We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with view of the Matterhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rooms with view of the Matterhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Parnass for 5 days and had the best experience. We had views of the Matterhorn from our room and the hotel is in walking distance from Flexirent where we hired our ski gear and from the Sunegga metro which takes you up to one of the ski regions.
The breakfast buffet was always fresh and provided a great healthy choice of food and the 5 course dinners which were included in our package were absolutely fantastic. We had everything from Fondue Chinoise, to delicious duck and beautiful fish, just to name a few.
And last but not least the staff were efficient, friendly, attentive - with a smile on their faces all the time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaIsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    74
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
130
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Level Contributor
282 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We booked the Hotel Parnass purely from the good reviews that we had read on Tripadvisor.
The website doesnt tell you a lot about it, however I spoke to Theresia Noll and she was very freindly and helpful.
We were travelling for our annual ski holiday with 3 children/teenagers, so we booked 2 rooms.
We arrived after a typically efficient Swiss Rail experience to a snowy Zermatt, we were met at the station by the hotel's electric taxi, and then greeted by Theresia Noll who showed us our room. The restaurant had stayed open so we could get something to eat - very welcome!
The staff are friendly, and go out of their way to help, the food is delicious (the children really enjoyed it) and Theresia Noll is a delightful hostess, taking the trouble to speak to you at every opportunity.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and the view of the Matterhorn quite outstanding. The location of the hotel is great - adjacent to the ski bus stop, near the centre, but far enough away to be quiet.
The hotel doesnt have a bar,though it does have a comfortable lounge. This doesnt really matter as you are so close to some excellent lively bars such as the snowboat.
Thanks to Theresia Noll and her staff for a super holiday!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had a balcony with the most amazing view of the Matterhorn. The staff was very friendly and breakfast buffet was delicious. Good option for budget travelers to Zermatt.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Parnass for two nights and were very happy with our accommodations. The hotel owner, Theresia Noll made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to make us comfortable. When we checked in she escorted us to our room and when she realized we had a lot of luggage, gave us a bigger room so that we would be more comfortable.
We chose the half-board and enjoyed wonderful dinners in the hotel dining room. Breakfast was plentiful and the service was very good.
When we arrived at the Zermatt train station, we were met by a staff member, who loaded our luggage and us into a golf cart and drove us to the hotel.
Upon checkout, I inadvertently left my laptop in the lobby and Theresia biked over to the train station to make sure I did not leave without it.
We really enjoyed our stay in Zermatt and Theresia and her staff helped to make it a pleasant experience.
Wi-fi was complimentary but could only connect in the lobby.
If I am ever in Zermatt again, I will make sure to stay at the Hotel Parnass.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel may be 95 francs a night, but don't be fooled-for upkeep, location, value, and service, Hotel Parnass cannot be beat. I ventured to Zermatt while studying abroad in England this past April to fulfill my dream of skiing the Alps and decided to take a chance on Hotel Parnass after reading many favorable reviews online. While I almost went with the "more reliable" Best Western, I e-mailed Hotel Parnass about last minute room availability and received a warm reply and room offer within mere hours.

Theresia, the team leader, and her staff are the most gracious hosts I've ever met. When I realized that the first train out of Zermatt would not allow me to make my 10:00 am flight out of Zurich, the secretary not only found me a new hotel for the same price in Visp (which was closer to Zurich and would allow me to get the airport on time), but went to the trouble of booking the room herself and keeping me informed along the way. When I informed Theresia that I would be skiing the Alps alone, she not only reviewed a map of the entire mountain with me, but directed me to a ski shop where I would receive a discount on equipment and gave me a pair of glasses to protect my eyes on the sun (which proved to be VERY useful-I got sunburned as it was!). I don't know if I will ever receive such genuine, kind service in a hotel again. I was truly amazed by how the team went above and beyond to help their guest for no reason other than wanting me to have the best possible experience.

The room was clean and neat, with a private bathroom, shower, and gorgeous nightime view of the lit up chalets (a room facing the opposite direction will show you the Matterhorn, and it is the first thing you see stepping out the front door). A well assorted continental breakfast of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, croissants, and juices kept me full well until lunchtime. And while wi-fi was unavailable on my floor, it worked perfectly well in the lobby.

Zermatt, Switzerland, is a breathtakingly beautiful town, and after the nonstop action of London, Paris, Rome, and more, taking two days to breathe and enjoy the Alps was such a peaceful change of pace. I hope to return sooner rather than later, and when I do, Hotel Parnass will be the first contact I make. Theresia and her team did more than offer a room and meals-they offered me kindness and peace of mind beyond anything I could have asked for, and as a young woman traveling alone, that was invaluable. Hotels like this cannot be beat, so if you are lucky enough to head to Zermatt, book a room and be reminded that tucked away in the mountains at the highest mountain lift in Europe, there is a business whose greatest profit is not the franc in their register, but a smile on their customers' faces.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBelle108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed for a few days around the Zermatt Marathon and I will, without doubt, return. It is a clean, well-located and well-looked-after hotel. That is all good. What makes it very good is the friendliness of all of the staff - Theresia leads a team of extremely nice people. On the morning of the race it was no fuss at all for them to open the restaurant over half an hour early so as to let runners enjoy an early breakfast. The team there is clearly interested in its guests and concerned to make sure that they have a great stay, which we did.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, IA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife got sick while we were in Zermatt and the owner not only let us stay two additional days in our room with a glorious view of the Matterhorn but she also whipped up a soothing honey drink that cured her in twelve hours. This hotel is wonderful. It couldn't be more convenient and the view of the Matterhorn is spectacular!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimboCedarFalls_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#46 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#19 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Property: Hotel Parnass
Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmsophere, fine hospitality. Free Internet in all the rooms. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge with fire place where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform about late arrival. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing