We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Completely Worth It”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed in the Mont Cervin last summer and in the Petit Cervin this year. Both parts of the Hotel were amazing. The decor is wooden and perfect for the Swiss mountain-town. Movies and entertainment were free as well as wifi. The spa is almost dangerous. It is so nice that it can easily cause you to skip seeing the town of Zermatt while you spend your whole stay in the pool, caldorium, sauna, or one of the many other areas the spa has to offer. Room service is as cheap if not cheaper than restaurants in the town (still expensive), but it is worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for your kind review and for your loyalty. You are a regular guest as we can read from your comment. It is always a great pleasure to welcome back guests. It shows that they feel well taken care of and at home. That’s our endeavour and it is always a big recognition to receive a positive reaction and to know that we succeeded.

We very much look forward to meeting you again soon at the foot of the Matterhorn!

Greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    46
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
116
214
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Korea
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights in Le Petit Cervin (the annex building) because Hotel Mont Cervin Palace was under the renovation.
There seemed to be a mistake with room booking upon check-in. We booked a Chalet Open Suite Matterhorn (South-facing balcony or terrace with view of the impressive Matterhorn), but the staff showed us a Chalet Open Suite Classic. We complained to the manager about this and she solved the problem in a few hours. So we were happy.
The location was 5-7 min walk from the station along the main street.
The room made of wood was comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was modern and clean. The breakfast was good. The staffs were very kind. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We hope you arrived home safely and that you can look back on a relaxing stay at the Le Petit Cervin. Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience. In order to continuously improve and develop our services and procedures, we are particularly dependant on the comments of our clients.

We do apologize for any inconveniences caused at your arrival. We completely understand your surprise at check-in as you were assigned another room category than you had booked. Although we succeeded in finding you the room you wished, the beginning of your stay wasn’t very pleasant. We do assure you that this Situation doesn’t occur very often, but sometimes we are also victims of circumstance and system errors. However it shouldn’t happen and we would like to express regret.

Nevertheless, we hope you could enjoy your stay and would be pleased to welcome you back some other time and to spoil you again. In the meantime we wish you all the best and a wonderful summertime!

With best regards from the Matterhorn Village

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Like many other travelers, I booked the petit Cervin almost by accident, and what a fantastic accident!!!!
We were upgraded to a better room, and by the way,it was one of the nicest rooms we'd ever stayed. Everything was done as it should and any time we needed anything, our expectations were surpassed, every single person in the staff worked hard to excel in whatever they were doing.
One important topic (I care a lt about those things): I have always been skeptical about reserving programs/buying things through the hotel because they usually charge more than they should. Not this time!!!!!! I could find cheaper skis elsewhere? Yes, if I tried hard, but I did not feel I overpaid for anything!!!!!
The only two (minor) negatives were that we did not love the hotel restaurant (although it is well known and has a few stars), and the tv system had some issues during our stay.
Also, one must know that zermatt is not ski in- ski out, and the whole process of getting to the pistes can be tiring! But this has nothing to do with the hotel, which I cannot recommend enough. And if you can, choose the petit Cervin instead of mont Cervin, which is also nice, but feels crowded and a bit older.

Room Tip: No need to think about it. Just get any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We are so glad to read about your comments and that you have taken along lovely memories of your stay in the Matterhorn Village. Thank you very much for your positive review, which we will share with the whole team. It is a big gratification for the hard work and it motivates to carry on this way. We also appreciate your remarks concerning the issues with the TV system and do apologize for any inconveniences caused.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back once again at Le Petit Cervin or maybe at Mont Cervin Palace if you would like to give it a try. After extensive renovations, The Mont Cervin Palace will re-open for the winter season on 13.12.12. We look forward to your visit!

In the meantime we wish you all the best and a wonderful autumn.

Best and sunny regards from the mountains.

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

the hotel has a very excellent service, friendly staff and the place is superb, the food is fantastic, and the pool is clean and the service is promt..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We are very grateful for your post in this forum, especially because you stayed with us several months ago and nevertheless still took the time to catch up on writing your kind compliments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back again very soon to spoil you once more.

Until then we wish you a wonderful springtime and all the best.

Warmest regards from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I can simply sum it up with the following: great location, great food, and great service, with an amazing spa! The conference facility is also great, and the service that comes with it, is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edobrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you so much for your nice review. Your comments make us very happy because we take the wellbeing of our guests to heart. It shows that we attained our objective resp. to make your stay exceptional and unforgettable. We will share your compliments with our team, which will motivate them to continue this way.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back at the Mont Cervin Palace and we are already looking forward to it.

Vernal greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We've chosen Mont Cervin Palace for our family vacations with our 11 y.o. daughter at the end of March 2012. Upon arrival the horse carrige drove us to the hotel, very nice experience. We were upgraded to the Suite (we have booked Junior Suite), the room was very large (actually there are 2 separate rooms separated by the door, total about 60-70 sqm). We even had our own fireplace and a very nice jacuzzi in our spacious bathroom.

Some hints about the hotel:
1) if you book the ski gear at the Julen Sport (which is around the corner), you don't need to carry the skis/boots to the hotel ski room, they arrange that as the ski rental is connected to the hotel; you could also pay for the rental as a room charge.
2) Breakfast is very nice and rather big, but if you order pancakes or some kind of poached eggs (omelettes, scramblled eggs and fried eggs are offered) you should pay from 12 Chf/portion.
3) Spa and wellness area is really great, with 2 different pools, indoor and outdoor (available for children as well) and spa area with different kind of saunas, hammam and some extra (for adults only, naked zone).
4) Hotel is located about 150 m (5-7 min walk) from the bus stop on the river. But if you care more about your comfort, not about the budget, the taxi is always waiting for you at the exit from the ski room (12 CHF to any Zermatt ski lift or train station).
5) We have tried Grill Le Cervin restaurant for our dinner (we have chosed BB, not HB basis). and it was impressive, with good grill and steak dishes, but rather pricy (about 350 chf for the dinner for 3 (with 1 child, who is not a great eater). The service is good and friendly, the restaurant is nice and with a kind of casual atmosphere. Recommended. The hotel has "Dine Around" system (if you chose HB) which allows you to choose among different restaurants in the hotel and in Zermatt.

Overall, we all very happy with our stay and wish to come back. Thanks for all the hotel team and especially Karin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superski_Ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We really appreciate your kind annotations about your vacation at the Mont Cervin Palace. Thank you very much for taking your time to describe so nicely the facilities and the service you got during your stay. Our aim to offer an exceptional and thoughtful hospitality seems to have succeeded. We are particularly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and to renew the great experience you had in Zermatt.

Best regards and take care,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I've just returned from LPC from a two week Easter trip with my boyfriend. We had a wonderful stay.

Pluses:
1. The staff at reception and those looking after you in your rooms are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble, they will book any activity you wish (ski passes, heli-skiing, cinema tickets, lunches in the mountain huts etc), they are wonderfully polite and charming and they always have a smile on their face. A real credit to the hotel and I cannot speak highly enough of them.
2. The rooms are brand new (practically) with great ameneties (TV, mini-bar with free soft drinks refilled daily which is a nice touch, wonderful bathroom) and incredibly clean and comfortable.
3. Location - in the event that you want to be in the centre of town, you couldn't be better placed here. Right next door to the cinema, most of the resataurants and the shops. Near the train station and with a ski bus stop at the end of the road.
4. The spa - is amazing: indoor and outdoor heated pools, wonderful spa area with various saunas, steam rooms, showers, plunge pools etc. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is the Mont Cervin Palace's spa, linked by a short underground walkway. Very convenient.
5. "Dine Around" - if you take the half board option, you have the choice of about 13 bars and restaurants to eat with in the resort, including a Japanese, Italian and Thai. The Japanese and Thai were both excellent (we didn't eat in the Italian in the end) and well worth trying. I would certainly recommend this option.

Minuses: there are not many, but I should mention the handful of negatives we encountered:
1. Location if you want to be close to the slopes. The hotel is not ski-in, ski-out (nor does it promise to be). This is perhaps more of a problem with Zermatt as a resort than this hotel in particular. The lifts/trains to get you from the village to the top of the slopes are long... really long. By the time that you have walked to the ski bus stop, waited for the bus, got off the bus at the other end, waited for the train/cable car and gone up the lifts, it may well be an hour (depending on where you are trying to go) between putting on your boots in the boot room and actually skiing. As mentioned, this hotel is near to the train up the mountain and the ski bus so it is one of the better located hotels in the village, but if getting onto the slopes easily is important to you, think very carefully about your location in Zermatt - especially if you're going in Springtime when you want to be going higher up to ski. We are primarily skiers with apres ski coming in very definitely second, so it was a problem for us that it took as long as it did.
2. The ski shop - "Julen sport". I'm not sure if this is the hotel's own ski shop or one that is simply connected to it (it is connected to the hotel bootroom by sliding doors and guests get 10% off) so the criticism may be a little unfair but both my boyfriend and I felt that the service left a lot to be desired. I am a pretty good skier and knew the skis that I wanted. The shop had several pairs available but I had to lobby quite hard to manage to hire a pair, notwithstanding that we were paying for the top band of skis (which included the ones I wanted to hire). THe ski shop assistant seemed to be of the view that I shouldn't be hiring off piste skis at all. Also, the boots that I was given the first time round were pretty lousy. I was a bit fed up with debating the hire kit with the person looking after my boyfriend and I on Day 1 so I simply went with the lousy (ie old, worn out etc) boots and went back to speak to another assistant first thing on Day 2 to exchange. Finally, nearing the end of my trip, my boyfriend wanted to swap his skis for skis like mine and I wanted longer ones to take on a heli-skiing tour. We were disappointed when the assistant initially proposed giving my skis (which had been skied on for the last 10 days and were in dire need of a service) to my boyfriend rather than getting him a pair of newly serviced skiis. All in all, given that we were paying for the top band of skis (which includes the ability to swap between pairs as you wish), we both felt that the assistants were trying to pull the wool over our eyes most of the time.
3. Capri restaurant - this is the (small) restaurant serving hotel guests breakfast each day. The selection of food on offer is good, however, the restaurant is small (cannot be more than around 15 covers) with the result that if there are large groups there, they certainly make their presence felt! The restaurant offers dinner as well and is supposed to be highly rated. I'm afraid that we were not very impressed. The food was ok (but not as good as we had expected - indeed, the food in the usual half-board restaurant we found was better). However, we were disappointed to find that there was a party of 10 in the restaurant with 3 very young and very loud children (this was the case notwithstanding that we sat down at 8:30). We asked the maitre d' if he could speak to them (they were being very disruptive) but he wouldn't. We were a little put out as we were hotel guests and hadn't seen the party before so we assume that they were not. Only at about 10pm when one of the children literally started dancing around the restaurant and singing loudly did the maitre d' accede to our request and have a word with them. We were put off with the experience as would not, I'm afraid, recommend the restaurant to other guests. We had heard another couple complaining about something similar at breakfast earlier in the week so plainly we aren't the only people that felt this way.
4. Finally, a little irksome that the hotel's default half-board restaurant charges £4 per jug of iced (ie tap!) water which we found odd. This is the case even if you are also drinking wine and other soft drinks (which we were).

All in all, I would recommend the hotel very highly - the pluses certainly outweigh the minuses (but there are some minuses which is why I don't think I can give it the full 5 points unfortunately).

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of the Matterhorn. Also - the higher the better, third floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

First and foremost we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback and for taking the time to tell of your experience with us. We are very happy that you felt well taken care of by our team and of course we will pass on your compliments to the whole staff. We also really appreciate and are very grateful for the complaints or inconveniences you mention in your review. We regret the bad service you had at the ski shop. Normally our guests are very satisfied. Nevertheless we can’t wipe the slate clean, but next time we would be very pleased to offer you our services in our own ski shop at Mont Cervin Palace.

We hope to see and to spoil you again someday, maybe next winter. Until then we wish you a wonderful autumn. Take care!

Best regards from sunny Zermatt.

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Cervin Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Cervin Palace

Property: Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 31, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mont Cervin Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Hotel in six-story traditionally Swiss building located in village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mont Cervin Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Cervin Palace Zermatt
Mont Cervin Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing