We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run hotel in the heart of Zermatt”
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Parnass is a lovely hotel. Clean, comfortable and very conveniently located - a short walk to the Gornergratbahn or Sunnega Express, and a bus stop right outside to get to the Matterhorn Express. Just outside the busy bit of town, so it's a quiet location but handy if you do want to experience Zermatt's pubs, bars, clubs and shops. The prices haven't changed significantly in the last four years, and they don't change for school holidays (unlike tour operators' prices!). Rooms are refurbished regularly, most of the staff speak English well. Excellent breakfast buffet, fantastic 4-course evening meals.

Room Tip: Expect to pay a little more for a room with a balcony as it has an unrestricted and rather awesome v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyinoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 375 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hotel in the middle of zermatt. Very good breakfast. Nice service. 3 min walk to the slopes. Awesome views. Only 5 min walk to/from train station. Desk keeper was very informative and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Six of us (a family of five plus a boyfriend) stayed at Hotel Parnass for 7 nights during the winter holidays and it exceeded our expectations. We spent the first two nights in the smaller non-view rooms which were cozy but fine (the bathrooms are a bit small), and then moved to the more spacious rooms with the Matterhorn views once those opened up. We were all extremely happy with the delicious 5 course dinners served there by the very warm and friendly staff. They did a great job substituting vegetarian options for our two vegetarian daughters. Teresa was very helpful in suggesting hikes and other activities when two of us decided to take a day off of skiing. The location was perfect - away from the hustle and bustle of the main shopping area but within easy walking distance of the center (5 minutes), the train station, the Sunegga lift, and right next to the shuttle bus stop for the gondola. There is a nice pastry shop across the street where we were able to pick up some inexpensive and delicious slices of quiche, which we did a couple of times to eat apres ski to save a bit on the expensive meals on the ski slopes. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Book early so you can reserve the larger rooms with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel Parnass is a wonderful place to stay at ! It offers very comfortable accommodations and the staff are extremely helpful as well as friendly. I personally enjoyed my stay and would rather stay there than anywhere at Zermatt. The scenery seen from the balconies of the hotel are breath taking and of the best views any visitor could have of the Matterhorn. Lovely place with lovely people.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank Zaynab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Friendly,high standard hotel which makes guests very welcome.Great location for skiers.The view of the Matterhorn is difficult to beat from the town and makes the excellent breakfast a particularly experience. We have returned many times for skiing

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd year at the very friendly family run hotel in Zermatt. As always the welcome was warm & generous with good food & comfortable rooms. The Hotel is conveniently situated 5 minuets walk from the main street & right next to the bus stops for the 2 main ski bus routes for all the ski lifts. We would recommend the Parnass for anyone looking for a good value, comfortable & friendly hotel in a traditional Swiss ski resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Parnass hotel is located in the heart of zermatt, its conveinient location is within a easy walk to all the main attractions zermatt has to offer. The Staff and management are at all times friendly and welcoming which made they stay all the more enjoyable.The rooms are comfortable,cleaned daily and have an amazing view of the Matterhorn. Everything needed for a skiing holiday is provided with a large gear room and enough boot warmers for everyone. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Zermatt.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Tomas420567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#51 of 111 in Zermatt
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capricorn
Hotel Capricorn
#40 of 111 in Zermatt
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#17 of 111 in Zermatt
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $198 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmosphere, fine hospitality. Free Internet in all the rooms. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform in advance about late arrival and/or any kind of allergie (feathers for example). Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing