We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good location, good service, good food, great spa, a bit pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenhof
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good location, good service, good food, great spa, a bit pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

we stayed here in 2007 and again in 2013.

rooms are small. good for 2 people. we had 3 adults. last time we rented 2 rooms. this time we negotiated 3 in 1 room. one person slept on couch. saved us some money, but it's tight for 3.

we added breakfast and dinner for 5 nights but decided to cancel for last 2 nights. food is very good and a great value, but we needed a change of scenery. if you don't mind eating same place every day, get the breakfast and dinner. breakfast is same choices every day. scrambled and hard boiled egg, but no omelet, as well as usual cold cuts, juice, fruits, cereal etc. dinner varies every night. Friday night's dessert spread was very impressive, and choices were more limited other nights, but still good.

We paid $35/person for breakfast and dinner. great value for gourmet meals with soup, salad, appetizer, dinner, and dessert. wine is extra by glass or bottle. zermatt is expensive with steak costing over $60 per plate. generally food is very good. our only complaint was that soup although different every night, was basically the same rich buttery broth with different flavors added on each night. service is excellent. room is made every day and you a get a few pieces of fresh fruits each day. we also got a free bottle of wine on last night there.

hotel is about 10-15 min walk from train station, but the shuttle service can pick you up and drop you off for about 6 francs per person i think. not bad. you keep skis in heated locker.

hotel is 3 min walk from ski shop and 5 min walk to tram that takes you up to mountain, or a shuttle that takes you to gondola that will take you towards italian side.
the spa is large with pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and 2 relaxation rooms. outdoor jacuzzi is not warm enough. steam room is also not very hot. sauna is too hot. pool is good. there is also massage available for a fee, a bit too expensive compared to USA, more than double price.

nice cozy piano bar with a very good piano player / singer that sings in multiple languages, but sounded the best to me in Italian, which i don't speak.

owners are friendly and always there. they speak multiple languages including English, French, German, and probably Italian. Andrea a Bar tender spoke Spanish too.

free wifi was fast enough for us to watch a movie online :)

room furnishing is too gaudy and psychedellic combined. huge ugly wall mounted light fixtures in rooms and restaurant :)

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony. ours didn't. may be ask for one with balcony if not much more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    89
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
94
163
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in early January in a large room with balcony (Matterhorn view from balcony in one direction, street view in the other direction.) The room was big and comfortable but would have seemed even more spacious without the bath in the middle of it. There is a pull-down screen between the bed and the bath. We liked the free wi-fi in the room and the comfy sofa and complimentary fruit every evening. The bed was large and comfortable though the pillows were too soft. The room was quiet at night despite having a view of the street. Staff were helpful and courteous at all times.

Food was really good, with one or two exceptions where the main course was rather ordinary, but generally we enjoyed everything and there's plenty of choice. Some dishes could do with a better translation into English - we came across a few un-translated items and had to ask what they were.

Things we liked: lounge bar with pianist and open fire; pool and hot tub (no naked people while we were there). location - 2 mins walk from Sunegga lift station, 5 mins to main street.

Hotel is popular with families during school holiday weeks (it was a Russian holiday week while we were there) but there's plenty of space in the public areas and it was never too noisy. We would definitely stay again, though we'd choose a different room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinatravlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We just spent a week at this family run hotel. The location to the lifts could not be much better. The owners and staff were very helpful from the moment we walked in the door. They helps us with lift tickets, guides and dinner reservations. The breakfast offered a good selection of breads, fresh juice and assorted meats.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the 5 course meal was top. The rooms are a little crazy, our friends room had a bath tub in the middle of the room and since they were on the first floor had street noise at night.
We had a suite on the 4th floor and enjoyed the size and 2 beautiful bathrooms.
The spa offered great massages and a beautiful large indoor pool. Free WIFi was a plus for keeping in touch back home.
My husband took full advantage of the beautiful smoking room off the bar to enjoy a cigar after a long day on the amazing mountain.
The ski lockers in the basement were very cramped and needed a good cleaning but our boots were always warm in the morning. Climbing up the steep outside stairs was not a good way to start or end a day of skiing.

We would stay with the Alpenhof again!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great hotel, nice location (2 minutes walk to sunegga lift) and very, very friendly staff. Spa was very nice as well.

Restaurant was so good in both service and the quality of food that I didn't even want to eat out.

Definetely a great place to stay at Zermatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkadiy_Kulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Charming decor, spaciuos rooms, comfortable beds, fine complimentary toiletries, elegant dining room, excellent breakfast, pleasant and attentive staff, beautiful views of the Matterhorn, very clean, nice spas indoors and outdoors, complimentary transportation from the train station. I would highly recommend this hotel, it was not lacking anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The restaurant is great and the staff very friendly and attentive. Food is excellent with lots pf choice from the buffet breakfast, dinner is brilliant also, great choice,well presented and very tasty indeed. This hotel has great staff, always willing to help and with a smile. Although we didn't use the spa or pool facilities we had a look and they are excellent. Bedrooms are roomy, cosy and clean although perhaps a little quirky for my taste. The location is spot on, close to the lifts and town centre etc although we had a room on the front and with the raging river outside and below we had to sleep ( on very hot sticky nights) with the balcony door and windows closed. This hotel has just about everything you need for a good holiday, attentive and friendly staff, great food, good facilities and nice clean and spacey bedrooms. If we were to visit Zermatt again we would certainly consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We sadly stayed for one night. We had a nice and cosy room with a view of a a very shy Matterhorn (it didn't show its tip just for a moment!), so we'll have to come back for sure.
The bedroom was very comfortable and nicely done. The bed is a king size, so just perfect. We enjoyed the bathtub in the middle of the room.
The staff is friendly and polite. Very helpful, too.
We were a bit disappointed of the spa as it needed some maintenance work: some saunas didn't work properly. The inside swimming pool is very elegant. We didn't enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi as it was full (a bit small).

Room Tip: 202 with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LidiaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof

Property: Hotel Alpenhof
Address: Matterstrasse 43, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alpenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel Alpenhof lies in the center of Zermatt in a sunny, quiet location. The cable car Sunnegga, which access the ski slopes and hiking area, is directly across from the hotel and the train station and Gornergrat railway are just 5 minutes' walk away. The 5 floor Hotel Alpenhof offers 62 comfortable rooms, most of which have their own balcony. The rooms are equipped with bath/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, Wi-Fi, cable TV, safe and a cozy seating area. Look forward to the naturally lit, Alpenhof SPA area on the first floor. The new, stylishly renovated hotel lobby offers plenty of space to relax and enjoy regional snacks and wine specialties. We pamper our hotel guests every day with a new and freshly prepared 5-course selection menu. A special highlight is the exquisite cheese buffet. Our refined Cigar Lounge, one of a kind in Zermatt, offers fine digestives, smoky whiskys and a solid selection of cigars. Sitting in front of a roaring fire listening to our pianist is the perfect way to end a day's hiking or skiing. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing