We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value for money in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for money in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you step into this hotel you feel at home. From the drinks on arrival to the warm fire and friendly front desk staff.

The decor is very authentic but not too overdone. The rooms are simple but very clean & neat. Traveling with a teenage boy means food is of the highest priority and he gave a double thumbs up to breakfast. Again just like the hotel itself simple but really well done.

Out of all of our hotels during our Swiss holiday this was definitely a stand out. Great value for money. I would definitely recommend it and have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sof351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    59
    13
    2
    8
See reviews for
47
105
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We liked the hotel very much during my 5 nights stay. The hotel is in perfect location where you can simply walk to most of the best restaurants and shops as Zermatt is eco car-free little village. Skibus stop is 1 minute walk after I picked up my gear from the ski room provided by the hotel and just located down besides the hotel by the riverside. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in cozy Swiss alpine style with lovely fireplace in the living-room. Everywhere is well-maintained and clean. Staff is friendly, helpful and well communicated . I even bought skipasses at the reception in order to avoid long line-up at ticket office. You will be so happy when you come back from all day ski in the afternoon and see free refreshments, tea and snacks in the lobby provided by the hotel everyday. The room is clean and tidy. I really enjoyed everyday breakfast. Please share more time in the morning in the breakfast room and enjoy the delicious local cheese, quality food and great deli.

Room Tip: First priority is to choose rooms facing Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Lots of snow making the sort of winter wonderland Aussies can only dream about. The timber decor is incredible. Unfortunately I was unwell and confined to bed for part of my visit. Bummer!! But it gives me the opportunity to say said bed was very cosy, and the crinkly European doona totally comforting. Breakfast was delightful when I finally emerged from my cave, as was the short walk into the village. The taxi drivers at the station square are an endless (free) entertainment.

If you're on a reduced timetable, as I ended up:

Gornergrat by cogwheel railway is a must. Hop off at Riffelberg for a coffee at the cafeteria if the summit is snowed in. Go the whole hog if you're ski-ing back down. You can also admire the ski-ing expertise as people of all ages and sizes zoom past the panorama windows. There's hope for me yet. Also, don't miss the Matterhorn Museum. Check their website for opening hours.

There are plenty of powerpoints for overnight battery charging. My room was thumbnail #6 of the professional photos. The view was over the cemetery, which bothered other reviewers. I liked it. The rear rooms face the Matterhorn.

Room Tip: Rooms onto Kirchstrasse look over the cemetery, so if you spook easily, go for the other side and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Three nights at the Allalin and would recommend this excellent hotel without hesitation. Beautifully clean throughout and our rooms looked out on the Matterhorn itself. Who could ask for more?
Lovely touches included transfers to and from the station (although there was a slight delay picking us up), welcome drink and free water and mints for the journey home. Breakfast was usual continental fare but very tasty.
You couldnt fault the staff - all were very friendly and attentive. The location was perfect - five minutes walk to the main street and within walking distance to the main rail and cable car stations. We were given maps of both the town and the ski areas to help us decide what we wanted to do.
I've read some mixed reviews about the Allalin; we definitely fall into the 'superb hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone' category.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room at the back of the hotel with wonderful views of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmul16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I a very excellent hotel. we had a grt stay with great comfort there. room service and attire is excellent. resturants and items of dishes are excellent. Cleanliness is excellent. I wish everyone will enjoy the hotel with much comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PREMANAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights at the Allalin Hotel, regretablly you do not get good value for your money, the room/bathroom was far to small, the breakfast choice was very limited and the Spa's hour's were very limited which they do not tell you about before you book. I have stayed in other hotels in Zematt and they were far better

B&G

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holidays.

All the more reason for us to regret very much to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations with regard to the room/bathroom, the breakfast choice and the Spa's . We are very sorry that you were disappointed in this respect. We would like to apologise to you explicitly for the failure in service.

We are of course taking your complaints as an opportunity to improve these points to enable us in future to satisfy our guests completely and to comply with all our guests’ wishes.

With this in mind, we promise you our total attentiveness and service in future and hope to be able to prove this to you, should you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The lovely staff couldn't do enough for us when we arrived at the hotel. We were a little early however because it was such a lovely day we wanted to go hiking. Nothing was any problem for them. We went up to our room around 3.00pm and it was beautiful with a view over the cemetery. We had two rooms as we were travelling with our twin boys. Breakfast the next day was lovely. We just stayed overnight as we were connecting to the Glacier Express. The transfers to and from the railway is 5 francs each, very worthwhile in winter. During summer you could easily walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capt squeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#78 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Matterhornblick
Hotel Matterhornblick
#79 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#40 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#33 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#34 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel

Property: Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Address: Kirchstrasse 40, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#37 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#40 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#54 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR HOLIDAY HOME will enchant you with its stunningly beautiful, unique wood carvings that imbue the whole home with a matchless touch and outstanding style. It is a pleasure of being able to offer you a special atmosphere for you to live in. So much charm and a special ambience await you in the individual rooms. Relax with a healthy sleep, a good breakfast buffet and let time drift by as you sip your afternoon drink in comfort. Afterwards you can switch off, warm up, sweat, recover, enjoy, stay a while and "chill out" in our new ALPINE SPA WELLNESS & SILENCE until the evening! A nightcap at the bar may not be missing the decay of the holiday day! Feel at home in the Zermatt mountains, in a cosy and stylish setting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing