We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
527
122
29
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
527
122
29
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squash court indoor tennis court wood carvings swimming pool train station ski room charming hotel the main street swiss hotel half board lounge area large room every evening breakfast and dinner ski resort skiing holiday junior suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 696 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2019 via mobile

I liked everything in this hotel, friendly staff, great location near the train station (although they provide free pick up and drop off), the spa and swimming pool, the breakfast, literally I think one of the best hotels in Zermatt. Highly recommended and for sure will go back again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Obatayyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

Dear Mr. Obatayyah,

We thank you very much for this wonderful comment and we are most happy that you had a lovely time with us.

All the very best to you and fond regards

Christina Perren
HOTEL ALEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

We’ve landed in the ‘Alex’ with friends for a weeks skiing in Zermatt. This place looks crazy on the Internet and doesn’t disappoint. Super fun - sort of Jules Verne 20,000 leagues under the sea meets a Parisian boudoir! Love it!! Nice rooms - good size, well appointed bathroom. We are on a half board deal - breakfast is good. Dinner is really excellent.
Staff great too.
Stay here if you are looking for something out of the ordinary but look at it on the web first. Have noticed some reviews are less than complimentary about the decor.
We love it - beats the run of the mill ‘Eurocool’ hotels.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 813geoffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear Geoff,

We are very happy to hear that you have loved staying with us.
Hopefully you will be back soon.

Very best ,Alex' regards
yours,
Christina Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

Hotel Alex is not slick or modern but I'm sure it's unique and it was so lovey to come back to after a days skiing.
Staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Look forward to a fantastic breakfast, lovely pool, relaxed bar and excellent ski room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are most happy that you have so much loved your time with us.

Hopefully we can have you back soon.

Take good care and best ,Alex' regards
Christina Perren
HOTEL ALEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

Back to the ‘Alex’ after 3 years and still the best place to stay in Zermatt! Family friendly, cosy great food and friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you. We have stayed in far more modern 5 star places, but for the best skiing holiday, this is far better, with everything done for you and cosy alpine style rooms with most having balcony’s, and in the center of the town, 2 minutes for the Tain station and the Gornegrat mountain train... the best!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Blackfish365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear guest,
We thank you very much for you lovely comment and are most happy that you have so much enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully you will be back soon.
Warm regards from the Alex and team
yours,
Christina Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

My experience at Alex was great : beautiful hotel with a typical Swiss touch, lots of wood and sculptures, art on the walls, very cosy and calm. The staff has been very kind and welcoming. They let us use the SPA even after we checked-out : we enjoyed the sauna, turkish bath, swimming pool and jacuzzi after a 4h walk in the mountains (suspended bridge). Definitely the place to go for beautiful mountains, good air and high-end quality.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chudomoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria B, Inhaber at Resort Hotel Alex, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you that you took the time to write this excellent comment and are most happy that you have had a great time with us and in the beautiful mountains of Zermatt.

All the very best to you
yours,
Christina from the Hotel Alex and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews