We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Wonderful town”
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europe Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent a week in this fabulous hotel and loved everthing of it! The owners, the staff, the food......we couldn't complain about anything. We would fully recommend this hotel to anyone. The breakfast buffet would meet everyones taste, the 5 course dinner is supreme and during our 8 days stay it was always different....
The rooms were nice and clean and the wellness area was a good treat in the afternoon after a morning out either on the ski slopes or for a walk.
Zermatt is a good place for both skiers a non, even though a bit expensive.
Would really love to go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 608 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Europe hotel for skiing.
Overall the stay was pleasant.
We had a double room with view on the matterhorn and a balcony, the room was on the older part of the hotel, and this might be an inconvenience as the dinning and bar area are just below and this can be noisy in the evening and morning. But we could close the fire door which reduces the noise.
We had a massage for 2, in the very nice facilities that the hotel have, the massages were very good.
The booking was for halfboard, and had dinner there. The food is good quality.
The hotel is a family run, and many people knew each others from previous years, which added a good feel of our stay.
The down side is the location, Zermatt is small so the hotel was close from everything but yet a bit far from the ski lift, and ten mins walk with normal shoes are not ten minutes with the ski boots... Of course there were buses but you have to walk there and then take the stairs
But overall we had a pleasant stay and the staff was very friendly and attentive
Next time we might stay in an hotel a bit closer to a ski lift or stop bus.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas and New Year and had a fabulous time. We stayed in the New building and the rooms are spacious and ample for me, my husband and our 4 year old. The food was excellent and my husband and child could not wait to get into the whirlpool in the wellness centre after skiing. It is about a 10 minute stroll to the lifts and as such we rented our skis from Flexrent as you can leave the skis overnight with them and then collect them first thing before catching the lift which is across the road. This worked well for us as it would have been hard work carrying skis and a 4 year old on a sleigh every morning and night. The hotel loaned us a sleigh to drag our child on every morning to ski school and we just left it at Flexrent and collected it at the end of the day. Very Helpful!

The town was great and very beautiful scenery which you would expect in Switzerland. Everything was dear (which once again you expect!). A beer would cost anywhere between 6.50 Swiss Francs to 9.00 Swiss Francs and a cocktail would set you back 15 Swiss Francs. A small glass of wine would be 4 Swiss Francs. There is a coop supermarket in the main town square for all people going self catering (we was half board so did not really use this).

Food can be dear if you are eating out. A meal could cost per person anything from 20 Swiss Francs (simple meal) to 80 Swiss Francs (5 course meal).

We caught the train from Geneva Airport and i have to say that i would do this every single time if i ever returned here. I would not ski here again though as the lift system is very badly designed (i realise that they have to work with what the mountain offers) but you do spend a lot of time on lifts and the runs are very intermediate and not challanging enough. That said this is the only resort where i have thought that i would like to return in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Would be back here in a heartbeat! We were picked up by the owner (Rudy) and whisked to the hotel from the train station. Shown to our beautiful room with a view direct on the Matterhorn with every appliance one could want. Quite a surprise when we were told to be down for our 5 course dinner (included in the price) between 7 and 9. The food was amazing, the staff were brilliant (we want to keep Kira the bar girl for ever) and the spa was a saviour. The whole place is done with a touch of class, albeit with a slightly concerning predisposition for sheep - highly entertaining given the heritage of the place. Do yourself a favour and stay here - you wont find better value for money anywhere in Switzerland and you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel was the highlight of my travels around Switzerland. Eveything about it was top-class, - the customer-relations by email straight after I booked, the lovely room with superb view and great toiletries, robes etc, the friendliness of the staff, great food in restaurant, general facilities, free pick-up and drop-off at the railway station, location - everything!

Room Tip: Double rooms with Matterhorn view are spectacular. I had booked a "quiet single room with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronnie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I love this hotel. The atmosphere and decor is very nice, helpful staff, decent size room. Good facilities, free Wifi, very comfortable and nice reception/bar area.

The small let-downs was the distance to the station (its about the furthest hotel from the station there is), the breakfast could have been better, and the bed wasnt great (decent enough). Not a 5 out of 5 but very good none the less.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
Thank neofytos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was our fifth time staying at the Hotel Europe in Zermatt. Since our last visit two years ago the hotel expanded and was granted a 4th star (well-deserved). The hotel is family owned and everything is attended to in meticulous detail with personal warmth. The hotel now has two wings, the old one and the new one. In the old wing, many rooms face straight out to the Matterhorn and have balconies with a spectacular view. For that reason, we stayed in the old wing and will continue to do so. However, some might think that the rooms in the old wing could use a little updating. The rooms in the new wing are very modern and creative, also have balconies, but do not have the Matterhorn view. The two halves of the hotel are joined by a lovely bar area and a spacious upstairs dining room. A delicious and very ample buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room. Most guests have dinner in the hotel as well, and that is something we very highly recommend. The food is terrific. The chef is outstanding. Each dinner is a five course meal, and in ten days there we had no repetitions. Below the lobby there is a new wellness center that consists of a large whirlpool bath, a quiet room with special lounge chairs and several saunas and massage rooms. The whole wellness center is very beautifully done and very peaceful.

The hotel is extremely well situated within Zermatt, just 3 blocks above the main street, so close enough yet very quiet. It is also located within ten minutes walk of all three alpine transport systems to get you to higher elevation hikes and sights. The owners are a longstanding Zermatt family and know everything about the region.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travel19941953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $188 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Zermatt
Europe Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing