We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We just returned from a one week stay at the Riffelalp Resort. One of the best vacations we have ever been on. My wife and I had never been to Switzerland before, and have always dreamed of skiing in the Alps. We settled on Zermatt as a destination, and found this resort after doing some research. The experience was fantastic. The property was beautiful, isolated, and incredibly relaxing. The views of the Matterhorn were breathtaking, and the nights were so peaceful.

The service at this resort is impeccable, and the amenities were top notch. After a day of skiing it was so nice to be able to use the pool and spa facilities, which were very well maintained and an experience in themselves. The staff always greeted us by name whenever we went down for a meal, and always made us feel welcome. The restaurants on site were wonderful, and we had such a nice experience each and every night we ate there. We are not "foodies" by any stretch, but we appreciate find dining, and the meals were prepared beautifully.

As for location, it was great to be up on the mountain away from everything. Sure it takes a little effort to get down to the town, but given the isolation, scenery, and service, this didn't bother us in the least. It is a five minute walk to the train, and then a 20 minute train ride (beautiful by the way) down to Zermatt. Skiing in and out was so nice. It was so convenient each day, and the skiing was beautiful.

Overall, one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever been on, and I think it's a tribute to the service and the staff that we were made to feel so welcome during our stay. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation.
Adam S.

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the Matterhorn, I think that would make all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 290 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Riffelalp delivers all the charm and magic that it portends in it's ads, however, visitors really need to know what they are getting themselves into. It is really one of the most unique properties I've visited with exceptionally fine service.

I feel compelled, though, to explain to potential visitors that logisitics of staying there.

Please know that the Riffelalp is NOT in Zermatt and getting to the town (which is a fun, lively place) is rather arduous. One big catch is that you CANNOT stay in the town past 1130pm. This may be fine for some - but as a late 30's couple we certainly wanted to experience a couple nights of our vacation going out. We actually stayed in one of the sister hotels one night of the vacation and we were very glad we did because Zermatt is quite a fun little town around midnight. An unfortunate miscommunication with the hotel led us to spend about 500CHF at a sister hotel when we wrongly presumed we could stay down in the town if there was room (I suppose "No problem" does not mean "No charge").

Anyway - the isolation of the hotel may be an appeal to some but, for us, it was a considerable drawback. We also found the food quality really lacking in the hotel - so you did feel somewhat trapped in that regard as well. The 'dine around' plan is somewhat helpful - but the other restaurants tend to have a similar food quality with the exception of the Mount Cervin Palace being slightly higher.

Lastly - the hotel is really not a true 'ski in - ski out' in the sense that you might imagine. There is one run leaving the hotel in the morning (which is always somewhat icy and a certainly challenging for beginners) and getting home in the afternoon requires you to use one run which is narrow, crowded, and uneven. There is always the option of using the train - but it's quite a hike in ski boots.

All of that said - the service is impeccable and the rooms are terrific. The view of the Matterhorn is unsurpassed. We would advocate for this hotel so long as guests (particularly younger ones) understand that it is a very quiet place that is rather isolated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Riffelalp Hotel restaurant which we first visited around twenty years ago is now part of the very much expanded Riffelalp Resort 2222(metres).
We had visited for lunch on several previous occasions over the years.This time we were over from Cervinia for the day.
The view towards the Matterhorn from a table on the terrace is a fantastic setting for a blow out ski lunch.The quality of the food and the service is fantastic.The three of us each had one of the lunchtime specials-effectively a tasting menu of five different dishes on the one large plate-at 43 Swiss francs mine was not cheap but worth every cent and the bottle of the hotel's own labelled Fendant wine accompanied it perfectly.
One day when I win the Lottery we'll actually stay in the hotel!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dunvegan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

What a place to stay...on top of the mountain, ski in ski out, unspoiled view of Matterhorn.
Rooms are romantic, fully equipped and very, very comfortable. Excellent restaurants and staffing. You really feel at home here.
Service is written with a capital S. We could not have wanted more. The pool area is a great place, the outside pool has direct view on Matterhorn. Everything is taken care of, so you can focus on relaxing in a very luxury atmosphere. Are there no cons? Well if you have to find one, its the price! Nevertheless we found the hotel worth every franc paid!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is not just the best hotel in the Alps, this is a world class hotel in a spectacular location which allows you to totally relax in silence and solitude half way up the mountain. Everything has been thought through beautifully; comfort and attention to detail are of paramount importance. One senses that all the staff have attended Swiss hotel school where they still know how to do things properly. Having said that, the service is not at all stuffy, it is friendly and carried out with warmth and helpfulness.
The bedrooms are every bit as luxurious and comfortable as one would expect for a hotel of this standard. Large and airy, they are decorated in traditional chalet style with well appointed bathrooms (seperate loo), and sunny balconies.
The main restaurant (Alexandre) is the most formal of the three restaurants, serving international cuisine worthy of at least one Michelin star. What I really like about it is that despite the slightly formal decor, there is a nice relaxed atmosphere; no dress code, no obligation to dress up. The hotel is frequented by the sort of people who simply know how to behave regardless of what they are wearing and don't need to be told how to dress! The maitre d' (Alcindo) is the best I have ever encountered.
The Wellness Centre is the best outside of a dedicated spa - and even then it would be a close run thing. Lieing on an under water massage bed in an outdoor heated pool with a view of the Matterhorn and the sound of skiers swishing by on the nearby piste. Heaven!
And all of that without mentioning the skiing. Of course Zermatt is a renowned resort with extensive skiing and this is genuinely a ski in/ski out hotel. There is a branch of a local ski shop within the hotel and they will look after your every need. Your skis and boots are stored without ever having to walk more than about ten paces with your ski boots on. Heaven again!
We've been coming here for over 25 years and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the Matterhorn and the rooms at the front of the hotel offer the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBB1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned (February 2012) from 8 days of skiing at Zermatt and 9 nights at the Riffelalp Resort. We are experienced skiers and have skied extensively in Europe and North America. As a skiing destination Zermatt is a mixed bag, the scenery is stunning, it is without a doubt the most beautiful place I have skied. However, the skiing is only average, don’t be taken in by the impressive vertical drop statistics, it is not truly usable, there are very few top to bottom runs that take advantage of the vertical and most of the top to bottom runs end in very long flat run out requiring extensive skating and polling, the extensive flats extend to the mountain proper also, many of the red runs have short steep descents combined with long flat spots again requiring polling. That being said, the hotel is great, is truly ski in and only a short walk out to the run, 100 feet, (too flat to ski out). The food in all three restaurants is very good, on par with many Michelin one star restaurants we have dined in. The rooms are enormous, by European ski resort standards, and impeccably kept. All levels of service are flawless from the ski room to the front desk to the restaurant service. We did not have one service related issue in our entire stay, actually, we had no issues at all during our stay, something I honestly can’t remember saying about anyplace else that I have stayed for that period of time. We normally do not do half-board options so we were very nervous to commit to just one hotel for our meals for the entire trip. Therefore, one of the reasons we chose the Riffelalp Resort was the “Dine Around” option. We went down to the town about three days in to our stay for a meal at the Mont Cervin Palace which was part of the “Dine Around”. The Mont Cervin Palace is supposedly one of the best restaurants in Zermatt, though it was good, it was by no means any better than the food at the Riffelalp and getting to and from town is a pain in the rear, so if you stay at the Riffelalp don’t bother going down for dinner, it is not worth the hassle. Finally, you can’t overlook the Wellness Center, again, I have never seen anything like it at a ski resort, it is everything and more that brochure claims it to be. I highly recommend staying at the Riffelalp Resort it is the best experience that we have had at any ski area and I can’t think of a hotel outside of a ski are that surpassed it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_Taylor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

From the moment the Portier picked us up at the Zermatt train station and organized the transfer of our luggage to the little old train up the mountain, to the super friendly staff at the hotel desk (Roland!), to the friendly chamber maids and the staff at the restaurants: we felt treated like old, valued friends all along. Due to a little incident, we had to cut our vacation short - and everybody at Riffelalp was helpful in re-organizing and making sure, we were provided with the help we needed (they only charged us for the nights we actually stayed). I have seen quite a few great hotels before, but the service at Riffelalp is truly unique! The prices are not cheap, but worth every Franken!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
502 reviews
1.4 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
688 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#29 of 110 in Zermatt
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#48 of 110 in Zermatt
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riffelalp Resort 2222 m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riffelalp Resort 2222 m

Address: Hotel Riffelalp, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $415 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riffelalp Resort 2222 m 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riffelalp Resort 2222 m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riffelalp Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing