We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Ranked #90 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very comfortable stay, excellent breakfast and the Hotel Manager could not have been more helpful, transferring our bags from one place to another and then giving us a lift to the train station on our way home. Would recommend it to anyone, and if we are ever in the area again would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shower, some have a bath, and some have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

positive points: good price, excellent breakfast, quiet hotel, comfortable room, it is 5 min by foot from main train station, it has a lavabo in the room, there is supermarket near. There is key in the wardrobe.

negative points: the internet computer is charged, there is no TV in the room(there is a TV in a common living room)

In general is an excellent place, with very good cost-benefit relation

PS: the best way to go there from train station is going straight the banhofstrasse up to the square near the church and the museum, from here the hotel is just at the corner at your left

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is 15 minutes walk from rail station. The room is clean and tidy. Toilet is spacious. We can see the matterhorn in front of hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllisbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

To be honest, it was really a very nice hotel in the town of Zermatt. The room was excellent, the breakfast good, the hospitality was good. Could not really find a fault. We will be back again, if we come to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Balcony. Mine was room 2 which was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeLongTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel was clean and well run. It was far from the train station and hard to find. The people were helpful in suggesting a place to eat and how to get to the mountain lifts. The wifi worked better on the ground floor. The view of the Matterhorn was visible just a few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is one of the cheapest in Zermatt and offers simple and clean rooms. It is located 10 minutes away from Zermatt train station and is right behind the luxurious 5 stars Zermatterhof.

This hotel is perfect if for instance you come to Zermatt to ski or snowboard intensively and you just want to pay minimum price and have a simple room to sleep.

Shower and toilets are shared but it was right in front of our room, so it was not that inconvenient as we could have thought. Moreover, both shower and toilets were really clean.

Breakfast has quite a lot of choices for a 1 star hotel such as this one, and it overtook my expectations.

You can have unlimited wifi for only 5 francs, which is really cheap compared to the hotels which charge internet per hour. And the signal was really good, I could watch a movie in streaming without any problem.

The owner was really helpful, though not really smiling and a bit rude the very first minutes we got there. Maybe he had a bad day, I could understand. After, everything went really well.

A minus is that there's no lift in this hotel, so it can be quite painful if your room is on upper floors and you have to carry heavy baggage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumpy1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel is located not that near to the train station. I think it is a good 10 to 15 mins walk. We arrived when it had recently snowed and it was not easy dragging our luggage on snow covered road. We were not given good instructions on how to get to the hotel and got lost. But we managed to find our way there eventually. No lifts so be prepared to carry your luggage up. Room is a bit small. We had trouble placing our two large suitcases. There is no kettle and no hair dryer in the room. But you can borrow a hair dryer and also ask for a hot water flask from the reception. Reception is closed at 9 pm so you have to make sure that you have what you want or you have to wait till the next morning.
Breakfast was okay.....but I think they had guests who takes food out of the room. The lady was keeping watch on all of the guests to make sure that the food stays in the room! You can see the Matterhorn when you step out of the main entrance. But for the price (CHF110.00 per night), it is one of the most reasonable priced hotel in Zermatt.
Value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elite Garni
Hotel Elite Garni
#71 of 111 in Zermatt
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 111 in Zermatt
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#34 of 111 in Zermatt
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#29 of 111 in Zermatt
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Tannenhof

Property: Hotel Garni Tannenhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Garni Tannenhof Hotel
Garni Tannenhof Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing