We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel with great views of Matterhorn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Parnass
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great views of Matterhorn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Great hotel right downtown Zermatt. Views of the Matterhorn (not just a little view, I mean the whole mountain) from front side. Took some excellent full moon shots of the Matterhorn right from the balcony. Breakfast was very good as well. Great location, 5 minutes walk from train station. Easy to get to the mountain trams/railways. Thersia is a great owner, always checking if everything is OK, quick to offer tips and ideas in town. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a balcony room with a view. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoxpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    71
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
87
116
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is our favorite hotel in Zermatt and we have stayed with them several time over the last 10 years. our latest stop was last month with a group of friends. Beautiful place with fantastic views from the balcony. The breakfasts are ver nice but the dinners are really special. Our host, Thersia Noll is warm and very friendly and she has a great staff. Only a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

How nice to find a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to the train station and downtown. Helpful owner was always there to answer questions. Free Wi-Fi in the comfortable lounge. A treat to have a balcony with a fabulous view of the Matterhorn. Nice to hear the babbling river from our balcony. Large bathroom. Good breakfast and dinners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Parnass is within easy walking distance of the Main train station. Cross the street, walk past the Gornergrat Rail Station, follow the tracks then cross the Visp River and turn right. The Parnass is on the left side at the next bridge. The new experience was having a sink and shower in our twin-bedded room (#49) but NO W/C, which was down the hall. We had never encountered this bathroom arrangement before, but it was OK and the price was right. Our room view looked north down the Visp Valley. The cold breakfast buffet is quite adequate and the view of the Matterhorn on a clear day is amazing. Clean, quiet, convenient hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Remember to confirm what type of room you are getting. You may get a sink and shower but no w/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a modern, attractive, very comfortable hotel, with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and just a short walk into town and the train station. We had a room with a balcony, and after three rainy, cloudy days, finally had a magnificent view of the Matterhorn on our last day there. Breakfasts were bountiul, beautiful, and delcious, and we overlooked a lovely garden in the front of the hotel. There is a very comfortable and attractive lounge on the main floor, which was always quiet and welcoming, and offered a large assortment of books to borrow. You can have drinks and snacks served in the lounge. They also have a massage room, and I had absolutelky the best massage I've ever had, with massage therapist Ruth. The one drawback for us was that internet access was only available in the lounge, not in the rooms. We did not eat in the restaurant because the full meals were more food than we wanted, but staff recommended some very good places nearby. Try Vieux Valais, about 2 minutes away, for good Italian food, and watch pizzas being cooked in the wood-fired brick oven.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony offering "a perfect Matterhorn view" were worth the extra money to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A very nice family-run hotel right in Zermatt with fabulous views of the Matterhorn. The rooms with a balcony and a view of the Matterhorn are worth the extra charge. We were very happy with the 4-course dinner in the half pension, which was reasonable for a nice dinner in Zermatt. The food served is thoughtfully prepared, beautifully presented, and delicious. The dining room has a nice view of the mountain. Breakfast included a selection of breads, juices, pastries, cheeses, meats, and cereals. The room decor is nice, not luxurious, but nice. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel has an electric car that will pick you up at the train station for 5 chf. The hotel is right on the river and a short walk to the center of town, bahnhof, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a very pleasant hotel that is well situated and an easy walk from the train station. The rooms that face the Matterhorn have an unobstructed view from the balcony. The staff could not be more pleasant. We had dinner there twice and both times were a treat. It's a family run place sand it shows it. I wouldn't hesitate lot sty there again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel National Zermat
Hotel National Zermat
#20 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Property: Hotel Parnass
Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel in Zermatt's best location. Delicious food and fine hospitality, personal and friendly. Non smoking dining room in cherry wood, cozy lounge with fire place. Stunning MATTTERHORN VIEW from all balcony rooms and garden. Excellent value. The place for restful relaxation for tomorrow's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing