We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best, stunning.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Best, stunning.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel, just stunning. We were picked up and driven back to the train statin on checkout - all included in price. On checkin we were upgraded and had a room with fantastic views out to the Matterhorn. Sitting on our balcony sipping drinks watching the sun rise over the matterhorn was just amazing. The room was spacious, and very comfortable, large bathroom. The breakfast at this hotel, I'd say was the best from all our hotel stays over europe. Staff were excellent and helpful. Just love this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear “Kezzalin”

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy, that you liked our staff and the breakfast buffet. We always try our best to fulfill the expectations from our guests. Your comment will enhance our staff to keep this motivation! Thank you!

Best regards

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    79
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
244
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wonderful Hotel with stunning views of the Matterhorn. Staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful dining room with views again of the Matterhorn. Food was excellent and presentation second to none. A truly wonderful experience. The walking in this region is superb.

Elaine and Tony Cornish, Cumbria

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies but rooms south facing are looking onto the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castoroil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Elaine and Tony Cornish

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy, that you appreciated your stay. Since we always try our best, we are very happy if our guests see this quality of service we provide!
The view is our great advantage, great you had time to enjoy this...;)
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards
Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was all about celebrating my sister's 40th anniversary. The Schoenegg team made it a wonderful event and went out of their way to not only make it a great stay but something my sister will never forget.
The amenities were up to expectations and more, the welcome and all necessary help was...anticipated! The view from the Matthorn side are amongst the most beautiful and in bed you can see the sun shine and illuminating the mountain. The hotel is highly in demand so better book in advance, especially in high season.
Cheers

Room Tip: no need to try and bribe the owner, they'll do their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Propriétaire at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear „Alexander H“

Thank you very much for your kind compliments on TripAdvisor. We are glad, that you had an enjoyable stay in our establishment! We hope that we achieved that your sister will not forget the good memories of her 40th anniversary. The quality of service and the anticipation of a service is something we are currently trying to improve. It is very flattering that you point this out! Thank you very much!
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.

Your host
Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from town but worth it just for the best view of the Matterhorn.

While the hotel is charming the staff was not that attentive or helpful. Sometimes it felt like you were bothering those at the front desk when asking a question or those in the dining room at breakfast. The gentleman working the bar went out of his way later at night to get hot tea when the restaurant was closed, he did this with a positive and friendly attitude which was much appreciated. We are early risers so we were some of the few in dining room for breakfast but getting service was a struggle; very surprising seeing how there were less than 10 of us one day and another day it was just us. There was only one gal working but it appeared as if her job was to do it all, she was outside setting up the patio furniture, pulling out cushions for seatings' while trying to serve breakfast to guests too (its a breakfast bar, so getting coffee is about the extent of service needed)

The rooms - Very Clean and plenty of storage options, very spacious too but Please be careful of the very slanted ceilings in the bedrooms and the bathrooms. This made showering a challenge and the half glass wall did little to stop the water from spraying everywhere. The room also had no windows that would open - to get fresh air, you had to open the balcony door, which we did but seeing how the bees flew right in the room and our neighbor smoked excessively - we couldn't leave it open for long. This was a shame as the room was very very hot and the views were gorgeous. If you are looking for a place with the best views and are not concerned with much more - select this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear "Bean06"

We are very sorry about the inconvenience you had during your stay. Normally our guests are always very happy with the quality of service that we provide. We encourage you, to let us know during your stay, if something is not running up to your satisfaction. In this case we could correct it immediately and make a token gesture to apologize.

Regarding the shower facilities we do have a few rooms under the roof. Most of our guests are very happy with these once because the view is breathtaking and on the other hand the wooden ceiling gives a very cosy atmosphere to the room… If you would have let us know, we could have offered you another room.

I’m very surprised about the windows. All of our windows are made to been open, either totally or partly. Regarding your smoking neighbour again, if we would have known we could have found a solution for you.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience you had during your stay. But we encourage you to let us know earlier during your next stay. So we can interact and change the problem to make your stay more relaxing.

Best regards

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Very Traditional nice rooms and furniture.
Spacious rooms.
Excellent Service .
Don't hesitate to take the Mattehorn view even if it costs a bit more.
Good Breakfast.
Good food , Wine collection .
It's at a unique location gives fantastic view of Mattehorn Peak.
Access to Zermatt Market place is easy .
They have pick up vehicle ( Battery powered ).
Entrance to this hotel is a Tunnel which is very unique

Room Tip: Take higher room with Mattehorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syelisetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear "syelisetty"

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! We are very glad, that you liked your stay in the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt! You are totally right, our elevator is a big advantage for us comparing our competitors. Our guests are away from the town with a breathtaking view over Zermatt up to the Matterhorn. But at the same time, thanks to this elevator our guests are close to the town!
Regarding food and wine, we always try to reach the top of what we can! Thanks for the compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is an outstanding hotel with great location and easy access to the town and the chair lifts plus the railway station is only a 5 minute walk. The food and generous hospitality was excellent The hotel was very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful. This hotel made for a great summer vacation and in the evening we sat out on the terrace enjoying a drink whilst overlooking a fantastic, unspoilt view of the snowcapped Matterhorn. I am about to book this again for next year!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have excellent views of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear John

Thank you very much for your kind message! We are very pleased that you had a nice stay in our establishment! All our staff wants to thank you very much for your compliments to them. That means a lot to us!

We look as well forward to welcoming you soon at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!!

Best regards
Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived late in the evening, after a long day of travel. Even though the kitchen was closed, they prepared a lovely selection of cold meats and cheese. A very nice gesture, that got our six days off to a great start.
Our room was spectacular and comfortable. Booking a room with Matterhorn view is a must, as the mountain view is constantly changing due to cloud movements. Get up early, order coffee and sit on the balcony and watch the sun rise over the summit. Incredible!
We were collected at the train station and within 5 minutes were entering the unique tunnel that drops you off at the hotel lift (elevator). The tunnel is a huge benefit, due to the elevated location of the hotel. It makes the walk into the village very comfortable. The tunnel is lit with color lights and music plays. It only takes a minute to reach the lift.
Breakfast was buffet style, but you can order eggs etc from the kitchen A great spread of typical Swiss breakfast choices.
We had dinner in the hotel on two occasions, and were very pleased with the choices and the food. The hotel has a good wine list, with some very nice Swiss selections.
Schoenegg is family owned and operated, and it shows. The service was really good, and senior management was always there, happy to answer questions and give advice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Matterhorn view. Ask for a corner room if avaialable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Jan C.
Thank you very much for your nice review! It is always a big pleasure for us to see that people that staid in our establishment leave with a smile. We always try our best to meet your attentions from the hotel.

We look forward to see you again in the future as a happy guest of the Chalet Hotel Schönegg family.

Best wishes from sunny Zermatt

Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing