room. Everything you would expect but nothing special. A little disappointing. like other aspects of this hotel.

The best aspect of this hotel are the staff, who are very friendly and professional. The worst aspect (apart from the uncomfortable beds) was the owner / manager, who was always hovering , scowling, and creating an unpleasant atmoshphere around the public areas and dining room where he doubles up as the wine waiter. He obviously finds it almost impossible to smile or be genuinely friendly unless he had just taken an order for a £150 bottle of wine.

In summary, this was not quite what we expected of a 4* hotel in Zermatt. It is , we understand , quite new, and whilst nicely furnished in traditional style, there are some things which really let it down. It is oversold ( just look at the brochure!!!) and does not match up to its promise. We will not be returning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rickski2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear „Rickski2311“
We are very sorry, that you did not enjoyed your stay in our property in 2010. While I was reading your comment I often thought, that you did not inform yourself before coming to the hotel…
You complained about it was “tedious” to walk out of the tunnel… The tunnel is 80m long and just out of the tunnel your are about 100m away from the ski station and the bus stop. And when you go on a ski trip, you will always have to walk in ski boots.
The Matterhorn Station is indeed far away. But the that brings you there stops right next to our tunnel entrance. It is unfortunately not possible to be close to the town, to all ski lifts and at the same time being at the end of the slopes and having a great view to the Matterhorn and over the town. Just have a look to all other comments on our TripAdviser site. We receive the biggest compliments about our location…
About our lift, we are very sorry, that you did not like the hand painted entrance of the elevator. But not everybody likes the same art. “Claustrophobic?” All elevators around the world have the same size, since it is the same brand “Schindler”… Well it depends as well, how many people are in the elevator…
Thank you for the compliment for our reception staff!
I don’t understand your problem with the bathtub. All our rooms have bathtubs. About the matrasses it is impossible for us to provide you the same matrasses as you have at home. Some clients prefer a soft matrass, some prefer a hard one. In 2009 we just bought new matrasses; therefore it is impossible, that those matrasses have been old. And they have certainly not been a low quality. But we are very sorry, that they have not been at your taste!
We are very happy, that you liked the our food and the professional service that we provide!
On our wine list you will indeed find some expensive wines. But we have wine for every gusto in all price ranges!
Last but not least, I’m not a big fan about your critic about the manager. The ownership now changed, but he was a great person with a impresiv knowledge about wine.
I hope that I was able to clear up the situation in our hotel and to put some facts in the right light!
I personally wish you all the best for your next vacation. I guess it will not be in our property, but we would be happy to welcoming you once again – maybe only at tha bar or restaurant…

Best wishes
Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Same extraordinary cuisine. Same great views. Same great service. But new discovery: you can ski into the hotel... after a long day of skiing, it is nice to arrive a few steps away from a hot bath and a comfortable bed. (No lift, no long walk to a bus or taxi.) Just a hot chocolate with a bit of rum.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one week. It is in an excellent location, away from the main town, and with a good view, but connected to the town via a lift and a tunnel. There is a nice terrace outside the bar. The room was very well equiped, attractively furnished, spacious and clean. There was building work going on nearby and although it is a car free town, there were construction vehicles passing the room early in the morning. I was incorrectly charged on my bill for a drink in the bar that I hadn't taken. It couldn't have been mine as I was out mountain walking at the time on this particular day. I pointed it out to the receptionist the night before I checked out and but it was still there when I checked out. The manager was then called but would not remove it and made me feel as if I was in the wrong. I had a train to catch and to avoid missing this I had no choice to pay for a drink that I'd not had, and left with a rather unpleasant feeling. The restaurant had an excellent view. I found the soup for the evening meal to be heavily salted and the boiled eggs at breakfast were undercooked on several days in that the 'egg white' was still clear.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing