We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Pollux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pollux
Ranked #56 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Although we didn't stay here, we has the most wonderful evening here. After a bad experience in a restaurant up the road, we came here hoping for a better service and boy thats what we got. Greeted with a smile and fabulous service throughout, alongside fantastic food and a lovely relaxed atmosphere- we were not disappointed!! The star of the show certainly was Nadine, who is a true credit to the place- fantastic at her job and just a lovely girl, thanks guys we had a great night!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaGunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    62
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
55
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Nice cozy hotel and just 4-5 mins from the rail station. Zermatt is a no car zone so it was easy to get to the hotel. Very helpful staff and a really decent room size.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We returned from a pleasant one week stay at Pollux end of last week. The hotel is a comfortable, no frills hotel on the main street in Zermatt. The rooms are of good size and the beds are comfortable. We were in a standard room while a friend was in a room with french balcony. Both are very similar in size and comfort, and I would not hesitate booking one as a double for a future stay. We were in room 204, which was nice and toward the garden side, however, one in our group who was on the street side was not bothered by any noise as is mentioned in previous reviews. The bathrooms are a bit small but otherwise adequate and well equipped.

The staff were always helpful with any of our queries, from directions to dinner reservations, they made the effort to accommodate and deliver on our request. At breakfast, as they had no low fat milk of yogurt on offer, the staff took ordered enough for the rest of our stay. The breakfast had a good choice of breads, ham, cheese, fruits cereals and juices. We had dinner at the restaurant on three occasions and the food was good although the service was just a bit slow.

Zermatt is a cozy little town, so literally any location is within 15 minutes walking distance. In the mornings, we usually took an electric taxi to get to the ski lifts even though the Gornergrat rail station was only a very short walk down the road. Sunnega is about a ten minute walk while Klein Matterhorn is a little further away. Skiing is great and suited for all levels of skier and the whole domain is accessible to intermediate level skiers. There are several very long and scenic runs.

We will certainly return to Zermatt, and although we usually like to try different hotels, we will likely book pollux again. It was really just what we needed in a hotel, a relaxing comfortable stay without overdoing it and very good value for money for a ski holiday in a top resort.

Room Tip: Room 211(french balcony, corner room), room 161 (friends were staying in that room, larger and nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamanare
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was our first trip to Zermatt with family and friends. Four families, we rented Pollux and twin chalet Castor. Both chalets accommodated 9 people each.
Chalet Castor and Chalet Pollux are a luxurious free standing three storey independent chalet with 4 bedrooms. Two of the bedrooms are located on the third floor (one master bedroom with queen size bed and 1 two-twin bedroom). The other two bedrooms are located on the second floor (1 master bedroom with queen size bed and 1 triple-bed bedroom) all with private bathrooms. Bathrooms equipped with hairdryer, hotel size shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. No bathtub. Tastefully decorated under the supervision of Mountain Exposure, delicately combining wood and stone. It has all the latest technology with flat-screen TVs, more than a hundred satellite channels, rotating fireplaces and geothermal heating to reduce the chalet's carbon foot-print as much as possible. Internet and wi-fi connection.

The chalets each enjoy the use of their own unique private outdoor hot-tub surrounded by snow (in the winter) is perfect to relax and enjoy the view (or the stars) after a long day in the mountains.

We reserved the chalets well in advance and it included the services of a chef for gourmet breakfasts, canapes and dinners on six nights, accompanied by complimentary carefully selected wines. Since we travelled with youngsters, ages ranging between 20 and 6, we arranged for one of the dinners to be adults only in one chalet and kids only on the other which turned out just perfect.
We also had a daily cleaning service.
Laundry only for small or underwear clothes since the facilities are not close to the properties.
To get to the slopes you have to walk down the stairs of the chalet and follow the path to an elevator which brings you to a driveway. From there is about 5 to 10 minute walk to the ski rental/store which is located right across the gondola.
The town is beautiful, filled with places to grab a snack, a hot cocoa or just shop. The best places for lunch are definitely on the slopes.
I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Bedrooms on the third floor are same size than the ones in the second floor. Stairs have motion sens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islamanare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed in the family room; 2 rooms, each with a bathroom. The hotel was very nice and the staff was extremely helpful. The location is superb - right on the main street of Zermatt. Easy to get everywhere. Only a 5 minute walk to the train station and the ski train to Gronergrat. The ski bus picks up at the train station to access other lifts in Zermatt. Breakfast was excellent. Our only complaint is we stayed on the street side and the noise from the street/hotel disco was quite loud with the windows open. People were in the street in front of the hotel until 4am. As it was winter, we didn't need to leave the windows open. In the summer, however, the noise would be potentially unbearable.

Room Tip: Room on the street side was very loud at night due to people overflowing from the hotel disco into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at the Pollux for five nights out of season (November 2011). The hotel is easy to get to on foot from the train station in car-free Zermatt, but there is Jorges from the hotel in his little electric taxi who'll come and get you and take you the 250m back up to the hotel (a bit lazy, but fun and great if you have lots of heavy bags!).

My room was on the front and after reading other reviews on here I asked to be moved to a rear view room, which I was the following night. I wasn't in Zermatt to party, so the noise of the resident nightclub which, although in the basement, could still be heard quite clearly in rooms on the second floor, was a bit of a pain and the only reason I haven't given the Pollux five stars.

Rooms were beautifully decorated, smart and with understated style. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice and lovely staff all of whom were multi-lingual. Reception staff team was excellent too - you can tell it's a family run place and they're proud of their hotel and with good reason.

Oh and the wellness centre in the basement is small, but gorgeous!

Room Tip: For people watching go for the front, for a good night's sleep ask for rooms on the back as high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were on the very top floor (5) where there are only two rooms. We were THRILLED and surprise that our room had a FABULOUS view of the Matterhorn with four large skylights. In bed at night it as if we were in a planeterium. It truly was beautiful. The room had a elegant mountain decor and was very spacious even without using the extra room designed for a family with two beds and a bathroom. The hotel is on the main street and a terrific location. It can be a bit noisy as the alley does echo but we were visiting off season. Not sure what it would be like if the disco was in full swing! The breakfast included was nice but nothing to rave about and the amenities in the bathroom were not what we experience at a 4 star hotel. Another nice perk was free wi-fi in our room. The service is very nice and casual and although we did not frequent the bar it look very inviting and cozy. Jonathan at the front desk was especially gracious.

Zermatt is not to be missed. It is beyond charming! We took the Glacier Express from St. Mortiz to Zermatt and we HIGHLY recommend that experience. The slowest Express train in Europe (so they say)---7.5 hours through the Swiss Alps---views and vistas to take away your breath.

Pollux does seem to attrack families so if you are sensitive to children making noise I would ask for a room away from the "family rooms." Our only complaint after 3 nights is the beds were a bit hard and not as comfortable as the other hotels we stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupepause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#61 of 111 in Zermatt
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#27 of 111 in Zermatt
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#64 of 111 in Zermatt
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#50 of 111 in Zermatt
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#73 of 111 in Zermatt
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pollux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pollux

Property: Hotel Pollux
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 28, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#47 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#60 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pollux 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Pollux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollux Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing