We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Ride up to Schwarzee is just fine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Glacier Paradise

Matterhorn Glacier Paradise
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Glittering ice crystals and shimmering ice sculptures cast their spell over visitors to the glacier palace. A lift takes you 15 metres below the surface to a fairytale palace in the heart of the eternal ice. For small and big explorers alike.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
PONTE VEDRA BEACH
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Ride up to Schwarzee is just fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

To save some time & money we just rode up part way to Schwarzee but this is still an excellent excursion with great views of Zermatt and the Matterhorn. It's not as pricey as the full ride up. The is probably the best & longets cable car ride in Zermatt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CactusBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    200
    57
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was our second time in Zermatt but with different people who had never seen the Matterhorn so we decided to spend 1st August (Swiss National Day) there. The campsite we were staying at, offered us tickets for the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise at Frs 80 instead of Frs 99 so we bought them. It was recommended that we bought Junior Pass for the children as it's cheaper than the normal children tickets you can get (30.- against 49.50).
It was a great experience and we all enjoyed it very much. The cable car goes very very high but the view is amazing. Once at the very top, it's rather cold so take some extra clothes to put on.
The glacier palace is even colder obviously but really worth a visit.
You can choose to get on or off at various places the cable car stops at and go for a walk or a drink at the restaurant. Regardless of what you do, the view is so beautiful and being so close to the Matterhorn is amazing.
The festivities start mid-afternoon with music being played and food and drinks being served on the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wow - Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We did this cable car trip in July but there was still lots of snow up in these majestic mountains. We loved the ride and the magnificent views. We really enjoyed the Ice Palace which has been carved into the glacier. It was fascinating to see the crystals from which the ice is formed. The carvings are really lovely and quite something to see. We went as a couple but were both sliding down the ice slide and taking pictures of each other coming out the other end - it had to be done and was great fun!! Although we were amongst snow and ice the weather was warm and we only needed summer clothing. It was beautifully sunny and bright and outside we needed our sunglasses with the brightness of the sun off the snow. We did not experience any negative feelings due to the altitude whatsoever. We would certainly recommend this trip - it is something quite wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PFNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow - loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the most memorable and amazing excursion we did on our trip to zermatt - the trip up in the cable cars along was fabulous but the view from the top (couldnt stop saying wow) - it really is breath-taking. And then to go into a glacier, what a bonus. The number one thing everyone should do when in zermatt.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ditzylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
203 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Also Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice , clear and clean snow all over with great views and you keep and keep looking at it for hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Glacier Paradise also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing