We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent 3 nights at this fantastic hotel. Rooms very large and beautiful, spa facilities, including steam room and sauna, fantastic. All the personnel were helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was good, the only recommendation would be to have the tables further apart.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TennisbumArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 643 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for a week leading up to Easter 2014. The hotel is in an excellent location 3 minutes walk along the main road, to the main town centre and within very easy walking distance in ski boots with kit to the Gonergrat train station. On arrival to Zermatt train station from Taesh (where we parked our car in the underground car park at the Bahnhof) a quick call to the hotel secured our free transfer from the station to the hotel. Arriving at a traditional chalet style hotel we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. We were housed in room 1. Advertised as a triple room, we had a very large if not slightly dated Suite with a Kingsized(?) bed and large sofa with coffee table in the sitting area. A really large balcony with seating and a good view. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very modern with a bath, shower large sink and separate toilet and sink. Being a triple room our daughter had a separate bedroom within the suite with a large single bed. We were delighted with the accommodation. We had breakfast every morning. A buffet style with everything you would want. We never ate dinner in the hotel so cannot comment but the dining room was lovely. Compared to the prices of restaurants in the town, it was roughly the same and we wished we had tried the chateaubriand. There are 2 spa and pool areas in the hotel. The first is in the main hotel building at the -1 level. This had a sauna, steam room, some other treatment rooms which we didn't use, a jacuzzi (very hot!) and a good sized but quite chilly and deep (for our 6 year old) swimming pool. Some loungers to relax and read on and iced fruit juice. The other spa area is located under the hotel's other building. It has a really lovely steam room and sauna, lots of loungers and a warm, shallower salt water pool that has bars around which felt safer for our daughter. It was empty most of the day so we had it to ourselves when we got back after skiing in the afternoons. The staff on reception were always available to answer questions that we had about the hotel, the local area or the skiing and were really friendly. Particular mention of Martina who was a great help on several occasions. Whilst not the best ski domain for our kamikaze 6 year old skier, probably the best skiing accommodation we have ever had, and we would love to return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank cosmos328is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked this hotel from a travel website a week before our last-minute trip to Zermatt during peak ski season. This was the only hotel available so we took it. When we arrived, the reception immediately informed us that the travel website made a mistake and should not have allowed the room to be booked for 4 people (2 adults, 2 kids) because it would not fit an extra bed. Even though it was the travel website's fault, they offered us some options and even showed us the specific room; either 2 regular rooms without a view or a bigger room but no view. We picked a higher floor room with matterhorn view that would fit extra bed. A slightly smaller room for 2 nights wasn't a problem for us; if it was 1 week it would be a problem. Reception was apologetic and very courteous. Room wasn't available yet but we were allowed to leave our things so we could ski. We got a room on the 4th floor of the main building where the receiption is. The room was clean, bathroom looked renovated. Breakfast was adequate. We ate around 8am and it was not crowded. I've had better hotel breakfasts with more hot food selection but it was fine. Ski locker room was ok, no need to lock skis but you get keys if you wish to. We used the pool close to the ski locker building. It had a jacuzzi but on our first day, there were hotel guests in the jacuzzi who were there for about 30minutes. I think at peak times, guests should be courteous of other people waiting to use the jacuzzi. Perhaps the hotel can put a sign by the jacuzzi. Pool was big and warm enough. We did not do the half-board and glad we didn't because I did not like the menu. Dinner options ala-carte seemed limited so we ate dinner out both nights at Zermatt. We also made use of the play area which had badminton, foosball and table tennis. The service, play area and the pool are probably the reasons why we would consider coming back to this hotel. The location is not very close to the banhof. With skis and/or luggage in the winter it would be hard to walk especially with kids. Without luggage it is no problem to walk to banhof and to other areas of town. Although we did walk to Gornergrat station - 10 minutes with skis slow uphill seems a long walk. But we didn't not walk to Sunnegga and took a taxi, I think it would be a 10 minute walk as well. Perhaps the hotel can offer a lift to the ski stations or a discounted rate than the taxi. That would be convenient and would make me consider staying at this hotel again even if its not very close to ski stations. Service at reception is excellent. I thought I lost my eyeglasses and they were helpful in trying to find it. For convenience to breakfast, reception, pool and play area, I suggest getting a room in the main building. The only reason I would not give this an excellent rating is the location. There are many hotels closer to the main part of town or the banhof with comparable price/rating. It is not the most convenient hotel if your main purpose in Zermatt is to ski and you have to carry the skis to either Sunnegga or Gornergrat stations. But if you don't mind the walk or taking a taxi with the skis then I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get room on main building where the reception is. Of course, get a room with Matterhorn view. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nella15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel with great staff, bit of a walk from village Central but is good if you like quite location. Good pool and sauna but steam room was out of order..close to all skiing lifts and train station. Good breakfast but runs out quick. Wifi is free and of good coverage / speed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sam_77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked with Crystal (part of the Thompson empire) paid £2700 for half board in the Best Western, Alpen Resort Hotel - Zermatt.

Marked as a four star plus by Crystal (Thompson) flew out and back with Thompson and again was a little cheesed off with the constant hectoring by the cabin staff, who tried to sell everything, including scratch cards!! then begged for coins for THEIR charities.. many many long winded announcements. All aimed at the complete imbecile.

We had the same female senior stewardess as our last trip with them at Christmas, plump, mature and a bit daft. Her time checks were hopeless on both holidays, at Christmas she made me laugh, the time now is 7 degrees! on landing back in Newcastle. This time, her time check was 4 minutes out. What I want to know is, why not just shut up? every one on the plane can tell the time and an incorrect time check is of no benefit. After the compulsory safety brief the rest of the long speeches are vanity or worse commercials to flog something. Silence is golden.
We are not cash cows trapped on a plane! or are we?

The hotel.

The positive points, great staff, I mean really great. Helpful and fun. You could not get the feeling you were ignored here, very friendly. 10 out of 10.

Not so positive.

Its the word "resort" in Alpen Resort

In reality its used to cover up the fact the hotel is split into annexes. You have the main block where dinner is served and a rather tiny bar area next to reception. Blocks A B & C not sure if there is a D? are spread out near by. Which means we hiked 120 yards outside for supper each evening , which meant you had to get dressed in clothes suitable for minus 5 degrees before setting off. The word resort can have several meanings, but its not a holiday resort in the sense of a Caribbean Holiday Resort with lots to do and lots happening. Its just a few dorms. The blocks or dorms are fine enough, if not a little on the small side in the rooms. Oddly these rooms are equipped with a galley kitchens, although why you would want one I am not sure, these could be a legacy from a previous life as self catering blocks.

You take breakfast downstairs in your block. I have to say this was the highlight of the hotel. Another 10 out of 10.

You could have anything, I made a bucks fizz every morning, free sparkling wine and juices galore. Boiled eggs 3 or 6 mins, cold hams and cheeses, wonderful breads, and around the corner excellent scrambled eggs with stringy bacon. Jams, fruits and teas, a real full on treat. The house maid was rotund and jolly spoke no english but it made no difference it was self service and she was great.

Not so great were the bloody cleaners. One quick knock and they came straight into your room, ready or not. naked or not. This happened 3 times. Then we had a late start one morning and we felt hassled as they wanted to get on and we were holding them up, it was only 10 am! Same the next day so we placed the do not disturb notice on the door knob, which did the trick. 2 out of 10.

To say this is a four star "plus" hotel as per the brochure, leaving aside the word "Resort" is stretching it. This is a three star place and NO MORE. Don't take my word for it, just visit the Alpen Hoff, a proper 4 star in the village round the corner. The difference is chalk and cheese. Would I recommend this hotel, NO. Its not as described. 2 out of 10.

Thompson quite obviously nailed the guys to the floor on price. We were booked in half board. The dining room is segregated, half board guest and the payers. Each meal, in effect being 5 courses. Every meal started with a salad, then soup. (how many salads do you want in the depths of winter?) The main course, different every night, so too the dessert. A small piece of veal, beaf or cheese took care of three days mains. The cheese was staggering, it was meant to be a traditional Swiss dish, in fact it was a side plate with melted cheese over half the surface (aka microwave bachelor food) and half a boiled potato and half an onion. This was the main course. Mass catering on a budget. 2 out of 10

But what made each evening, were the staff truly great people. 10 out of 10.

Best Western are a small group with a few hotels in the UK to which I have enjoyed staying, they seem to buy run down places and try to improve them, its a well run group I believe, I can understand the motive for upping the star rating, but it backfires by failing to deliver that certain standard. I will be staying in the proper four star as mentioned next time. The hotel location is not great, you are next to a cash and carry, a kids crèche and other industrial places, and nowhere near a ski lift. I never discovered what was making the loud noise like a helicopter between 3 and 5 am each day. It could have been deliveries to the said cash and carry, or the rail line near by, I never found out, but it was loud enough to be disturbing inside the room each morning.

These problems did not put us off having a great ski trip, Zermatt, my absolute favourite mountain ski village 10 out of 10 again, having the benefit of high altitude (5200 feet in the village) and a super high ski area, unto 12,300 feet, so plenty of snow which really melts away.

Small things not mentioned in the brochure which would help, get yourself equipped with a 5 Swiss Franc coin and a 2 Franc coin. You need these for the trollies, one at the airport, one at the train station, otherwise you are carrying all your gear, and skiing makes that quite a lot of stuff to carry. Plus there is a 5 Franc deposit on the ski card to be paid, which is refunded when you hand them back in at the end, in any one of the bottom ski stations.

I do hope this is of help to others

Room Tip: choose another hotel, the word resort is misleading its a groups of buildings or blocks not joined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed in a family room with Matterhorn view. The price was much better than other hotels with similar rating. My initial concerns with the hotel location versus accessing ski areas was unfounded. The Gonergrat train up the mountain is within easy walking distance with skis - we often took it down at end of day to avoid walking/bus/taxi. The Sunegga funicular is also within walkable distance. The Matterhorn Express gondolas aren't within walking distance but the hotel provides free taxi vouchers for that and will call taxi. The service was excellent - special mention for Martyna K. who was always smiling. Room was modern, clean and spacious with 3 beds on main level and 2 on mezzanine. Buffet breakfast is great but probably great at all Zermatt Hotels. Kids loved the warm saltwater pool. Nice sauna and steam-room. Jacuzzi was not warm enough but often the case. Supermarket conveniently located next door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is our second stay at Best Western Alpen Resort. The hostess Inga again made us feel like home. We had booked two rooms since grandma came with us. One of the room has a separate bedroom so our 11-year-old has her own privacy. Our 4-year old stayed in the same room but there is a pullout couch he can use. The other room is huge too. Both rooms are very cleanly kept and nice beddings. Both rooms have a great views. Our children love the hotel -- the breakfast (freshly baked bread, fruits, yogurt, soft-boiled eggs) and the dinner. Before the dinner, they spent time at the pool (quite large) and at the playroom (foosball, pingpong and indoor volleyball). They call the play room the negative 2 floor! We have friends come visiting us and the children would disappear and play various games (hide and seek) in the negative two floor. This is a great family hotel and I would highly recommend it. The only regret we had is that we did not book ski school earlier enough. The ski school we ended up with, Alpine Swiss School, is not well run and our 4-year-old ended up napping three days in a roll during the lesson and was not paid attend to. Next time, we will come early and be prepared -- we would love to stay in Best Western Alpen resort again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building right above the dinner room. Our rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#62 of 110 in Zermatt
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $199 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing