We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matterhorn not too far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Matterhorn not too far”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Pros : Nice Matterhorn view from the room on the upper floor / Funtional balcony / Very charming and warmful traditional decoration / Cleanliness / Located in the tranquil area / Full amenities

Cons : Rather far from the train station / Breakfast not varied / No kettle provided / Have in-room stoves but not allowed to use / A little bit high price

IMHO: "Get the room type that can clearly see the Matterhorn would be the clever decision for this nice hotel"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Dn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holidays .

All the more reason for us to regret very much to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations with regard to far away from the train station, the Breakfast buffet, No kettle provided, the room stoves and high price. We are very sorry that you were disappointed in this respect. We would like to apologise to you explicitly for the failure in service.

We are of course taking your complaints as an opportunity to improve these points to enable us in future to satisfy our guests completely and to comply with all our guests’ wishes.

With this in mind, we promise you our total attentiveness and service in future and hope to be able to prove this to you, should you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    66
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
53
118
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Everything is highly satisfactory ranges from front desk staffs, lobby, room (though somewhat small but cozy) facilities. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester county, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was our first time to Zermatt and we were only staying five nights so all of the top hotels were out of the question....they required 7 night minimums. There's not a tremendous amount of information on hotels in Zermatt other than Tripadvisor and Booking.com. So we relied on other traveler's reviews and took a leap of faith with the Allalin and were not disappointed. The hotel is relatively small and is in an excellent location just a block from the main street and a few minutes walk from the bus route to the ski bases. The staff are extremely accommodating and friendly and clearly make customer satisfaction a priority. There is one small elevator to service the five floors...and as we were on the fifth the wait during busy times could be a minor issue. We had two connecting rooms that shared a door to the hallway which was a nice convenience as we could leave our internal doors open.

The rooms had small balconies overlooking town....I assume those on the other side of the property had Matterhorn views, but the town view was lovely especially lit up at night. We were in Zermatt to ski, not to stay in the hotel room....so it didn't really bother us that the rooms were smallish and rather plain. There is a tremendous amount of heavy, carved wood which I suppose is a local style but I didn't find it appealing. And the rooms were carpeted wall-to-wall which I didn't find appealing either. But the rooms were very clean and are perfectly fine for a ski vacation. The bathrooms were small as well but again, perfectly fine and very clean.

I would recommend taking a taxi to and from the ski base.....the buses in the morning were always very crowded. I'd also recommend booking lunches on the mountain. We had some fantastic meals at Etoile on the Italian side a Chez Vrony on the Swiss side. It was an excellent vacation and the staff at Allalin was incredibly helpful. Oh, and special mention should be made to the lovely woman who served breakfast every morning. She was incredibly cheerful and didn't seem at all deterred by the fact we didn't speak German and she didn't speak English. Thanks all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Google Translation
Es war uns eine grosse Ehre und Freude, Sie während Ihrer Ferienzeit bei uns beherbergen zu dürfen.

Ganz besonders haben wir uns gefreut, dass Sie über Ihre positiven Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes gemacht haben.

Es ist natürlich sehr schön, wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und danken Ihnen ganz herzlich für Ihre wohlwollende und guttuende Bewertung. Ihr Eintrag ist für uns und das ganze MitarbeiterInnen Team sehr motivierend und wertvoll! Wir versichern Ihnen gerne auch in Zukunft unsere volle Aufmerksamkeit und Dienstleistung zu und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch sehr freuen.

Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen!

Freundliche Grüsse

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Familie Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked a superior, upper floor, Matterhorn view room in October 2011 and received several confirming emails from hotel staff. We arrived on 17-Feb 2012 after an all day train ride to discover that they had overbooked and we got bumped to a sister hotel - a 20 minute cab ride away. Our view turned into a ground floor vista of a youth hostel. What a scam!!!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalexmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holidays .

All the more reason for us to regret very much to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations with regard to move in another hotel with view turned into a ground floor. We are very sorry that you were disappointed in this respect. We would like to apologise to you explicitly for the failure in service .

We are of course taking your complaints as an opportunity to improve these points to enable us in future to satisfy our guests completely and to comply with all our guests’ wishes.

With this in mind, we promise you our total attentiveness and service in future and hope to be able to prove this to you, should you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is great all around. We arrived early in the morning so our room wasn't available so they let us put our stuff there and then welcomed us with some snacks and drinks while we changed. Hoping on the bus to go skiing is very close. They have ski lockers for free. Transportation to and from the train station is provided if you call when you arrive. Their hospitality is great, the rooms warm, clean and so cute. The painted ceiling, the views of the Matterhorn, you couldn't get a nicer place. If you have any questions they are more than willing to help.
The breakfast also has a good variety, and is fresh. The breakfast room is also very cute.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihearttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Most of the hotel rooms in Zermatt are very expensive and Allalin is one of those in the middle range but still the highest room rate for our 18days europe journey.

The hotel in fact is conveniently located, just about 2 mins walk from the main street Bahnhofstr and less than 10mins walk from the main station, just if you are not walking with the heavy/large baggages - We spent almost 20mins walk from the station to the hotel as we were carrying 2 huge baggages and the baggages wheels just can't' work properly on snow!!

Upon arrival in Allalin Hotel, we were exhausted with our "long" walk but glad that we were immediately offered a glass of welcome drinks at the Frontdesk. Then we was told that a shuttle bus can be arranged for free pick up at station!!! @.@ Well I can't blame the hotel because I booked the hotel through booking.com and it didn't mention in the hotel description!

The frontdesk staff is friendly and attentive, she patiently introduces us the highlights of Zermatt and guides us where to rent ski gear and what we have to pay attention to when we walking around.

The hotel room is in vintage styled, small yet cosy. It is clean and well-equipped with what you need for a short stay.

Overall - a happy stay with Allalin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clubmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel is fantastic in Zermatt - the rates are very reasonable and we requested a room with a view of the Matterhorn - outstanding!! The room was great, carved wood everywhere in the room which gave it a great cozy feel. A little bubbly on arrival was also excellent! Highly recommend this great Zermatt Hotel!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Matterhorn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popoki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#74 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christiania Mountain & Spa
Christiania Mountain & Spa
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel

Property: Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Address: Kirchstrasse 40, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#38 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#40 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#54 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR HOLIDAY HOME will enchant you with its stunningly beautiful, unique wood carvings that imbue the whole home with a matchless touch and outstanding style. It is a pleasure of being able to offer you a special atmosphere for you to live in. So much charm and a special ambience await you in the individual rooms. Relax with a healthy sleep, a good breakfast buffet and let time drift by as you sip your afternoon drink in comfort. Afterwards you can switch off, warm up, sweat, recover, enjoy, stay a while and "chill out" in our new ALPINE SPA WELLNESS & SILENCE until the evening! A nightcap at the bar may not be missing the decay of the holiday day! Feel at home in the Zermatt mountains, in a cosy and stylish setting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing