We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Firefly(Zermatt)
$495
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$142
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$156
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$153
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Phoenix(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Butterfly(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$196
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Solebad Arca(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
445
95
19
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
95
19
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunnel entranceinfinity terracetrain stationmatterhorn viewsunnegga funicularhalf boardnew wingbreakfast buffettap watersnow conditionsperfect staywonderful vieweach eveningfabulous hotelmatterhorn paradisecarved woodset menu
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 565 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is an outstanding hotel with great location and easy access to the town and the chair lifts plus the railway station is only a 5 minute walk. The food and generous hospitality was excellent The hotel was very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful. This hotel made for a great summer vacation and in the evening we sat out on the terrace enjoying a drink whilst overlooking a fantastic, unspoilt view of the snowcapped Matterhorn. I am about to book this again for next year!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have excellent views of the Matterhorn
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear John

Thank you very much for your kind message! We are very pleased that you had a nice stay in our establishment! All our staff wants to thank you very much for your compliments to them. That means a lot to us!

We look as well forward to welcoming you soon at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!!

Best regards
Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived late in the evening, after a long day of travel. Even though the kitchen was closed, they prepared a lovely selection of cold meats and cheese. A very nice gesture, that got our six days off to a great start.
Our room was spectacular and comfortable. Booking a room with Matterhorn view is a must, as the mountain view is constantly changing due to cloud movements. Get up early, order coffee and sit on the balcony and watch the sun rise over the summit. Incredible!
We were collected at the train station and within 5 minutes were entering the unique tunnel that drops you off at the hotel lift (elevator). The tunnel is a huge benefit, due to the elevated location of the hotel. It makes the walk into the village very comfortable. The tunnel is lit with color lights and music plays. It only takes a minute to reach the lift.
Breakfast was buffet style, but you can order eggs etc from the kitchen A great spread of typical Swiss breakfast choices.
We had dinner in the hotel on two occasions, and were very pleased with the choices and the food. The hotel has a good wine list, with some very nice Swiss selections.
Schoenegg is family owned and operated, and it shows. The service was really good, and senior management was always there, happy to answer questions and give advice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Matterhorn view. Ask for a corner room if avaialable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Jan C.
Thank you very much for your nice review! It is always a big pleasure for us to see that people that staid in our establishment leave with a smile. We always try our best to meet your attentions from the hotel.

We look forward to see you again in the future as a happy guest of the Chalet Hotel Schönegg family.

Best wishes from sunny Zermatt

Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed as a family (with 2 sons, 20 and 17) for two weeks and were delighted. The hotel is clean and beautifully presented. Our rooms had balconies looking out over the town towards the Matterhorn and were serviced twice a day. The breakfast buffet had a wide range of juices, teas and coffees, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurt, meat and cheese as well as bacon and scrambled eggs every morning. Evening meals included in half board were to die for! 5 or 6 courses of the most exquisite food every night with the offer of simple alternatives where the set menu was not to someone's taste. And the icing on the cake is the service - all the staff, without exception, we're friendly and helpful, making us feel relaxed and at home. A very special place which we would heartily recommend!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Revkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Gérant at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear "Revkc"

Thank you very much for your comment! It is always very grateful to receive such nice compliments! This shows to us that our daily effort in trying to do our best for our guests bears fruits...

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg in Zermatt.

Yours sincerely

Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Its definitely a unique experience.....entering a hotel thru a cave...!!! The cave entry does give this hotel a very different charm....imagine u enter a cave..then take a lift upto the reception and get the best view of Matterhorn in front of you....!!
Hotel Schonegg is one of the first hotels which came up in Zermatt and definitely has an old world charm... the Staff is very friendly especially the reception staff....
the room is reasonably spacious as is the bathroom....plus if you can manage to get a matterhorn facing room...nothing like it...imagine getting up in the morning and seeing the magnificient Matterhorn staring at you....the room decor is beautiful and the bathroom has all the basic amenities...
We were not very impressed with the restaurant though.....had breakfast in the mornings but there was hardly any staff around...and more so they were more interested in wrapping up the breakfast than attending the guests...also not much options for vegetarians....
But would like to say that these small problems dint assume much significance when you soak in the beauty of this town ....
The beauty of Zermatt takes your Breadth away...!!!
A special thanks to the reception staff who arranged a horse carriage ride around the town and made our last day in switzerland memorable....!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for rooms facing Matterhorn...!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karunzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Sir and Madame,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are very sorry for the little inconvenience you had. Often the staff has to redress tables in the morning because some tables are always occupied several times. In order to serve all guests on a high level, we have to do this. But anyhow the staff has to do this in a sensitive way without forgetting to pay attention to our other guests.
We encourage you to tell us if you prefer vegetarian dishes. Our kitchen staff is always delighted to prepare a nice substitution that meets your taste.
We are all happy, that you enjoy your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to see you again.

Best regards from sunny Zermatt

Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

At walkable distance from the railway station. Service is not good. There would not be any body after 9.00 pm even to attend the front gate. The breakfast is OK. If you are lucky enough you may get a room facing the Mathorn. Room is small. The Bath room is spacious

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GKIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your commentary about your trip to Zermatt.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay. We always pick up our guests, free of charge, from the train station. If you would have informed us about your late arrival time we would have arranged the pick up for you.

Regarding the room issue we unfortunately have to inform you, that you booked a room without view to the Matterhorn. Most of our rooms have a magnificent view to the Matterhorn. These are bigger, but therefore these rooms are a little bit more expensive. For your next stay with us, please inform us in advance that you would like to have a room facing the Matterhorn. You will find more information about our rooms on our website.

Our sincere apologize, yours faithfully

Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews