We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

At walkable distance from the railway station. Service is not good. There would not be any body after 9.00 pm even to attend the front gate. The breakfast is OK. If you are lucky enough you may get a room facing the Mathorn. Room is small. The Bath room is spacious

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GKIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your commentary about your trip to Zermatt.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay. We always pick up our guests, free of charge, from the train station. If you would have informed us about your late arrival time we would have arranged the pick up for you.

Regarding the room issue we unfortunately have to inform you, that you booked a room without view to the Matterhorn. Most of our rooms have a magnificent view to the Matterhorn. These are bigger, but therefore these rooms are a little bit more expensive. For your next stay with us, please inform us in advance that you would like to have a room facing the Matterhorn. You will find more information about our rooms on our website.

Our sincere apologize, yours faithfully

Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 516 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel was wonderful. It is located a hill slightly above Zermatt with excellent views of the Matterhorn and the town. If you don't want to climb the hill to the hotel, it has an elevator to take you up. The rooms were very clean, well decorated with fabulous views. The hotel staff was extremely helpful with recommendations for hiking and where to go in the town. The restaurant had great breakfasts and wonderul five course dinners. We will return there anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swoodstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear “swoodstone”

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thanks for pointing out the view at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Our prestigious advantage from all other hotels in Zermatt… We are always delighted to show you some nice hiking tracks or hidden slopes.
We are looking forward to regal you during your next visit at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg

Best wishes – your hosts

Anna & Sebastian Metry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent accommodation, hospitality second to none. Wonderfull gourmet meals which, whilst set, the waiter always checked if all was in order and chef would accommodate any dislikes. Room service incredible, checked mornings and evenings. Vista to die for even when the Matterhorn not visible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Manager at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear John

Thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg! We do look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards from the sunny mountains!!

Sebatian Metry
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Schonegg Hotel is aptly named… since “Schonegg” is German for “beautiful corner” and the hotel is… situated on the most beautiful corner of Zermatt. High on a hilltop, quietly overlooking the town below with breath-taking vistas of the Matterhorn. And yet, of all the high-end hotels, it is the one most conveniently located to the lifts (Sunnega and Gonnergrat) as well as the city center; the other high end hotels require a taxi ride to and from any of the lifts. You can even “ski-in” to the Schonegg hotel at the end of the day.

Still, the most memorable thing about the Schonegg is not its location nor its views; it’s not even the free champagne at breakfast, or the live piano music at dinner each night, or the excellent service, or the warmth of the management (This is a family owned and run hotel). The most memorable thing about the Schonegg is its restaurant.

In all the years we have been coming to Zermatt, we have sampled all of the lauded “best restaurants” in the village and on the mountain. None can compare to the Dining Room/Restaurant of the Schonegg. The dinner cuisine is as creative as it is delicious. Five courses that always begin with an extraordinary first course, followed by a homemade soup… then a trip to the extensive salad bar… a wonderful main course … and a spectacular dessert. We strongly recommend the “full board” option.

Additionally, a special treat is offered once a week in the form of an invitation to join the owner/manager on a fun excursion over the mountain and into Italy for lunch. A small group (6-10) of intermediate skiers sets off at 8:30am, taking a series of lifts to the top of the mountain and skiing down the Italian side of the resort toward Valtourneche. There is a brief stop for sparkling wine and a platter of local cheeses and sausages enjoyed in the sunny outdoors. A bit more fairly easy skiing into Valtourneche where a waiting taxi takes us to Mama Theresa’s. There we sit at sunny tables set with a welcoming drink as we select our lunch from a seemingly never ending parade of platters presented by Mama Theresa herself. Marinated vegetables, Sausages, Beef Carpaccio with Parmesan Cheese, Pastas and a choice of meat, and dessert, all accompanied by red and white wines and a finish of Strawberry Grappa. Lots of comradeship and laughter. A couple hours later, there is another taxi ride… this time to Cervinia… another series of lifts and we were skiing home but not without another stop. This time it was Blattan or Leander’s (name of the owner) for more wine and cheese and fun times. And then the final ski leg into the village and a ride to the hotel. This is the kind of mini-adventure that makes a vacation (and a destination) special and memorable and... the Schonegg Hotel the perfect choice for a stay in Zermatt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!! You cannot get any better than this hotel. The service, friendly and helpful staff, gourmet 6 course meals, beautiful rooms with views of the Matterhorn, spotlessly clean. The position of the Schonegg is perfect. Close to everything, and yet high enough to have the best views of the Matterhorn and Zermatt!! I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. Everyone that visits Zermatt must stay here - it is amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My Family and I have been visiting the Grand Hotel Schonegg (aka Schonegg Chalet Hotel) each New Year for a week for the last eight years and have at no time been disappointed by our stay. The quality of the service, the friendliness of the owners and all the staff ,the wonderful food at breakfast and dinner (and a very extensive and well priced wine list) all leave our family wanting to come back for more each year and that is what we do.... we had stayed in other Hotels in Zermatt prior to arriving at the Schonegg but none served us more well. You really can ski back to the Hotel and the Bar attracts as many locals as it does guests and has a great atmosphere....along with a very accomplished and lively piano player!The New Years Eve Dinner and Party is a must and even comes with your own indoor party fireworks... we now bring many friends to that celebration and there is no better view of the fireworks display on New Years Eve than from the Hotel balcony which provides the best view of Zermatt and the Matterhorn beyond.The new rooms in a modern wing are very stylish and comfortable and where else could you lie in the bath gazing at the Matterhorn! We will return and return again....well at least until I can no longer stand on the skis!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

•Excellent.
•Friendly helpful staff. They kindly arranged a meal in their restaurant after our late arrival and they picked us up at the train station.
•Better and cheaper restaurants for dinner within easy walking distance, so B&B terms worked well.
•Good breakfast, pleasant dining room.
•Lovely spacious quiet attic room with superb Matterhorn view.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $246 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing