We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Parnassalue - Great Value For Money”
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a 3 star hotel, we stayed there for 1 week skiing, I had a double room with bath & balcony for single occupancy; my son had a single room with shower. We were both satisfied with the accommodation.
The dining room was pleasant with views of the Matterhorn.
The half board dinner was a set menu & imaginative, we were happy with all the meals & the standard of cooking.
The lounge area was comfortable with an open fire & with WIFI internet access.
The staff were both very friendly & helpful; they made the stay a pleasant experience.
The ski room is conveniently placed to the road outside & the hotel is next to the ski bust stops in both directions around the village.
The hotel is in a quiet location by the river but only 3 minutes walk from the main street, shops, restaurants & bars.
We would certainly stay there again, good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 377 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights with a child age 7 and 9 on the top floor with two rooms across a corridor. The rooms were very good and all we needed. We had full board, eating every night in the hotel restaurant which presented a varied menu every night and the staff were very patient with our kids who did not wish to eat everything.

The hotel owner/ manager was so helpful - she could not have been more polite and helpful. The hotel is very centrally located right near to the ski lifts, the bus route and the centre of the town where the shops are. An easy walk for us all anywhere we wanted to go.
The only downside was the lounge area which was slightly dull to sit in but there was very fast wi-fi there which we used in the evenings.
A varied clientele with French, Swizz, Italians, English when we were there.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymousebeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I booked a double room with Matterhorn view and a single room for a one week skiing holiday over New Year.
The hotel is in excellent position on the edge of the village centre right by bus stops but still in a quiet location.
The furnishing are old fashioned but not worn and are very clean.
The double room with bathroom were of a reasonable size and there was a perfect Matterhorn view. The bathroom had a good supply of hot water with a decent sized bath.
Unlike many Alpine hotels the room was well lit.
The single room was small and my 16 year old son said the bed was a little short but otherwise liked the accommodation.
The food is fairly basic but well prepared and presented. I suspect some of the dishes had a pre-prepared element but were nevertheless enjoyable and filling. There are plenty of high quality restaurants on the slopes above Zermatt for a lunch time treat.
Elements of the hotel were basic. For example, you have to ask at reception for the use of a hairdryer. There is a lounge but no bar as such. You have to seek out the restaurant staff to order drinks. There are no wellness facilities such as sauna or swimming pool but we didn't miss these.
The hotel is exceptionally good value . For two rooms at New Year on half board we paid SFR3700 including wine and other drinks each night.
The staff are very charming and considerate. For example, they kept the kitchen open and served a full meal on the night of arrival even though we were late.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great view from our room with balcony to the matterhorn. It was unforgetable arriving from skying, taking out the boots and drinking a cold beer in the balcony with the sunset and such a view.

The location is perfect.: on the main road and between the 3 lifts to the mountains (ofcourse you may need to catch the Bus, anyway). Also close to the main street with all the bars and shops, but far enough to avoid night noise and crowds. (maybe around 50mtrs distance),

The food is great, the restaurant is simply cozy and full of charm, as well as Theresia (the owner) who makes sure you feel welcome and confortable. Do not forget to take with you some smart casual cloths on your bags for dinner. Skiing cloths, sweat shirt or t-shirts will make you feel breaking a little bit the environment...up to you anyway.

The room furniture is quite old fashion, but the space is enough. Definitely, furniture/decoration could be improved.

If we go again to Zermatt, this will be our place to stay. No doubts... but having granted we get that balcony again!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Very comfortable and relaxing but just minutes from the busy centre of Zermatt. Perfect view of the Matterhorn from the restuarant, where we enjoyed excellent breakfasts and dinners with friendly and attentive service, just what you need before and after long days walking above the town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpine021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

At the second week of our vacation we stayed 3 days at Hotel Parnass.
Despite of the missing flowers on the balcony, we did not regret that we had asked for a room.
All the employees were very friendly.
A good stay for your Holliday because you've a good room with a nice view from your balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entrepeneurRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Wherever possible we pay for superior rooms - definitely worth it here, from our bed and sunny balcony we had a glorious picture-postcard view of the Matterhorn. The room was very light and spacious, plenty of wardrobe space, hangers and drawers. The bathroom too was large with a lovely long bath to soak in after all our hiking.
The hotel is beautifully run. There is nothing flash or showy, just perfect attention to detail. All the staff were absolutely first-class, always polite and friendly. My gluten-free diet was taken care of without any problems. The 5-course dinners were elegant and creative, lots of ideas to inspire me now we're back home.
The location couldn't be better: it is close to everything but on the quieter right bank, away from the noise of the village centre.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#54 of 110 in Zermatt
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 110 in Zermatt
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#46 of 110 in Zermatt
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenroyal
Hotel Alpenroyal
#77 of 110 in Zermatt
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $185 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmosphere, fine hospitality. Free Internet in all the rooms. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform in advance about late arrival and/or any kind of allergie (feathers for example). Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing