We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“5* food, friendly service, a great, and very comfortable value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* food, friendly service, a great, and very comfortable value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Still one of our favorites. Convenient location, yet away from the crowds. The personal service and delicious 5 course half board make it a real find. Rooms are simple, but comfortable and the Matterhorn views are perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrProPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    72
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
117
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel Parnass was extremely comfortable and clean. I love the fact that the view was superb - the balcony of room faces the matterhorn - what more can we ask for? :) However, there is definitely a price to pay for this. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're on a budget, but if you're willing to pay, this place is definitely worth it. The location is great - walking distance to the train station, to the supermarket, and the tram up gornegrat and sunnega. I love how small zermatt is, such that it's almost walking distance to anywhere. The owner of this hotel is very friendly - she tries her best to speak english to us and I appreciate it. The view of the Matterhorn from the breakfast room was great as well. The bathrooms are clean, and I guess I was lucky when i was there in June 2013 because they just finished renovations. Zermatt was the first stop of my europe trip and this wonderful hotel made my holidays a great start!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at $200 SWF per night and it was worth it. We had very relaxing sleep with no noise and we had a full view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast is included and the staff was friendly. Shuttle to and from train stations is $5 FR per person but not required because it is a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac-n-Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights. One of our rooms was the new apartment which had two bedrooms, a large, long bathroom, entry hallway, living/dining room with dining table and small kitchen. The apartment was new and clean, great for a family. The appliances were all brand new and there is plenty of closet space in all of the rooms. Supermarket not far away for food and drinks since everything in Zermatt is expensive. Beds were comfortable and bedroom windows had rolling shudders (rolladen) to keep rooms dark if you desire. The owner and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The apartment also has two balconies, one on the side and one on the front of the hotel. Both balconies have gorgeous views of the Matterhorn. I would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend Hotel Parnass, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel5Novato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family had a very comfortable stay for 1 night. Breakfast was adequate and we had a personalized service by a very friendly owner who made sure we had everything we needed. Location was great, about 5-10 min slow walk from the banhof. Hotel rate is pricey but so is everywhere else in Swiss. Would definitely stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. When we arrived at the station of Zermatt, it was around 11:00. I called from the panel in the station, and asked to pick us up. I know it's a bit early to check in but the receptionist (the daughter of the owner) welcomed me and asked to give them 5 minutes. Precise 5 minutes later an electric van came to the station. Good first impression! The room was cozy and had sufficient space and, on top of that, had a great view of Matterhorn. I and my wife enjoyed hiking as well as the nice three-night dinners. The location is very convenient to the station and rope-ways. We fully enjoyed morning Matterhorn from the terrace of the room as we set the morning alarm at 6:00am. That was just gorgeous.

Room Tip: Room with Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhiro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel Parnass was one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the view from our balcony looking at The Matterhorn was incredible. Theresia, the owner, was a wonderful hostess. Her staff, which included Agnes, Simone, and Brirgitte, were so nice to us. And the meals. Wow, I can't say enough about the great food we had each day. Just the presentation alone made you want to try everything. A unforgettable week in Zermatt. Thank you Theresia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#20 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#29 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.5 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Property: Hotel Parnass
Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmsophere, fine hospitality. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge with fire place where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform about late arrival. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing