We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great views of Matterhorn”
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Great hotel right downtown Zermatt. Views of the Matterhorn (not just a little view, I mean the whole mountain) from front side. Took some excellent full moon shots of the Matterhorn right from the balcony. Breakfast was very good as well. Great location, 5 minutes walk from train station. Easy to get to the mountain trams/railways. Thersia is a great owner, always checking if everything is OK, quick to offer tips and ideas in town. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a balcony room with a view. You won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcoxpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Parnass
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is our favorite hotel in Zermatt and we have stayed with them several time over the last 10 years. our latest stop was last month with a group of friends. Beautiful place with fantastic views from the balcony. The breakfasts are ver nice but the dinners are really special. Our host, Thersia Noll is warm and very friendly and she has a great staff. Only a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

How nice to find a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to the train station and downtown. Helpful owner was always there to answer questions. Free Wi-Fi in the comfortable lounge. A treat to have a balcony with a fabulous view of the Matterhorn. Nice to hear the babbling river from our balcony. Large bathroom. Good breakfast and dinners.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Parnass is within easy walking distance of the Main train station. Cross the street, walk past the Gornergrat Rail Station, follow the tracks then cross the Visp River and turn right. The Parnass is on the left side at the next bridge. The new experience was having a sink and shower in our twin-bedded room (#49) but NO W/C, which was down the hall. We had never encountered this bathroom arrangement before, but it was OK and the price was right. Our room view looked north down the Visp Valley. The cold breakfast buffet is quite adequate and the view of the Matterhorn on a clear day is amazing. Clean, quiet, convenient hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Remember to confirm what type of room you are getting. You may get a sink and shower but no w/c...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a modern, attractive, very comfortable hotel, with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and just a short walk into town and the train station. We had a room with a balcony, and after three rainy, cloudy days, finally had a magnificent view of the Matterhorn on our last day there. Breakfasts were bountiul, beautiful, and delcious, and we overlooked a lovely garden in the front of the hotel. There is a very comfortable and attractive lounge on the main floor, which was always quiet and welcoming, and offered a large assortment of books to borrow. You can have drinks and snacks served in the lounge. They also have a massage room, and I had absolutelky the best massage I've ever had, with massage therapist Ruth. The one drawback for us was that internet access was only available in the lounge, not in the rooms. We did not eat in the restaurant because the full meals were more food than we wanted, but staff recommended some very good places nearby. Try Vieux Valais, about 2 minutes away, for good Italian food, and watch pizzas being cooked in the wood-fired brick oven.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony offering "a perfect Matterhorn view" were worth the extra money to us...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A very nice family-run hotel right in Zermatt with fabulous views of the Matterhorn. The rooms with a balcony and a view of the Matterhorn are worth the extra charge. We were very happy with the 4-course dinner in the half pension, which was reasonable for a nice dinner in Zermatt. The food served is thoughtfully prepared, beautifully presented, and delicious. The dining room has a nice view of the mountain. Breakfast included a selection of breads, juices, pastries, cheeses, meats, and cereals. The room decor is nice, not luxurious, but nice. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel has an electric car that will pick you up at the train station for 5 chf. The hotel is right on the river and a short walk to the center of town, bahnhof, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a very pleasant hotel that is well situated and an easy walk from the train station. The rooms that face the Matterhorn have an unobstructed view from the balcony. The staff could not be more pleasant. We had dinner there twice and both times were a treat. It's a family run place sand it shows it. I wouldn't hesitate lot sty there again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Matterhorn.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 111 in Zermatt
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#52 of 111 in Zermatt
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capricorn
Hotel Capricorn
#39 of 111 in Zermatt
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $180 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3-star hotel in Zermatt's best location. Very central, only 5 easy walking minutes from the train station and right next to the ski bus stop 'Zum Steg'. Stunning MATTERHORN VIEW from all the balcony rooms and our lovely hotel garden. All bathrooms new and top notch. Pleasant atmosphere, fine hospitality. Free Internet in all the rooms. Book your rooms directly through us by mail or just call us. You receive a direct booking discount of at least 3 %. Ask about our HALF BOARD offer including dinner and enjoy our delicious cuisine, fine meals, candle light dinners every evening in the winter. Cozy lounge where afternoon tea is offered daily. We also offer massages in house. Book ahead please. There is a ski room with a ski boot heater for your comfort. Luggage transfer from/to the train station available for CHF 5 per person and way. Please inform in advance about late arrival and/or any kind of allergie (feathers for example). Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing