We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and nice staff”
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Central location and nice staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at $200 SWF per night and it was worth it. We had very relaxing sleep with no noise and we had a full view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast is included and the staff was friendly. Shuttle to and from train stations is $5 FR per person but not required because it is a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac-n-Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    74
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
130
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights. One of our rooms was the new apartment which had two bedrooms, a large, long bathroom, entry hallway, living/dining room with dining table and small kitchen. The apartment was new and clean, great for a family. The appliances were all brand new and there is plenty of closet space in all of the rooms. Supermarket not far away for food and drinks since everything in Zermatt is expensive. Beds were comfortable and bedroom windows had rolling shudders (rolladen) to keep rooms dark if you desire. The owner and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The apartment also has two balconies, one on the side and one on the front of the hotel. Both balconies have gorgeous views of the Matterhorn. I would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend Hotel Parnass, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel5Novato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family had a very comfortable stay for 1 night. Breakfast was adequate and we had a personalized service by a very friendly owner who made sure we had everything we needed. Location was great, about 5-10 min slow walk from the banhof. Hotel rate is pricey but so is everywhere else in Swiss. Would definitely stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. When we arrived at the station of Zermatt, it was around 11:00. I called from the panel in the station, and asked to pick us up. I know it's a bit early to check in but the receptionist (the daughter of the owner) welcomed me and asked to give them 5 minutes. Precise 5 minutes later an electric van came to the station. Good first impression! The room was cozy and had sufficient space and, on top of that, had a great view of Matterhorn. I and my wife enjoyed hiking as well as the nice three-night dinners. The location is very convenient to the station and rope-ways. We fully enjoyed morning Matterhorn from the terrace of the room as we set the morning alarm at 6:00am. That was just gorgeous.

Room Tip: Room with Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhiro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel Parnass was one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the view from our balcony looking at The Matterhorn was incredible. Theresia, the owner, was a wonderful hostess. Her staff, which included Agnes, Simone, and Brirgitte, were so nice to us. And the meals. Wow, I can't say enough about the great food we had each day. Just the presentation alone made you want to try everything. A unforgettable week in Zermatt. Thank you Theresia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although off season and quiet, staff were excellent and well tutored by the owner Theresa.
Well appointed, good food and great views of the Matterhorn. Wine prices high but they are all over Switzerland. Easy walk into Zermatt village.

Room Tip: Worth getting a pick up from the station with suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our 6th visit to Hotel Parnass since 2008 and such an amazing memories to take back to Sunny South Africa. Thank you again to Theresia, the owner, and her amazing team for making our stay so magical. The hospitality is so special with its personal touch from Theresia and her staff. The five course menu in the evenings are such a treat and look forward to the Swiss cuisine each evening of such a high standard and service with a smile. Easter is especially something to look forward to as such effort is made to give each guest a surprise easter basket on Easter Sunday. The Swiss Muesli for breakfast together with the spread of cold meats and fresh bread is so delicious each morning before your hard day out on the mountain slopes. As far as location is concerned, could not be situated better. Bus service right outside the hotel and shopping area within 5 minutes walking distance. All in all a fabulous hotel with a warm and comfortable atmosphere and will definitely be returning to our Swiss Family.
Thanks again Steve and Wendy

Room Tip: A front facing room with a perfect view of the Matterhorn with a private balcony and en-suite bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyM589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#42 of 110 in Zermatt
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capricorn
Hotel Capricorn
#40 of 110 in Zermatt
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#21 of 110 in Zermatt
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#50 of 110 in Zermatt
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Property: Hotel Parnass
Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmsophere, fine hospitality. Free Internet in all the rooms. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge with fire place where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform about late arrival. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing