We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLD WORLD SWISS CHARM”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pollux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pollux
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OLD WORLD SWISS CHARM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

After having the 'GOLD MEDAL ' treatment at the Hotel Steffani in St. Moritz, we were expecting the same here. Don't get me wrong, this is a fantastic country hotel, with charming ,helpful staff and very conveneiently sitated. The first difference was, that with three cases, we were expecting to call and get the hotel mini bus to pick us up, as had happened at the Steffani. We were informed it was only a short walk, which indeed it was, but we would have struggled had it been the winter weathre, and we did see many electric hotelvehicles buzzing around the town.Our room was very clean, and not massive, with quite a small bathroom, but it was sufficient for our purposes. We had a fantastic view of the Matterhorn from our verandah and the bed was comfortable.Breakfast was superb, with a wonderful selection, and we ate well. We also had a very nice meal in the evening, served by a very nice young man.Perhaps it should have been made more obvious that we could have eaten in the section down the stairs , which is part of the same restaurant, as there were no cloths on our dining table, however, it was a lot noisier down there, so nothing lost in the final analysis.
Altogether , a very pleasant stay in a charming "SWISS CHALET", Thank-you.

Room Tip: Our room at the back, looking at the Matterhorn suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
50
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3D2N room was really cosy comfy neat clean.
Like the concept of pine wood as part of the room decor.
Short Walking distance within minutes from Zermatt train station.
Staff was friendly, approachable & helpful.
However, breakfast spread can be improved. Overall it was good a stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Simgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Inhaber at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Zermatt. We are always trying to improve our breakfast. If you have any idea what we could ameliorate, we would be really thankful for your inputs. We will start from now on with some sweets on the buffet as a reaction to your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards and all the best

Family Taugwalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and couldn't have been more pleased. Our room at the back of the hotel had a small balcony with a magnificent view of the Matterhorn. The weather during our stay was excellent which made walking around the town so enjoyable. The hotel is on the Main Street, a five minute uphill walk from the train station, and near everything. The 35 room building offers free in room Wi-Fi and throughout the hotel which was very easy to access. The bedroom has two very comfortable twin beds, large flat screen-TV, mini bar and two comfortable easy chairs. The balcony had one chair and French doors for access. The hotel has no air conditioning but that wasn't a problem in September. We did find that when we opened the doors to the balcony we had a problem with tiny mosquitoes so I'm not at all sure how this hotel would work in the summer. It was in the eighties during our day time stay and only cooled down to the low sixties at night. The hotel has a really good restaurant where we ate the first night and a great bar off the lobby with a wood burning fireplace which we enjoyed after a long day of touring Zermatt. The included breakfast was very good and plentiful. The hotel is near restaurants, grocery and liquor stores and all kinds of shopping. Be aware that the shops do close promptly between 6 and 6:30.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Inhaber at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thanks a lot for your rating. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is right that our hotel has no air conditioning, but also during the summer it doesn't get hot in Zermatt.

We hope you had a nice onward trip here in Europe.

All the best

Family Taugwalder
Hotel Pollux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

First of all, I would like to say that I absolutely loved Zermatt! What a beautiful spot! This was the 4th hotel that my husband and I stayed at during our tour with Globus. We were on the 2nd floor with an end room. I loved our room! It was very cozy. Nothing really fancy, but clean and tidy. The bathroom wasn't very big but clean and bright. Our balcony looked out onto a courtyard with the mountains in the distance. I had the best sleep ever in this room. Must have been the mountain air! ( or the comfortable bed - not too soft - not too hard).
We had supper in a large room in the lower level of this hotel. Unfortunately, I wasn't impressed with the meal however they did have to serve a large group of us. The next morning the breakfast buffet was served in a lovely room with large windows overlooking Zermatt main street. The breakfast selection was limited but what I had was fine. This was a lovely hotel to stay at. I would give it "2 thumbs up"!

Room Tip: Please note: they still use a room key and it is very heavy to carry around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans T, Inhaber at Hotel Pollux, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Suzie,

Thank you very much for your detailed evaluation. We are happy that you liked the rooms of our hotel. Concerning the food we are sorry that you didn't like it. We will improve ourselves. We will discuss the menu which Globus has with our chief of the kitchen and will adjust the ingredients. It dosen't matter if you are 1 or 50 people, the quality has to be always the same.

We hope you had a good journey through Europe.

We wish you all the best.

Regards

Family Taugwalder
Hotel Pollux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My and I stayed in Pollux for few days, skiing in Zermatt. Hotel is nice and clean. Due to perfect location, one can easy access everything - ski rentals, ski train, shops & restaurants, train station is 5 min to walk. Stuff is friendly and helpful (no extra cordiality though :). There are two restaurants and a disco club downstairs.

We stayed right on the top, with a nice view at Matterhorn. Photo will be attached. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jivit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was excellent & we also had an extra room & bath attached since there were 3 of us.
Beautiful sky windows & a deck with views of the Matterhorn. Staff was helpful & we had a great
breakfast each morning as part of our room cost. Most of the restaurants & shops were closed in Zermatt, & weather was rainy so it hindered things possible to do. The hotel had a bar that was
unique, with a wood burning fireplace. A perfect place to relax & have drinks. Highly recommend
this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent central location make this an ideal hotel for staying in Zermatt. We had a room at the front which was clean and we had no issue with noise. Although we might have been the last to bed most nights.

The hotel has a very comfortable cosy bar and friendly staff. It is however quite easy to get carried away with the charm of it all so the bill was pretty shocking at the end, but hey hoe, that's the price of a good time.

Breakfast was fine, good continental selection with always perfect boiled eggs. Good access to the slopes and an adequate boot/ski room. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#69 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Derby
Hotel Restaurant Derby
#94 of 109 in Zermatt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#63 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pollux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pollux

Property: Hotel Pollux
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 28, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#40 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#47 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#60 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pollux 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pollux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollux Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing