We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resort Hotel Alex
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Springboro, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Alex for a week of Spring skiing. The service was outstanding and the food superb.

We had servers who quickly recognized us at the meals and sitting rooms and knew our preferences. So they in turn provided us with exceptional service since they anticipated our needs.

The food was outstanding. It was well prepared and the presentation was well done.

Great place to stay and enjoy the beautiful city and skiing location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    82
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
100
158
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Alex for a week's skiing in Zermatt. The hotel was excellent from start to finish: from being picked up at the station, the welcome, the atmosphere and of course the food! The spa is also wonderful to relieve muscles after a day on the slopes. On top of this all the staff were friendly and helpful, everything from shopping tips, ski weather questions to cocktail recommendations were all excellent. I would definitely recommend the Alex if you want a wonderful stay in Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

As a family of four - two children aged 9 and 12, and all of us capable intermediate skiers, we were looking for somewhere different to try this year.
We came across the Alex thanks to a brilliant package provider in the UK, and absolutely loved our week there!
From the very beginning, the location was great - just a short trolley push from the main train station, and from there on everything was just lovely. All the staff were superb - special mentions to Alessandro (concierge) and Guiseppe (restaurants), and the facilities have obviously been substantially upgraded since some of the older winter reviews. Every room has its own private heated ski/boot locker - even gloves and helmets are warmed and dried overnight. The room we had (a junior suite, for the four of us) was on the ground floor but in a very private location and well away from the noise of the bar. The facilities are just perfect - a huge pool, jacuzzi and sauna - with massages available and a well equipped fitness room. There is even a private squash court and an indoor tennis court! We did try everything, but were pretty tired after the day's skiing so stuck to the pool and jacuzzi more or less.
Breakfast is buffet style and very comprehensive - from the usual dried hams and cheeses, to cereal, fruits, waffles, pancakes - sausage eggs etc (you get the picture).
We were staying half board and dinner was usually excellent - certainly copious and well presented. Some of our meat dishes were slightly overcooked to our taste, but generally a very high standard. Great salad bar too. The hotel bar is a lovely, cozy place to be - and whether quiet or busy it has a great feel to it. There is even a smoking room in the middle for those wishing to indulge. We loved the fact we could leave the kids to get to sleep and sneak to the bar just 30 feet away at the end of the evening - we felt like we were all on holiday, which is a rare treat.
The only thing I would say is that Zermatt itself, and certainly the Alex, are definitely not "ski in, ski out" - something we do love in principle. We took a taxi each morning, and each evening to and from the two farther lift stations (Gornergat is an easy 2 minutes in ski boots, and then 30 minutes by comfortable train to the top). Taxis could be a bit painful to get at the end of the day, but in the price was always CHF12, and it takes 5 minutes in the vehicle.
Swiss people did not seem to understand the queuing principle, which made it entertaining when there was a wait for taxis. In return, they have easily the best mountain 'facilities' anywhere - Dyson Airblades and perfect cleanliness all round - but I digress.....

You will not regret a winter stay at the Alex - the location, the resort, and very much the staff will ensure you have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the rooms on the ground floor (118 and 119) We were - and our fears were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aassheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful traditional Charming Swiss Hotel with cozy lounges and close to great restaurants, amazing views of the surrounding mountains, right in the centre of Zermatt and walking distance to the railway station. I cannot fault the service in this hotel, from the moment I arrived the service was impeccable... hotel staff was also very helpful advising me on where to visit and restaurants to dine in.

I was lucky enough to stay in one of the Junior Suites which I thought was great value for money for the size of the room which had lovely mountain views during high ski season. The hotel is full of charming lounges to relax/ read or just to sit by the fire.

For an old traditional hotel the room had very modern amenities ipod/iphone radio, very clean, excellent service and great food.

I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The suites are suitable for solo, couples and families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wailingho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We first visited the Alex in 2000 and have been back many times since. It never disappoints and in my opinion gets better each year.
It enjoys a good location, just off the main street with excellent views of the surrounding mountains. Access for skiing is very good with just a 100 metre walk to the Gornergrat railway from whuch one can gaze at the Matterhorn until you are deposited at 3100 m to start skiing.
The Alex has been owned and run by the Perrin family for ever and they are excellent hoteliers,truly committed to the needs of their guests.
The standard of food is simply wonderful from the outstanding breakfasts to the excellentl 5 course dinners in the evening (frequently we had to reluctantly skip a course)
Facilities in the "wellness centre" are first class and include a 25 metre pool, Jacuzzi, Saunas and Turkish bath.
(These benefits are of course undone by the dinner or spending too long in the busy atmospheric bars!)
If I were limited to just one hotel or one resort for all my future skiing, I would choose the Alex.
For those who can also manage lunch,there are excellent mountain restaurants - my favorites are Chez Vrony, Franz and Heide and Zum See. The Alex receptionists will make the reservations.
.

Room Tip: request a room at the front of the hotel with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We once again stayed at the Alex for a ski vacation. The hotel never fails to satisfy and once again we enjoyed the comfort of our room, service from a wide variety of personnel and wonderful meals. To top it off the lounge, pool, fitness center and spa are fabulous. For my money, this is the quintessential Zermatt address in any season.

Room Tip: Close to train station and Gonergrat ski lift. All rooms are peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Every year, Hotel Alex always brings the same thought: IMPECCABLE!

The lounge area is huge but cozy at the same time, with many different open living rooms extremely decorated and confortable.

The rooms are warm, large and with everything you may desire (from hot-tob Whirlpool, to radio where your i-phone can fit in to hear the music, to slippers and bathrobe).

The food is one of the best part of this place. First quality meat and delicatessen. Tasty and healthy at the same time.

Finally the staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hotel Alex

Property: Resort Hotel Alex
Address: Bodmenstrasse 12 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resort Hotel Alex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Valais Hotel in 5-story chalet built of stone & natural wood, with side courtyard & abstract-art mural on front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Resort Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing