We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Sweet little hotel with a great location. Walking distance from everything. Great to relax in the jacuzzi after being out all day in the freezing cold. A short scenic walk to main street, packed with good and expensive restaurants. Zermatt is beyond amazing, but bring a fat wallet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBabeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    34
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
38
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

A mid range hotel in Zermatt with a very friendly atmosphere. What sets this hotel aside is that it is really well located for the Center of town and for both the Sunnegga and Gornergrat ski lifts. A free electric bus stop is also just outside. In addition, it has a beautiful spa area with a view over the Matterhorn!
This combination of central location and spa facility is difficult to find in the center of Zerematt unless you want to pay a lot more and stay at one of the big name hotels.
The rooms are unremarkable, but again have excellent views. I would recommend staying on a Bed and Breakfast basis, enjoy the excellent breakfast, ski all day, get down to the spa around 1830 (when most of the guests have gone) then make use of the central locaton by sampling the excellent restaurants which are plentiful in Zermatt. Bliss!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My sister and I shared a room here in September and were quite impressed! Highly recommend a room facing the mountain - so you can wake up with the Matterhorn in your face! The patio looks out across the village and to the mountain - a million dollar view for sure. We enjoyed the free breakfast buffet (make sure and ask for the eggs cooked to order- they don't tell you this is available, but it is, and for free) and we REALLY enjoyed the spa area. When you read about indoor pools you might be worried about small chlorine smelling pool areas that are hot and yucky - forget that! This indoor pool is the BOMB - swim while taking in the village and the mountains - then go for a steam in the super powerful steam room, or take a dry sauna if thats your thing. Top it off with a soak in the hot tub - which is - along with the pool - so clean and refreshing. We also got massages (thru the hotel front desk) mine was a deep tissue and really hit the spot - all thanks to the sweet receptionist who arranged it for us. Friendly and accommodating, we'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You must face the mountain, you simply MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our family stayed at the Metropol for a weekend break from Geneva. As one does not drive to Zermatt, the hotel offers to pick you up from the station in their little electric car for a small fee. We had rooms 1 and 2 which created a sort of privately linked suite at one side of the hotel. The master bedroom had a terrace overlooking the Matterhorn, with comfy furniture for sunbathing and a table for eating or playing cards. The hotel staff were truly exceptional people, making one feel honoured to be a guest in their family hotel. The swimming pool is indoor, so no matter the weather one can always do some laps in a pristine environment. I was feeling like the luckiest person in the world swimming and looking up at the Matterhorn's majestic peak. Nice sauna, too! Wonderful choices at breakfast, with the chef wiling to make eggs to your order in a bright and attractive dining room. The hotel was a short five minute walk to the pedestrian shopping street. Definitely go to the Matterhorn museum, very interesting. I will definitely go back to the Metropol. Really a great find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

Mathahorn can be seen from bedroom, dinning room and as well as swimming from the spa pool . Location is very close to the downtown walking street .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RambhaThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Our room had a magnificant view of the Matterhorn, and although modern and not overly characterful in decor, it was very clean and the facilities were good. The spa was relaxing with huge windows so you can look out over the village and mountains.

The location is outside the centre of the village so away from the hustle and bustle and tourist hot spots. Contrary to other reviews, we thought breakfast was very generous and tasty with hot meals provided on request. Dinner was also very good and we were offered seconds and even thirds!

The staff were delightful - so friendly and courteous and cheerful. I would really recommend this hotel for a pleasant and comfortable stay. It's not fancy but it has a very warm and cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Nice hotel, very friendly, has a good spa, not really anything negative, tip - call them and they will pick you up on their electric buggy from the station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MATTLL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#43 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt

Property: Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
Address: Matterstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays in Zermatt while the Matterhorn keeps watching Welcome to our 4-star family Hotel Metropol & Spa in the heart of Zermatt! Experience genuine hospitality and a cosy atmosphere - we promise to make you feel at home. Enjoy our beautiful spa area with sauna, steam bath, jacuzzi and swimming pool with a unique view of the Matterhorn. The free wi-fi throughout the Hotel makes your holiday perfect. We look forward to your visit! Yours Franziska and Gabriel Taugwalder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing