We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Alpine retreat - what more to expect?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mont Cervin Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alpine retreat - what more to expect?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Zermatt stands for skiing. Mt Cervin gives you the rest.
They managed to renovate the rooms nicely. They maintained their pricey culinary superiority. The location is splendid. When it comes to management - it should do their homework on dynamic pricing strategy, reception - kind and helpful but not empowered, concierge - messed up some of reservation and appointment but generally ok, ski room- raw, spa - really crowded.
But their biggest strength are Zermatt's skislopes, just imagine what would happen to Mont Cervin when global warming finally proves to be true.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misiek1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay at the Mont Cervin. We pay attention to all your remarks and intent to do take the necessary steps to ameliorate our services and facilities. Our main goal is to provide a memorable and rewarding experience and best value for money for every guest. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences during your holiday. Nevertheless we hope you could enjoy it and that you will come back to visit us!

Sincerely,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    39
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
105
192
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jimmhk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

i stayed in the refurbished main part of the hotel ; the room, (I had an Alpine suite) was an upgrade and fantastic.every detail was attended to, the staff were totally attentive, the bar and breakfast room was lovely and the location could not be better.there is absolutely nothing to fault this hotel, except that the gym is a little tired, but since most people are skiing it doesn't really matter.Pick up and drop off at the station is a nice touch and yoi can get your ski pass through the concierge.Amazingly good.V expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review on this web page. We appreciate any comments we get from our guests regardless of how critical they may be. This is the best way to move forward and to improve weaknesses. We are delighted that we could offer you a memorable stay and would love to welcome you back in Zermatt very soon again. Until then, enjoy the spring!

Many greetings,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just back from a fabulous stay at this hotel. One of the best ski hotels we have stayed at. Room was perfect, staff were helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble and the resort is first class. we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 607joanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member

We hope you had a safe trip back home. Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We are so happy that the room suited you and that you were satisfied with our service and hospitality. It is always a big recognition to read such nice notes.

We do hope that your travel plans will lead you back to Zermatt soon again. In the meanwhile we wish you a wonderful springtime.

Best regards from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A remarkably classy hotel on every level. My husband, son and I had stayed there twice before, and it is very rare for us to return to ever choose to return to the same establishment because we ove trying new places. But so many things are spot on there, especially the service, that we really felt excited to go back. This year there was the added bonus of staying in one of the recently renovated rooms. Gone were the traditional carpetting and old-fashioned curtains: our spacious suite, room 115, was decorated with chic bleached wood floors, and the slick marble and glass rooms with electronic shower commands impressed our son so much that it made him think of a spaceship. That said, generally they have opted for a fairly classic, timeless palette of fabrics and colors rather than a flashy trendy boutique-hotel style. I agree with this decision since I find this more in keeping with their “old school” understated-but-elegant management style. I recommend asking for a room at the back because the first year our windows gave onto the main pedestrian street, and there was some noise at night from drunken revellers.
While I was there, I hurt my back skiing and as a result spent a fair amount of time getting to know the staff, all of whom I found ultra-professional, without exception. In particular, in reception, I received incredibly thoughtful assistance from Jose’, Marieke and Pietro, in the restaurants, Rosario and Andre', the sommelier, I ended up have several lovely dealings with the general manager, Andreas Gartmann, who struck me as a true gentleman in the full sense of the word. It’s really hard to imagine a more all-round professional team, they are trained to be discreet and attentive.

I tend to be quite picky about food since my mother was a food critic, and I found it remarkably good and varied. A special scheme allows to you dine around town in various venues, all of which were enjoyable in different ways, although the sushi place was only OK by my picky New York/London standards. The wine list is extremely extensive and would delight any serious connoisseur (still a bit classic for my taste, but they say they are adding some less traditional choices), they benefit from remarkable underground cellars.

The Spa and pool are outstanding-- don't miss them!

I have a penchant for very modern boutique hotels, but in the case of the Mont Cervin Palace, I would not hesitate to recommend it for anyone who is more interested in genuine timeless quality rather than trendy bling-y chic. It doesn't dazzle and dissapoint-- rather it gently seduces by remaining friendly and unpretentious: most of the ultra-professional staff have been there for many years. They tell me over 60% of their guests are returning clients, and I am happy to add my family to that statistic!

Room Tip: Suite 115, see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member

First and foremost we would like to thank you for your loyalty and for your repeat visits. We feel very honoured to welcome you back as, like you mentioned it, you usually don’t return to hotels you already stayed at.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed yourselves and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. It’s a great pleasure to read that you felt well taken care of and that you spent a fabulous time at the Mont Cervin Palace. We have shared your compliments with each of the staff members you listed and with the whole team. Thank you so much for your gratitude for a job well done. Your remarks show that the entire endeavour is worth it and will motivate us for the last few weeks left until the end of the winter season.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back and to spoil you again. Until then we wish you a great time as well as a wonderful springtime.

Sunny greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Besides my passion for skiing, the mont cervin palace made my ski trip an unforgettable experience!
Arriving at zermatt by train, the horse-drawn carriage brought us to the hotel...
Friendly staff members everywhere, very attentive to small detail and helpful anytime!
Great renovated hotel and spa area, spacious ski locker area and central location in zermatt!
Great breakfast buffet with many options and personalized service!
What makes the hotel different?? The personal touch!
We enjoyed a lovely welcome drink with canapes on the second evening when the hotel owners welcomed us! They were present at the hotel throughout our whole stay which shows the difference to a very good and excellent hotel because of the personal touch! Thank you so much! We are looking forward to come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafa0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Rafa0211

It is a gladness to read that you spent a wonderful time with us and that you have taken with you lots of good memories. We are delighted that you noticed and appreciated the “personal touch” which is so important to us. You are completely right, this makes the positive difference. We will pass along your compliments to all staff members in order to motivate them for the last three weeks of the winter season.

We would love to welcome you back, maybe in summer, and until then we wish you a great springtime!

Best regards,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I use to stay in that hotel two times before. But now I don't now what happens:((
Ok. rooms is nice. Food in restaurants : breakfast 3+. Capry " best restaurant in town" very expensive ordinary food. Lot of compliments but we don't need 3 hours !!!!! service and 4 compliments we need 2-3 testy dishes!!! :)
In check out they forget to charge ski passes and ski scool its not good for hotel management. Ugly ski room normally in that class of hotel ski room people help to wear ski boots but not hear. 3*** service in ski room . And in the pool it's lot of people not from hotel you feel yourself like a sardines. Massage was ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Roman B

Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your unpleasant experience. We really regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay and that you didn’t feel well taken care of. Our ambition is to provide highest quality and outstanding service. Our staff is trained to follow our credo, created over 150 years ago by Alexander Seiler “United for the well-being of our guests”. What happened to you is absolutely not the standard of the hotel. Please accept our excuses!

Also we fell short of your expectations in the restaurants and at the pool. We have noted your comments with care and we will do anything possible to improve and develop our services and procedures.

We hope that you will give us a try the next time you are back in Zermatt in order to arrange a better stay with, this time, an exceptional hospitality.

Sincerely,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013


Staying three days in such a room was a nightmare scenario. Your bed was the worst I've never seen in my life! Such a big disappointment for my Sarah and I. The room 937 is faded, doesn't deserve to a Palace. This room was a real injury.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Olivierhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr Haas

We hope you arrived home safely. Thank for taking the time to give us your feedback about your experience with us. We really regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay and do apologize for any inconveniences caused by the uncomfortable bed. Sorry for falling short in this instance. We are disappointed and even surprised by such a complaint. It is the first time a guest expresses his dissatisfaction with the beds, until now we only had positive responses. It is a pity that you didn’t let us know about your problem during your stay, we would have done anything possible to meet your expectations.

In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Many greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Cervin Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Cervin Palace

Property: Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 31, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mont Cervin Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Hotel in six-story traditionally Swiss building located in village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mont Cervin Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Cervin Palace Zermatt
Mont Cervin Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing