We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Value, Very Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at the Alphubel in Zermatt. Spent three nights and I felt right at home. The manager was helpful and the staff, was quiet as a mouse! Free internet service, a nice breakfast and a great location just about 200 yards to the train station - which you never hear since it is electric! The bed was a little small, but I am a pretty big guy and a few extra pillows did the trick :^)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissMr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2008

This was the second time we stayed at the hotel and we agree with the other reviewers; you will not be able to find better value in Zermatt. It is not a luxury hotel; but centrally located, reasonably prised, very clean and very friendly staff with large (although not stylish any longer) rooms. The food is good and plentiful. Although the menu is fixed, our daughter (who suffers from allergies) was immediately offered alternatives when she said that she was unable to eat something. The hotel shows proper old fashioned hospitality at its very best.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VolpediS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at the Alphubel. It is only 2 minutes up the road from the train station in a side street. The rooms were simple but comfortable. The bathroom (shower room was a bit tight but had all the necessary gadgets. Breakfast was buffet with juices, cereals, cold meat and cheese selection, fresh bread and crossants and joghurts. However what we really enjoyed is the dinner. At breakfast time, the evening menu is displayed and if it takes your fancy you just advise the waitress that you will be eating in. A 4 course meal cost only CHF 29 which is a bargain when you consider that with CHF 29 you may only get a single dish in other restaurants. Moreover, all the veggies were fresh: coming from the hotel's vegetable patch at the back. This menu is available for hotel residents.
All in all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were even given a lift to the station on our way back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Ranked as such because as a 2 star hotel in the centre of Zermatt at a very un Zermatt price we all considered it excellent value. Rooms were largish and comfortable if a little dated, food was pretty good - four course fare. We ate out one night,, and got a reduction on our half board price, which was totally unexpected. Bit of a trek to the lifts, but we managed to hire from a shop at the foot of one of the lifts,, and left our skis there, saving a load of hassle. All in all an excellent choice if you are more interested in skiing than style - didn't view the sauna.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Francisco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank MarkusB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimi174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#72 of 110 in Zermatt
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elite Garni
Hotel Elite Garni
#69 of 110 in Zermatt
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#62 of 110 in Zermatt
227 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#79 of 110 in Zermatt
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphubel Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphubel Zermatt

Address: Brantschenhaus 7, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $157 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alphubel Zermatt 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alphubel Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing