We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, cozy hotel”
Review of Hotel Pollux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pollux
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique, cozy hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Globus Tour. Great location and very cozy hotel. We had a room that had lots of windows! Extremely clean and comfortable. The hotel keys are unique and it has been so long since I have used a key in a door that I failed to lock our room upon departing or at night, but no problems.

Room Tip: Request upper floors with skylights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
53
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Part of our Globus tour. Hotel Pollux was a clean, neat, and friendly. Rooms and beds comfortable. Bathroom of good size. Although bathtub was a little dangerous if having a shower as it was difficult to step into and the base narrow.
The bar area was very cosy with a nice fireplace.
Happy to recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times now (including twice last winter), and will be staying many times more - it's friendly, clean, the rooms and facilities are great and the staff can't do enough to help.
The bar is great and the restaurant is fine.

Room Tip: The hotel's location in the main street in Zermatt does have the slightly unfortunate consequenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

One of the best hotels in Switzerland. We booked a family suite situated on the top floor, and the suite had two bedrooms and a cozy balcony . The best part of the room was the four large skylights that gave an amazing view of the Matterhorn. The bathrooms also had two skylights, and was perfectly clean. The room's interior was superb, completed with a wooden finish. Location of the hotel is just great, five minutes from the railway station and around 15 minutes from the Matterhorn cable car. The lady at the reception desk was very friendly as she gave us just the right amount of information we needed to know about Zermatt. Breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are fabulous with large skylights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Owner at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time here in Zermatt.

We wish you a great time and hope you will visit us again some time.

Regards
Family Taugwalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Friendly staff and warm atmosphere. Shouldn't miss this hotel if you are going to Zermatt! We got there in summer and had a room with sunroof with a view of golden Matterhorn in the morning. Not so far from the bahnhof (Since Zermatt is car free, the distance from the train station should have been considered).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Owner at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

thanks a lot for your kind feedback of your summer stay in our hotel.
We are happy you have spent some great time here in Zermatt and our team is looking forward to welcome you in our Hotel again.

Regards
Family Taugwalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second stay at the pollux having stayed here previously in 2012. We stayed during the last week of March and took advantage of their ski advantage package which includes room, ski rental and ski pass. Upon arrival, we were happy to see our ski passes were ready at the reception and within 30 minutes we had picked up our skis from glacier sport across the street without any waiting as the hotel had already notified the shop of our arrival. This is only one example of the efficiency and helpfulness of the staff in making our stay and holiday pleasant. it was snowing on our arrival so the quality of the snow perfect and we spent an excellent week on the slopes.

The service as on our previous stay was excellent. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and perfectly maintained. We were in room 301 this time which I recommend as it has a view on the mountain even if it is on the street side. We had dinner at the restaurant on three occasions and as during our previous stay, the food was of good quality and good value for Zermatt. The bar is lively in the evenings and a good choice for a drink if you wish to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Owner at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your kind feedback. We are lucky to hear that you had a pleasent stay at Zermatt.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Regards
Family Taugwalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for a week of skiing and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is located on the main street 3 or 4 minutes from the train station, making it very convenient for arrival and departure as well as being in the middle all Zermatt has to offer. It is a close walk to the Gornegrat rail station, and about a 7 minute walk to the Sunnega express. The Furi lift is a bit far to walk with skis – probably 15-20. So take a taxi or the ski bus. The room was very comfortable – we had a nice family room with a separate bunk bed are for our teenager which also had a bathroom and TV. There is a bar area which was very popular with both those staying in the hotel and others dropping by for a drink. They also have two restaurants with good food choices. The food was excellent. There’s a small spa area with saunas and a “hot-tub” which only fits one person at a time. But this facility was not heavily used, so we had it to ourselves on the occasions we used it. Our only complaint was that they have a nightclub which closes around 0300 and, as our room was on the street, the clubbers leaving at the end of the night could be a bit noisy. So if you’re a light sleeper, request a room at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Inhaber at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will inform our employees about you feedback, so that they know that their work is appreciated.

We hope you had a good journey back home and wish you and your family all the best

Regards
Family Taugwalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#64 of 110 in Zermatt
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#38 of 110 in Zermatt
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#50 of 110 in Zermatt
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pollux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pollux

Property: Hotel Pollux
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 28, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#47 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#60 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pollux 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pollux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollux Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing