We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$446
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Firefly(Zermatt)
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$239
$218
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$320
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Butterfly(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$265
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bella Vista Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$177
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
574
85
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
85
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscook your owncourse dinnerdesign roomtrain stationjulen familymatterhorn viewnew wingegg stationsmall poolhalf boardquiet locationlovely hotelsteam bathwonderful viewbreakfast buffetelectric taxistayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 665 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2008

In Zermatt, hotels usually offer very good quality accomodation but this hotel particularly. From the reception, the personel takes very much care of you. The rooms are well furnished and very elegant. We appreciated very much the balcony from where you have one of the best view of the Cervin. The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool inside but you have full acces to the equipement of the nearby hotel, which is very pleasant.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sylvanito66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

This was our favourite stop on a recent trip to Europe and the hotel was one of the main reasons for this.

The service was friendly with English and several languages spoken. You are shown to your room which is large and includes a lovely sitting area and a fantastic bathroom. You feel like you are in someone's home because the hotel is small and you are always welcome to read a book by the fire, or watch tv downstairs. Also, the owners are always popping in and their friends often drop in for dinner or a drink which is lovely.

The half-board option needs to be taken. The 5 course meal each evening is a culinary treat and you can buy wine from the region to accompany your meal quite cheaply. If it is a special day or a holiday, the 5 course meal may have a theme! At the end of a great day in the snow, we would enjoy the free use of the heated swimming pool and sauna at the neighbouring Hotel Julen, then get dressed for dinner downstairs (with views of the Matterhorn, of course).

There is free wireless which is a nice touch. Breakfast is also very varied and good. (You can boil or fry your own eggs on a little stove in the corner!) There is fruit available all day too. The hotel will also pick you up and drop you at the train station so you don't have to walk. There is a room for your ski gear downstairs.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Magnus94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This is a very big surprise for us when we reached zermatt. Zermatt firstly is a very nice place, its hard for you to go wrong as they have so many hotels, however, not many are open during this season.
Hotel europe is quite a bit of walk from the train station but the hotel sent someone to pick us up in an electric taxi. The taxi is very cute indeed. We were welcomed by the lady at the reception called Julia. She was so helpful and nice, the nicest we have met so far in switzerland! She was able to answer all our questions and gave me a magnificient room facing the great matterhorn. You can see the matterhorn from the pictures i took in our balcony.
Dinner was superb in the hotel. We paid CHF 20 each for half board and was definitely worth it with a 5 course dinner including soup, salad, main course, appetiser and dessert. We took half board for 2 days and missed it already. Julia would always make sure that we are fine with the food, accomodation and everything. We are very impressed with her service.
The hotel also gave us access to the nearby spa Hotel Julen where we did a bit of swimming and steam bath. It was very relaxing and nice indeed!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tartarSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

I have been to Switzerland before however wanted to see the mighty Matterhorn, so booked to go to Zermatt, picked the Hotel Europe. Zermat itself is great, although it was raining and really miserable when we arrived (4 degrees!). It did get warmer towards the end of the week. Plenty of activity, places to go for the day etc.
The hotel was not a disappointment. We booked a room with a view of the Matterhorn however it only actually appeared out of the clouds on our last day! The hotel is 3*, but deserves a better class simply for its food, personal touches and friendly hosts. A very freindly family, polite, attentive, funny, took real care of the guests, fantastic atmosphere, spotless, great rooms, bathrooms etc, 5 course evening meal cooked and presented to perfection, easy going atmosphere, food cooked fresh and delivered to your table with great timing....plenty of time to enjoy (compared to my next hotel in Adelboden where the time to eat a 4 course meal was max. 40 mins, indigestion city!). Rudi and Marianne run the hotel with their family, I don't think that we could have chosen a better hotel in the whole of Zermatt, I would definitely return there (in fact nearly did on the 2nd centre of my holiday being such a disappointment!). Thanks Rudi and Marianne for such a fab few days.
Check it out and book! [--]

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PodgeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

My nine year old son and I traveled to Zermatt on October 14th for a short visit. Our purpose was of course, to see the beautiful Matterhorn and the surrounding Swiss Alps. Our choice for accomodation, selected with the helpful reviews of other Tripadvisor travelers, was the lovely Hotel Europe. Even though we arrived late in the evening, we were picked up at the train station within minutes of our arrival. Our quoted rate of 160CF/night included a five course evening meal and breakfast. Each evening meal was well planned and prepared and utterly delicious. The owners, who are active in all aspects of hotel operations, acted as our hosts, our sommelier and went above and beyond to ensure we were completely satisfied. The hotel is very family oriented and kid friendly. My son was offerred alternatives to the five course dinner each night to his satisfaction. They even catered to his dessert desires.
The room was spacious and clean. Our balcony afforded us beautiful views of the Matterhorn. The bathroom was large with a tub shower and courtesy hairdryer.
There are games and books available for family's on each floor.
There is free internet access in the lobby.
The restaurant has a substantial wine list and a nice bar and lounge area for the adults.
The hotel, while tucked out of the way, is a short 10 minute walk to the bahnhof and the shopping areas as well as to the Kleinmatterhorn lift area.
Our favorite, and most unexpected, pasttime was the forest fun park, located near the Kleinmatterhorn lift area. My son and I spent 3 hours climbing and gliding along cable paths in the trees. And, being in view of the Matterhorn made it that much more awesome.
Marianne and Rudi, the Hotel Europe owners, were the most gracious hosts. When I return to Zermatt, I will stay no place else!

Stayed: October 2006
8  Thank wilkespartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews