We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent room and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #60 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent room and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room was large and well-appointed. The staff were super friendly and supportive (e.g. printing out lift tickets while we got changed to minimize lost time). Breakfast was excellent and had many choices. Little touches like a welcome bottle of wine also made it feel like a real treat.

Although there isn't a spa on the premises, it is ~100 m away at another very nice hotel. Also the prices were very reasonable compared to the rest of Zermatt, much better quality than another "4-star" hotel we tried there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    20
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
47
83
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I never have time to write reviews, but for this one I wanted to give my appreciation and thank the hotel this way. 4* with really big +! great attention to detail super helpful personnel, very nice breakfast, access to the spa just across the road. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is quite simply a fantastic hotel. Central location in the heart of zermatt, access to the spa and pool (including baby pool) at their sister hotel just down the road, fantastic buffet breakfast, and excellent staff. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Couscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Swiss ski resort hotels as they used to be!
Extra thoughtful, unforced service. Big comfortable rooms and excellent food. A calm , caring atmosphere that makes for a great holiday and the position relative to the town and the ski lifts is just right.

Room Tip: Ask to face Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We are very honored to have you as a regular customer. Thank you for your loyalty !

Looking forward to welcoming you next year !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Whilst this is marked as a four-star hotel, I really don’t understand how it is not five.

We stayed in one of their suites and were absolutely shocked at how luxurious and large they were. No, really – we actually walked around in awe for about ten minutes.

As you would expect, the staff are gracious and you’re made to feel that they can’t do enough to make your stay as wonderful as possible.

A large bonus is free access to their sister hotel’s (Mont Cervin Palace) pool and spa - definitely worth the short trek down the street.

We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner, but the breakfasts were sublime. The room was quiet, the beds huge and the pillows fluffy. What can I say; it was a perfect stay and worth every franc.

Room Tip: The suites are stunning; well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schweizerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

Our goal is always to exceed our customers needs and expectations.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location in Zermatt and extremely friendly staff. The hotel feels very old world swiss and we stayed in an absolutely beautiful suite. The breakfast buffet is very nice. I think most things in switzerland are over priced and though this is very expensive, it is actually worth the money you spend. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

One thing is the spa is located in another hotel down the street. If you are interested in that, it is not very relaxing to bundle back up and run home. Would not stay here if you plan to use it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay at The Monte Rosa. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Zermatt.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

André Seiler & the entire Monte Rosa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynzu2
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel met and exceeded all my expectations. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the amenities are fantastic and it is very clean. Here you are in the center of everything, we walked everywhere whether we were with our luggage or in our ski boots. And the breakfast is amazing, a lot to choose from. I am definately going back. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Gérant at Hotel Monte Rosa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Google Translation
Cher membre Tripadvisor,

Un grand merci pour votre très aimable commentaire. Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que vous avez passé un excellent moment en notre compagnie à l'hôtel Monte Rosa.

Nous espérons pouvoir vous y accueillir très prochainement à nouveau !

Meilleures salutations de Zermatt.

Cordialement,

André Seiler et tout le team du Monte Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Property: Hotel Monte Rosa
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 80, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel
Monte Rosa Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing