We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
595
87
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
87
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course dinner cook your own design room train station julen family matterhorn view new wing every evening egg station half board quiet location lovely hotel steam bath wonderful view electric taxi breakfast buffet stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 688 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent a week in this fabulous hotel and loved everthing of it! The owners, the staff, the food......we couldn't complain about anything. We would fully recommend this hotel to anyone. The breakfast buffet would meet everyones taste, the 5 course dinner is supreme and during our 8 days stay it was always different....
The rooms were nice and clean and the wellness area was a good treat in the afternoon after a morning out either on the ski slopes or for a walk.
Zermatt is a good place for both skiers a non, even though a bit expensive.
Would really love to go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Europe hotel for skiing.
Overall the stay was pleasant.
We had a double room with view on the matterhorn and a balcony, the room was on the older part of the hotel, and this might be an inconvenience as the dinning and bar area are just below and this can be noisy in the evening and morning. But we could close the fire door which reduces the noise.
We had a massage for 2, in the very nice facilities that the hotel have, the massages were very good.
The booking was for halfboard, and had dinner there. The food is good quality.
The hotel is a family run, and many people knew each others from previous years, which added a good feel of our stay.
The down side is the location, Zermatt is small so the hotel was close from everything but yet a bit far from the ski lift, and ten mins walk with normal shoes are not ten minutes with the ski boots... Of course there were buses but you have to walk there and then take the stairs
But overall we had a pleasant stay and the staff was very friendly and attentive
Next time we might stay in an hotel a bit closer to a ski lift or stop bus.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas and New Year and had a fabulous time. We stayed in the New building and the rooms are spacious and ample for me, my husband and our 4 year old. The food was excellent and my husband and child could not wait to get into the whirlpool in the wellness centre after skiing. It is about a 10 minute stroll to the lifts and as such we rented our skis from Flexrent as you can leave the skis overnight with them and then collect them first thing before catching the lift which is across the road. This worked well for us as it would have been hard work carrying skis and a 4 year old on a sleigh every morning and night. The hotel loaned us a sleigh to drag our child on every morning to ski school and we just left it at Flexrent and collected it at the end of the day. Very Helpful!

The town was great and very beautiful scenery which you would expect in Switzerland. Everything was dear (which once again you expect!). A beer would cost anywhere between 6.50 Swiss Francs to 9.00 Swiss Francs and a cocktail would set you back 15 Swiss Francs. A small glass of wine would be 4 Swiss Francs. There is a coop supermarket in the main town square for all people going self catering (we was half board so did not really use this).

Food can be dear if you are eating out. A meal could cost per person anything from 20 Swiss Francs (simple meal) to 80 Swiss Francs (5 course meal).

We caught the train from Geneva Airport and i have to say that i would do this every single time if i ever returned here. I would not ski here again though as the lift system is very badly designed (i realise that they have to work with what the mountain offers) but you do spend a lot of time on lifts and the runs are very intermediate and not challanging enough. That said this is the only resort where i have thought that i would like to return in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Would be back here in a heartbeat! We were picked up by the owner (Rudy) and whisked to the hotel from the train station. Shown to our beautiful room with a view direct on the Matterhorn with every appliance one could want. Quite a surprise when we were told to be down for our 5 course dinner (included in the price) between 7 and 9. The food was amazing, the staff were brilliant (we want to keep Kira the bar girl for ever) and the spa was a saviour. The whole place is done with a touch of class, albeit with a slightly concerning predisposition for sheep - highly entertaining given the heritage of the place. Do yourself a favour and stay here - you wont find better value for money anywhere in Switzerland and you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel was the highlight of my travels around Switzerland. Eveything about it was top-class, - the customer-relations by email straight after I booked, the lovely room with superb view and great toiletries, robes etc, the friendliness of the staff, great food in restaurant, general facilities, free pick-up and drop-off at the railway station, location - everything!

Room Tip: Double rooms with Matterhorn view are spectacular. I had booked a "quiet single room with view if possible" and the staff advised me by email that the single rooms do not have balconies or views and may not be quiet because on same floor as restaurant/bar. They offered me a double room for single use at a discounted price, and I'm so glad I accepted the offer. The view of the Matterhorn from the balcony and the room was sublime, and it was super-quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronnie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews