We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to say? Just Perfect.”
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unique Hotel Post
Ranked #34 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Maalot Tarshikha, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What to say? Just Perfect.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Where should I start?
It was my first visit in Switzerland and Zermatt, and the hotel helped it to be much easier and fun.
It starts with the location, just 3-4 minutes decent and lovely walk from the train station, and continues with 5 minutes walk from all the other cable cars (Gornengrat, Sunnega, glacier paradise).
The hotel is 2 seconds away from the church and Matterhorn museum.

The room (loft) was perfect, large for couple, we got matterhorn view balcony, which was great!
The breakfast is very tasty as well.

The only cons that I can say is about the Spa, which is too small and basic, but still, good place to relax from the day.

Room Tip: 406 - Loft with matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    112
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
59
258
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was the first time we choose for a hotel during our ski holiday in Zermatt. We didn't regret it for one second. Hotel Post is as it's name: Unique. In the midst the opulence of many Zermatt places the rooms have a minimal, but at the same time extremely luxurious look and feel. It's simple, it's elegant and stunning. Breakfast very tasteful and all restaurants serve good food.
Location is perfect and everything in Zermatt is at walking distance. Rooms are not cheap, but then again nothing in Zermatt us. If we stay in a hotel as opposed to an apartment, Hotel Post will remain our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel well in Switzerland based on a recommendation from a friend. Unfortunately, I came down with bronchitis and called to cancel and asked about issueing a credit and booking for another date. The customer service person didn't know I'd they could issue. Credit and said they would call me back. A number of days passed before we rcieved a return call. I sent a follow up Emil in the meantime which I beleive prompt them to deal with me. They stated that they have a non refundable cancellation policy and they needed to know why I had canceled again. I told them I would like to book a room for another weekend that month of they could help us out with some sort of credit. They decided to not give us any sort of credit toward the $375 cost of the room. To get to that decision the hotel took a week to come to that decision. They added that because we canceled on the scheduled day of arrival they could not resell the room. Not sure what that was a problem as my travel partner looked up availability at the Hotel Post for that day and they had available rooms.

Too bad the customer service experience was so poor. I can not recommend booking there after getting the run around. Too bad because the hotel itself is rather nice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unique Hotel Po... Z, Sales & Marketing at Unique Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Mister Snodgrass,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

As clearly stated in our cancellation policy every cancellation made 5 days prior arrival is free of charge and every cancellation made after that is charged with 100% of the stay if we are not able to sell the room.

We always try to resell the rooms in order not to charge our guests. Unfortunately in this case the cancellation was made only a few hours before arrival and even if we tried hard we weren’t able to sell the room even on a discounted price.

Again we thank you for your feedback and understanding.

Kind regards

Timothy Mantegazzi
Direction Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

being there mid november the for christmas time, it becomes a must for my personal comfort as much for holidays as for business seminar. at the bar you prfit from their mojito (0,5 lietr), smoke a cigar outside under a blanket and a warm radiator. Rooms are really beautiful mixing wood, stones and steel in a very design way. Owners at work and service perfect. then get down to thejazz bar and at the nightclub, excellent music. trying it is addictive

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabien_Guim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect in every way! I picked this hotel as most of the other hotels on my list were actually closed in what is apparently low season in Zermatt. But I believe I hit jackpot with a hotel that was perfect in every way for three of us including a 5-year-old in tow. Free pickup service to and from the railway station made for a perfect and pampered beginning and end to our stay at this hotel. The receptionists were always lovely and accommodating and an early request to the hotel for a quiet room facing the Matterhorn was met with a room exceeding all expectations! We were placed in a junior suite room 404 and it came with a balcony giving us perfect views of the Matterhorn! On both days! The fireplace in the room was also a wonderful touch. The hotel is beautifully renovated and has managed to combine both a modernist look with a traditional alpine touch - a real treat to admire! Loved the nespresso machine in the room and the wonderful breakfast spreads in the morning! Will definitely be back at this hotel when I come back to Zermatt - the location along the main road in the middle of town was just fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Saw pictures of the hotel before booking a day before and wasn't disappointed! It had stylish interiors and a cozy breakfast place which had a reasonably comprehensive spread.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and even opened their wellness area before the operational timing. The wellness centre was compact but also had a suana, steam room and jacuzzi.

The hotel had a number of f&b establishments which looked pretty nice but we didn't have a chance to check it out and probably will next time I come back.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoraTheExplorerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

It was a quaint little property and very excellently done up with all amenities and lots of restaurants and very friendly staff. Food was also excellent. The rooms were also well furnished and also had a DVD player. Good spa. Highly recommended for all !!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#32 of 110 in Zermatt
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Property: Unique Hotel Post
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#25 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing