We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for some relaxation time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenhof
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for some relaxation time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights. On request they pick you up from the train station and drop you back of there with a little electro bus, which is really convenient. We booked a double room, called fire and ice, which I can highly recommend those who are looking for something a bit different. The room is not that spacios but they made the most out of it. A great mixture between traditional wooden floors and modern style. This type of room has a free standing double bath tub in the middle of the room which I found was is a little highlight. Of course shower and toilet have been spearate with doors so you still have some privacy.

Breakfast offered everything you wanted. Nice start into the day by having a glass of prosecco. The service staff have been really attentive and nice.

The wellness area offers a little indoor swimming pool, several saunas as well as steam rooms and an outdoor jacuzzi. As the weather hasn't been so great while we've been in Zermatt it was lovely to spent some time there.

They also have a little bar offering a wide choice of tasty drinks and a great smoker's lounge where you can get some of the finest cigars.

We definately will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    102
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
194
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Bien situé, très bon accueil, chambre confortable (sans moquette au sol :-)) avec vue sur le cervin!!!, agréable jacuzzi. Buffet petit-déjeuner varié (manque seulement la "Zopf" le dimanche matin ;-)). Seul bémol : chambre trop chauffée la nuit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was on a business trip to Bern Switzerland and I had a chance to spend the weekend in Zermatt. I had wanted to take the Glacier Express train from St Moritz, but the rail strike in Milan disrupted my plans – I ended up spending an extra night in Milan and missing my night in St Moritz and the Glacier Express – I was disappointed, and I will take the Glacier Express someday (hopefully with my wife) – but I ended up with more time than planned in Zermatt. What a beautiful little town! No traffic – little battery powered taxis and buses are the only vehicles allowed. The Matterhorn smiles grandly over the town. Many trails of all difficulty levels start and pass through Zermatt. There are many restaurants, shops, Inns, and theaters ranging from low cost to 5 star.
The Aplenhof Hotel is nicely located right on the river running through town. It is within walking distance from the train station and close to many restaurants and the main shopping area. I was greeted as I walked in by the proprietor, Peter. He gave me a warm welcome and spoke excellent English. The whole staff spoke excellent English and were patient with my attempts to speak a few words of Swiss-German with them. The room was above expectations. It was spotlessly clean, gorgeously appointed, and warm and inviting. My room had a balcony overlooking the small patio area on the ground level. There was a plate of fresh fruit waiting for me which was a pleasant surprise.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was expensive but a good value for the a gourmet experience, with up to 5 courses, depending on how hungry I was. The wine list was extensive – I chose a value priced Swiss wine that I enjoyed. Breakfast was included and was excellent, with eggs and espresso drinks made to order. A glass of Prosecco was also complimentary.
Excellent location, world renowned beautiful alpine setting - hub of hiking and mountain biking in the summer, and snow sports in the winter. All this, and a friendly staff in a well run Inn – this hotel is a treat and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

In short, the room was clean and nice, service was really good and friendly, the food was great (very nice breakfast and lovely creative dinner), the spa was very nice and quiet and location is very convienient. Overall a great week-end, a place to recommend !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aenjels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I cannot understand how this hotel isn't rated more highly. Perhaps those who have stayed here are reluctant to give away details of this superb gem.
The rooms are of the highest quality & full of all mod cons.
The spa area is absolutely gorgeous & sitting in the lovely steaming jacuzzi under the stars will never be forgotten.
The location is excellent with the ski bus stopping right outside.The underground funicular is a 2 minute walk away.
Lift passes can be purchased directly from reception, where they are added onto your room card which gives the advantage of one bit less of plastic to look after.
Food standards are wonderful & the dining room is beautiful.The wines are very expensive for those of us with poor exchange rates, however the nearby supermarket prices were ok.
I do not feel my review does this hotel justice. Suffice to say If i didn't think it was good & worthy of recommendation I wouldn't say so.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysept09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

I travelled to the Alpenhof Hotel in early December with my wife and three year old son. Service was at all times exceptional, particularly as we were travelling with our son. The front desk and service staff were extraordinariliy nice; getting special meals for my son, letting us leave things for the day as we skied, making referrals for day care, making referrals for a good English pub (not sure one exists, really, but they tried) and so on. Herald Tribune waiting for us every day. They even made a special arrangement for us to eat in our room as our son was in jet lag melt down mode and we figured this was best for all involved. Fitness center is very small, but did the job. My son and wife and I had fun in the pool. Note that I did not get this from the website but the spa and whirlpool area are a no-clothing-allowed type area, where you can wear a towel getting around but no bathing suits. This was okay for us, but I did not pick this up from the Website and so I'm mentioning it here so people know. Food at every point was very good to exceptional.

As mentioned elsewhere the decorations are a mish mash, but it all worked for me. The with full board option is quite a deal as the food is very, very good.

The only thing keeping me from a five star rating was that the heat in our room was not adjustable and the room is extremely hot. (I am guessing 76-80F). Apparently in some rooms, the heat is adjustable. On our floor it wasn't, and so we slept with the window open all night, and even though it was about 20F outside, we were still very warm. It's a quiet town with no cars, so the window being open doesn't let in too much noise, but still, it's an unusal thing. In the summers or in mild weather I'm guessing this is not noticeable, but it was an odd thing for us to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJTravele_SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Came here to Zermatt with my girlfriend because we wanted to ensure great glacier skiing in March. We chose the Alpenhof over the Alex (another 4 Star which came recommended) and were not disappointed. Pay close attention to the reviews on food at this hotel because it really was top quality, and they even gave us a discount when we chose to eat out one night of the week so we could try a traditional fondue in the Alps. The spa area is also very good and just to make you feel better has that rare commodity - an outdoor jacuzzi.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank attack68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof

Property: Hotel Alpenhof
Address: Matterstrasse 43, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alpenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel Alpenhof lies in the center of Zermatt in a sunny, quiet location. The cable car Sunnegga, which access the ski slopes and hiking area, is directly across from the hotel and the train station and Gornergrat railway are just 5 minutes' walk away. The 5 floor Hotel Alpenhof offers 62 comfortable rooms, most of which have their own balcony. The rooms are equipped with bath/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, Wi-Fi, cable TV, safe and a cozy seating area. Look forward to the naturally lit, Alpenhof SPA area on the first floor. The new, stylishly renovated hotel lobby offers plenty of space to relax and enjoy regional snacks and wine specialties. We pamper our hotel guests every day with a new and freshly prepared 5-course selection menu. A special highlight is the exquisite cheese buffet. Our refined Cigar Lounge, one of a kind in Zermatt, offers fine digestives, smoky whiskys and a solid selection of cigars. Sitting in front of a roaring fire listening to our pianist is the perfect way to end a day's hiking or skiing. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing