We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$446
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Firefly(Zermatt)
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parkhotel Beau Site(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$320
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bella Vista Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Butterfly(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
572
85
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
85
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscook your owncourse dinnerdesign roomtrain stationjulen familymatterhorn viewnew wingegg stationsmall poolhalf boardquiet locationlovely hotelsteam bathwonderful viewbreakfast buffetelectric taxithe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 663 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Once again in January my husband and I stayed at Hotel Europe for our ski holiday. This was a highlight of our trip to Europe from Australia, and makes those 28 hours on the plane all worth while. Living down under, we come for the snow, but there are many places to go to - Hotel Europe means we keep choosing Zermatt. We have been most remiss in not writing a review earlier than this.
Rudy and Marianne and their daughter Corinne are wonderful hosts, We felt like family, and that is one of the main reasons we keep coming back here. The staff at this hotel are warm, friendly, extrememely professional and no request is too much bother for them. From the reception staff and restaurant staff to the room attendants, all could not have been more helpful. Many staff are familiar faces from previous years, which says a lot in the hotel industry.
The food is simply delicious, varied and interesting. We stayed 3 weeks, and not once did we have a 'repeat meal'. The standard of cooking is world class. Thank you Alan, please never leave.
The spa facilities are extremely comfortable, and as Hotel Europe is a small establishment, never crowded. Doris the masseur was a wonderful help when returning after a heavy day of skiing. The hotel is set back from the main street, so quiet at night.
The facilities for skiing are great, lockers, change rooms, space to hang all your gear, and the hotel even prints up your ski pass so no need to waste time queing down in the town. My brother and his wife booked late to come to Zermatt, so stayed else where, as Hotel Europe was full, but were made welcome for a meal and drinks by Rudi, and were regretful about not being able to stay here. We showed them our glorious room and huge bathroom facilities and they were jealous. Sitting in the bar and library with a drink, warming in frontt of the gorgeous fire, they were sad to leave. Rudi and Marianne - thank you so much for your hospitality, and we will be returning here as soon as we can, bringing our brother and his wife with us. Kind regards, Mark and Christine O'Brien

Room Tip: All rooms are well furnished and quiet. The rooms with the Matterhorn view are also terrific, even though they are not in the newer part of the hotel. We have stayed in both, and would do so again.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joffagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

... the stay in this family hotel was unforgettable. It has to be noted that Hotel Europe was a 3 star-hotel for years, with the service of a 4-star one. With the new building and its fantastic architectural interior, it's now with no doubt one of the best 4-star in Zermatt.

This year, we even noticed an increase in the already excellent cuisine : the Chef prepared new original "recettes" : a great pleasure.

A special thanks to the receptionists who are - as always - very kind, smart and taking great care of visitors !

Michel Vuilleumier, Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We travel to Zermatt at least once a year for many, many years and always stay in Europe Hotel & Spa! It is a fantastic place with a nice atmosphere, great food and extremely nice staff. We love the way Rudy and Marianne Julen treat their guests. Only last year the hotel was expanded with very nice rooms and a fantastic Spa & Wellness. A place worth visiting!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Hotel Europe & Spa is without question a rare gem. Besides all of the comforts that my hotel room offered: down comforters on a comfortable bed, flat screen television, large bathtub, shower water pressure that is amazing, a spotlessly clean room (no chemical cleaning smell, too), Swiss chocolates at bed turn-down, desk for my laptop with free WiFi (fast connection speed, too), wooden hangers, the Hotel also has a Spa that is serene. It has a large Jacuzzi tub. Not your normal Jacuzzi tub, but more like a small heated pool that you can lay back on as if you were laying on a chaise lounge. It also has a steam bath that is the real deal. Rain showers, too, with lights that change colors while you're in the shower. You feel as if the Spa is your own when you're there. So quiet. And the best part of the Spa is that it is spotlessly clean, and without any toxic smelling cleaning chemicals. Breakfast was excellent. Fresh juices, breads, eggs, cheeses, teas, fruits, various granola mixes, and etc. Served in a beautiful room, too. Tables all have crisp linens. I am extremely fastidious with hotels regarding cleanliness, and this Hotel is beyond spotless. I could go on and on with all the attributes this Hotel has. I want to finish by saying the entire Hotel staff are professional, courteous, were are there for anything I needed immediately. Oh, and Rudy (the owner) is always there to greet you, and is as nice as one can be.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We discovered the Hotel Europe through TripAdvisor so thought it only fair that we share our fantastic experience there. Everything is as reported by others: friendly, helpful service; extremely comfortable, well appointed rooms (love the heated bathroom floors); terrific public rooms (the small library with fireplace was a great place to read after returning from the slopes or after dinner and the bar was lively without being the mob scene that much of Zermatt's apres ski drinking appeared to be); beautiful, clean spa. What I would like to emphasize was the superb quality of the food. My wife and I are unaccustomed to the European convention of taking one's dinner each night at one's hotel, and were sceptical that we would do so. After our first meal at the Hotel Europe, though, we knew that here was to need to look elsewhere: we stayed in Zermatt five nights and loved each of our five course meals prepared by the very talented young British chef and served so professionally by the friendly service team. The wine list was excellent and afforded the opportunity to explore Swiss wines by the glass, carafe, or bottle, as well as a delicious, fairly priced Querciabella Chianti. The Hotel Europe's self service salad buffet (3rd course at dinner) challenged all our anti-buffet dining prejudices with its variety and outstanding quality; the serve yourself bread and cheese platter were superb. The generosity and hospitality offered by the Julen's hotel is evident everywhere - from the copious breakfast buffet to the afternoon tea to the wifi. Go and marvel what a family dedicated to their craft can achieve!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews