We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous family run hotel on a grand scale.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Mont Cervin for Easter for a family skiing trip, my second visit to the hotel in 4 years and once again I was impressed with the excellent staff and the hotel facilities.

We had a twin room with an extra put up bed for my mother, 8 year old niece and me with a view of the Matterhorn and village. We had plenty of room and as expected it was very clean had a fully stocked mini bar, bathroom accessorise, hairdryers, fluffy bed robes, slippers and very ample wardrobe space. You also get a welcome spread of fruit, champagne, nuts and chocolate.

The hotel provides an excellent breakfast with egg chief, juices, cereal, fruit, breads, pastries and hot options. The pool is wonderful with the option to swim indoors or outside. I highly recommend having a hot Jacuzzi outside while surrounded by the snow.

Dinner is wonderful and each night we would sit in the bar with the children listening to the pianist and singer. Being right in the centre of the village is an excellent location to access all the restaurants and pub but dose mean it’s a longer walk to the ski lifts.

Being Easter each guest received an Easter bunny from the owners, Karin & Kevin Kunz (Swiss chocolate need I say more) and they organised an Easter egg hunt for the children. My nieces however where dragged to church with their Grandma so missed the hunt, but as the staff had heard their dismay they made sure 2 bunnies where waiting for them when we got back. It is these additional touches which make the hotel friendly family feel.

The hotel closed to refurbish the days after we left meaning the hotel was much quitter at the end of our 10 day stay but you would not have guessed that the staff were winding down; they were as attentive, polite and helpful right up to the moment we departed.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: View of the Matterhorn, wow
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeriWingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Your nice words about your stay with us last April touched us very much and also that you took the time to share your positive experience on this forum. Thank you very much! We can’t express how grateful we are for your testimonial. The satisfaction of our guests is the best reflection of performance.

We do hope that your travel plans will lead you back to Zermatt soon. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Mont Cervin Palace.

Best regards,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 490 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wanting to surprise my husband for our 40th anniversary, no Internet , cellphones or computers then - if you can believe that - I searched for the Hotel Nicoletta online - Swissair made our arrangements for us in1973 - hotel closed and reopened as part of Hotel Mt Cervin - which we longingly looked at but could not afford then. I can't begin to describe the "celebrity" treatment we received here. From the moment we were picked up at the train in their coach, walking in the door with everyone standing to greet us (and the reception desk stands each time you walk in the door to greet you), champagne, wine and canapés, fruit, candy, flowers and much more. Diane and her staff at the front desk overwhelmed us with their hospitality. We were upgraded to what I think had to be the best room in Zermatt and all I had requested was a room with a view of the Matterhorn. We have traveled extensively in our 40 years together and this suite was beyond our expectations! Then the Dine-Around option as half-board to all of their 16 restaurants in Zermatt - so many restaurants/so little time! Each different and great. If you have a train pass, go to Riffelap Resort and regional cuisine restaurant downstairs - we had cheese and meat fondue together - just save enough time to walk back to train back to hotel. It's an adventure 15 min up out of town in the Gornegrat which is very close to Cervin. We also enjoyed one night at Schweirzerhof Stubli with Swiss band and CervinGrill - grilled meat and fish. Not to mention the unreal breakfast each morning. Then there's the fitness, spa, pool - have never been in an outdoor pool with snowflakes landing on us! And the blessing of Father Stefan Roth on Sunday after 10:00 am Mass - we knew we were truly blessed. Left there today with regret on having to travel home; have to make it an annual trip if possible - life is too short. Thank you to everyone who made our 40th anniversary as special as the day we were married

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faemuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you so much for your kind review and all the compliments shared therein. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves and had a truly memorable stay with us, in particular on this special occasion, your 40th anniversary. We always strive to exceed guest’s expectations and to find out that in your case we have succeeded, makes us proud and motivates us to carry on this way. We have shared your compliments with the staff and especially with Diane and the front desk team. Your positive comments show the team some gratitude for a job well done.

We would be delighted to count you among our guests again and to welcome you back at the Mont Cervin or Le Petit Cervin very soon to spoil you and to offer you the same exceptional and thoughtful hospitality again.

In the meantime we wish you all the best and to keep well and fit.

Many greetings from Zermatt,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I first visited this hotel about 30 years ago with my parents for several years in a row. After a break to cheaper hotels (student life....), I came back again 5 years ago and keep coming back yearly at Christmas for at least 10-15 days.
This year the Month Cervin has renovated all its rooms and what an improvement! The hotel has always been in the top of the Zermatt hotels, but now it is the absolute top! Without loosing it's mountain charm, the hotel is now modern chique. Hopefully the diningroom and bar will be the next to be renovated, since they still reflect that old athmosphere....not bad either!
The staff is always friendly and ready to fulfill your every need. Great skiroom and ski service!
And the Spa....!!!! Best treatments in town, great pool, whirlpools and hot open air pool. Sauna, steamroom, gym....what isn't there?
I will return for many years to come!

Room Tip: Any room is good! No bad pick possible!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Mr. Dorlas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and your personal experience with us. We appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our guests. The best evidence a hotelier can get for the expected service, the quality and the overall hospitality provided in his hotel, is that the guests come back year after year and become part of a big family. We are enchanted to read that you and your entire family will stay at the Mont Cervin the coming year! Please pass my best regards to your mother and tell her that I am looking forward to welcoming her back soon!

We are very grateful for your loyalty.

Sincerely,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent one week in the Petit Cervin. The rooms are spacious and cosy, in typical Swiss Chalet Style. The atmosphere was relaxed, the staff professional and extremely friendly. Mont Cervin Palace and Petit Cervin are connected by and underground corridor. Pool area as well as the SPA can be reached through the same connection. There are 3 pools, 2 inside and 1 outside, heated in wintertime. SPA treatments have been excellent. The restaurants Cervin Grill and Myoko are excellent, they offer great winelists with reasonable pricing. Overall "value for money".

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member

We are so glad that you spent an unforgettable week at our Le Petit Cervin. Thank you for sharing your impressions on this website. It makes us very happy to read about such positive comments about our facilities, the quality and also our staff. It is very motivating and shows that we can carry on this way.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon and to offer you the same great experience again.

In the meantime we wish you all the best and a happy 2013!

Best regards,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The only reason I hesitate giving this hotel a 5 star rating is the following. I booked a Master Suite with Matterhorn view with a single bedroom attached off the small living room because our 24 yr old daughter was traveling with us. This is an expensive hotel but I thought the price was somewhat reasonable considering we would have a larger room for my husband and me and a smaller room off common area for my daughter. I paid online a nonrefundable/non cancelable rate; in other words, they took all of my money. When we checked in, the arrangement had changed to just the Master Suite w/a roll away bed in the small living room area for our 24 yr old daughter. The checking in process was, therefore, a bit stressful. Not wanting to ruin our vacation, my daughter agreed to the arrangement because, luckily, there was a small bathroom with shower off the living area where her rollaway bed was. Other than this problem, everything else with this hotel is top rate. The personnel at the Le Petit Cervin are exceptional. I can not say enough about the extent they will go to provide excellent service. The quality of amenities are top shelf; bed linens, bath towels, housekeeping morning and follow up turn down evening service impeccable. This is hotelier service at it's best! Breakfast buffet incomparable. Wonderful bar/great wine and a beautiful view. We really enjoyed the experience even more than the Monte Rosa Hotel that we visited years ago. My husband and I wanted to return to Zermatt to give our daughter a similar experience we had years ago. I think we succeeded. She came away enchanted with Zermatt. Le Petit Cervin was an instrumental part of that experience.

Room Tip: Reserve a Matterhorn view room - enchanting!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you chose the Le Petit Cervin to give your daughter a similar experience you had years ago in Zermatt. We really regret your experience at check-in and apologize for any inconveniences caused. We completely understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We always strive to exceed guests’ expectations, sorry for falling short in this instance.

We hope that you will give us a try the next time you are back in Zermatt. Please feel free to contact us directly and we will arrange a stay which is perfect from the beginning.

All the best and hope to see you soon again!

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel exceeded our expectations on every level. The service simply could not have been more courteous and more efficient. The breakfasts were very good, nice selection, and the dinners in the main dining room were outstanding: excellent menu selection, great food, beautiful presentation, friendly and attentive service. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable; we really felt like "guests," rather than simply customers.

Room Tip: The suites are HUGE and very comfortable. Even the ones on the side have a balcony with a great view...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutterlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Many thanks for your kind words about your experience with us. We are more than happy that you have taken along lovely memories of your vacation in the Matterhorn Village.

Alexander Seiler’s maxim “Hospitality by Heart” or “United for the wellbeing of our guests” is also our credo. We are particularly happy that in your case we have succeeded and that you enjoyed your stay at the Mont Cervin Palace.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back some other time and to spoil you again. In the meantime we wish you all the best and a wonderful autumn.

Best regards from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed in the Mont Cervin last summer and in the Petit Cervin this year. Both parts of the Hotel were amazing. The decor is wooden and perfect for the Swiss mountain-town. Movies and entertainment were free as well as wifi. The spa is almost dangerous. It is so nice that it can easily cause you to skip seeing the town of Zermatt while you spend your whole stay in the pool, caldorium, sauna, or one of the many other areas the spa has to offer. Room service is as cheap if not cheaper than restaurants in the town (still expensive), but it is worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for your kind review and for your loyalty. You are a regular guest as we can read from your comment. It is always a great pleasure to welcome back guests. It shows that they feel well taken care of and at home. That’s our endeavour and it is always a big recognition to receive a positive reaction and to know that we succeeded.

We very much look forward to meeting you again soon at the foot of the Matterhorn!

Greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#23 of 111 in Zermatt
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Cervin Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Cervin Palace

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 31, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $366 - $908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mont Cervin Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Hotel in six-story traditionally Swiss building located in village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mont Cervin Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Cervin Palace Zermatt
Mont Cervin Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing