We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Journey to the Center of the Earth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matterhorn Glacier Paradise

Matterhorn Glacier Paradise
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Glittering ice crystals and shimmering ice sculptures cast their spell over visitors to the glacier palace. A lift takes you 15 metres below the surface to a fairytale palace in the heart of the eternal ice. For small and big explorers alike.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Journey to the Center of the Earth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If Jules Vern's book froze over, I'm pretty sure this is where it would be. This was GREAT! Very cool (literally) being inside a glacier. There is a small slide for kids (and adults (: ) that is all completely made out of ice. This is definitely part of the Matterhorn experience! Only negative comment would be the price. One hundred swiss franks to catch the lift up (glacier paradise included) and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    210
    60
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Place to see Matterhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the closest you can get to Matterhorn, Non stop cable ride from Zermatt. Has a very good restaurant at the top & a beautifully done snow castle on the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTE VEDRA BEACH
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Ride up to Schwarzee is just fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

To save some time & money we just rode up part way to Schwarzee but this is still an excellent excursion with great views of Zermatt and the Matterhorn. It's not as pricey as the full ride up. The is probably the best & longets cable car ride in Zermatt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CactusBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very high”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was our second time in Zermatt but with different people who had never seen the Matterhorn so we decided to spend 1st August (Swiss National Day) there. The campsite we were staying at, offered us tickets for the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise at Frs 80 instead of Frs 99 so we bought them. It was recommended that we bought Junior Pass for the children as it's cheaper than the normal children tickets you can get (30.- against 49.50).
It was a great experience and we all enjoyed it very much. The cable car goes very very high but the view is amazing. Once at the very top, it's rather cold so take some extra clothes to put on.
The glacier palace is even colder obviously but really worth a visit.
You can choose to get on or off at various places the cable car stops at and go for a walk or a drink at the restaurant. Regardless of what you do, the view is so beautiful and being so close to the Matterhorn is amazing.
The festivities start mid-afternoon with music being played and food and drinks being served on the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wow - Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We did this cable car trip in July but there was still lots of snow up in these majestic mountains. We loved the ride and the magnificent views. We really enjoyed the Ice Palace which has been carved into the glacier. It was fascinating to see the crystals from which the ice is formed. The carvings are really lovely and quite something to see. We went as a couple but were both sliding down the ice slide and taking pictures of each other coming out the other end - it had to be done and was great fun!! Although we were amongst snow and ice the weather was warm and we only needed summer clothing. It was beautifully sunny and bright and outside we needed our sunglasses with the brightness of the sun off the snow. We did not experience any negative feelings due to the altitude whatsoever. We would certainly recommend this trip - it is something quite wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PFNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Glacier Paradise also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing