We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming hotel with great service ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've stayed at the Metropol many times over the past 10+ years, summer and winter, and have always enjoyed our stay and been well very looked after by Mr & Mrs Taugwalder and their staff.

The hotel is pretty central and only about a 5 minute walk from the station but taxi collection can be arranged if preferred and is useful in snowy conditions.

The rooms are all pretty spacious with nice modern bathrooms and are exceptionally clean. Breakfast is generous continental style though cooked options are available too. We've never had an evening meal in the hotel as the village has a great variety of places to eat - all within a 5 - 10 minute stroll.

For skiers, the Sunnegga funicular is about 5 mins away and its even less of a walk to the ski bus stop to reach the other ski areas.

The wellness centre is wonderful and has a sauna, jacuzzi, solarium, small gym and a great pool with Matterhorn views. In summer, the lawned garden has relaxing sun beds for use free of charge.

Room Tip: Book a Matterhorn view if you can to truly enjoy the magnificent sunrises and catch the sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am surprised that this hotel is rated #42. Having been to Zermatt several times, once we found this hotel, we were set for all future visits. Service was excellent, the food service as good an any we have found in Zermatt and, the health spa is second to none. Very personal service, beautiful rooms (5 star) and many with 5 star views of the Matterhorn. Be there in August and back late Fall.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Matterhorn are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCW5908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

the specialty of this hotel is its service and i has a spa and a hot water swimming pool in the basement and it has its van service to pick you u up from the railway station and the spa and hot water pool in open all day in times of turbulent weather ( snow fall ) you should visit the matterhorn glacier its wonderful but dont forget your warm clothes

Room Tip: it is a travelers paradise for the ones who love snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pragyagadhaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here with my parents for 4 nights, we each got a bed (they moved an extra twin in). The half-board was an extra charge - but we found it provided great value and was very convenient, so had it every day we were there. Location was great. Walking distance to one of the lifts and about a 5 minute walk to the center of town. We got in late (and left very early) so had to arrange our own taxi service (the hotel's service is only available during business hours). The facilities are very clean and well maintained. Great pool, solarium, sauna, etc. Great views of the Matterhorn.
They paid great attention to us - the owner was there every day and served us each breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: One side has a view of the Matterhorn. It costs more but we thought it was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJ425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 young boys in 1 room with perfect view to the Matterhorn. Location was fantastic, food was excellent, hospitality great. Will go back in winter for skiing. Recommend for anyone, great for families.

Room Tip: Best views of Matterhorn anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very much like home, nothing luxurious, but with very relaxing spirit about the hotel. The rooms to the south side have magnificent view! There are also some spa facilities including a swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and relaxation area.
I had a very good room with a balcony and a breathtaking view to the Matterhorn. I could have spent the whole day just enjoying the weather and the view.
The Wi-fi is free and high-speed.
Every evening there was some theme for dinner, like food from Wallis or an Italian buffet.
I would recommend the hotel to those who look for a good price for a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letyshchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Centrally located in Zermatt, with a spectacular view of the Matterhorn, a great restaurant, a world-class spa and super friendly service. The rooms are clean and comfortable with some wonderful views of the Matterhorn. Quiet and relaxing setting. I have stayed at the Metropol several times before and visited after the lovely renovation. The adjoining Alfa Hotel is also very welcoming.

Room Tip: The owners are gracious and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfodru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christiania Mountain & Spa
Christiania Mountain & Spa
#35 of 111 in Zermatt
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#51 of 111 in Zermatt
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#17 of 111 in Zermatt
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt

Address: Matterstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $211 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays in Zermatt while the Matterhorn keeps watching Welcome to our 4-star family Hotel Metropol & Spa in the heart of Zermatt! Experience genuine hospitality and a cosy atmosphere - we promise to make you feel at home. Enjoy our beautiful spa area with sauna, steam bath, jacuzzi and swimming pool with a unique view of the Matterhorn. The free wi-fi throughout the Hotel makes your holiday perfect. We look forward to your visit! Yours Franziska and Gabriel Taugwalder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing