We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the label”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great location, very reasonable, excellent breakfast, if you want the Ritz, go and stay in the Omnia or Mont Cervin nearby.
Edward the manager is very helpful, and the hotel is right in the middle of Zermatt. I have been back many times and have recommended the Tannenhof to all my friends. Good value is hard to find in Zermatt.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank FrancesB615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

positive things: easy to find from the train station, very helpful people, beautiful location, everything is accessible in a short walk, good break fast, room was clean with a nice bed....
negative things: charged for net, was minimal, but felt strange. No TV in the room.

Room Tip: we stayed at the room at the top facing front......it had a very good view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This small hotel is greatly located, right in the center of Zermatt, that's why i gave 4 points, the hotel has nothing exceptional rooms are quite old, there is no elevator to go to the upper floors, nobody to help you to carry your luggage, reception people are not really abolutely friendly.
Breakfast is just ok.
But for the low price for Zermatt that you pay it is quite impossible to complain.
I just advice young people to go there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very comfortable stay, excellent breakfast and the Hotel Manager could not have been more helpful, transferring our bags from one place to another and then giving us a lift to the train station on our way home. Would recommend it to anyone, and if we are ever in the area again would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shower, some have a bath, and some have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

positive points: good price, excellent breakfast, quiet hotel, comfortable room, it is 5 min by foot from main train station, it has a lavabo in the room, there is supermarket near. There is key in the wardrobe.

negative points: the internet computer is charged, there is no TV in the room(there is a TV in a common living room)

In general is an excellent place, with very good cost-benefit relation

PS: the best way to go there from train station is going straight the banhofstrasse up to the square near the church and the museum, from here the hotel is just at the corner at your left

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is 15 minutes walk from rail station. The room is clean and tidy. Toilet is spacious. We can see the matterhorn in front of hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllisbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

To be honest, it was really a very nice hotel in the town of Zermatt. The room was excellent, the breakfast good, the hospitality was good. Could not really find a fault. We will be back again, if we come to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Balcony. Mine was room 2 which was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeLongTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Zermatt Youth Hostel
#4 of 76 in Zermatt
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Tannenhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $101 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Garni Tannenhof Hotel
Garni Tannenhof Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing