We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I thank management and all employees of hotel Alpen Resort Hotel for perfectly organized service.
Comfortable and cozy rooms, magnificent kitchen, the affable and friendly personnel delivered true pleasure during stay to territories of this beautiful hotel.

Thanks.

Room Tip: I recommend a two-level room in the second case the case which is located on the top floor, under a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    196
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
224
169
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in five different hotels across Switzerland and this was easily the worst. It does not deserve its four star rating at all.
We were greeted by several stuffed marmosettes, which I found very unpleasant. The woman at the desk was rude and disinterested; in fact I found the hospitality throughout to be the worst I've ever experienced. We were given a twin room when I had booked a double, and when I brought this up with said hotel staff, we were informed that this was what we had asked for and bluntly informed that we had not paid enough for anything better.

Our room was dirty and there was a spider in the bath. On the wall was a hideous piece of "art" which was a blood red mess with the German word for "God" scrawled across the middle. The wifi signal was awful and they might as well not have bothered offering us the service, certainly not "high speed" as was advertised. Our room was on the ground floor and this could not be changed even though it made me very uncomfortable. The "garden" was a very small patio, barely large enough for a chair, with a patch of unweeded grass overlooked by a tennis court and some other people's rooms. If you stepped right out (over the stray plank of wood) onto the weeds you could see the Matterhorn and I found this to be VERY misleading of the advertisements from the hotel, "our rooms have panoramic views of the Matterhorn".

The positives were the breakfast, the spa facilities with a clean and pleasant pool and jacuzzi with almost all the jets working.

I found the whole thing to be a nightmare and I wished I'd stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Spend lots of money for the better rooms, or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Best Western Alpen resort last year in September and it was clean, the staff were kind, friendly and very helpful. A perfect location in the heart of Zermatt, about a 4 minute walk to the train station and the village itself. I loved the food and its facilities, I would reccomend this hotel to families and couples. GREAT HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corey_t424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

My first stay in this wonderful hotel! Food was outstanding, I'm a vegetarian and the staff went above and beyond to cater for this. We were lucky enough to be staying in one of the newly refurbished rooms which was beautifully decorated and spotless. The swimming and sauna facilities were lovely, and greatly appreciated after a days skiing! Staff were friendly and attentive, nothing was too much to ask from them. The manager Inge was delightful, always taking the time to speak to guests at dinner. Altogether a superb hotel with a homely atmosphere, which is unusual in such a large hotel. I would definately return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our 3rd stay at this excellent hotel. Staff are always friendly and very attentive, food is varied, plentiful and of a high standard and our large refurbished room was spotlessly clean. Add a large swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and steamroom and you have the perfect hotel for a ski holiday. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Excellent hotel in the centre of Zermatt. The chief-cock's menus are outstanding ! We were staying in the main house in a family room on the 2nd floor and 2 times the music was too loud late at night. When having children is not that pleasant. That was the only negative point. For the rest, this hotel is having all the comfort (sauna, 2 pools, fitness, ...) and the crowd is very kind and helpful. We will come back !!

Room Tip: Rooms in the second house are more quiet full for sleeping when the music is playing late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vandevelde J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was our third time in Alpen Resort. We love Zermatt.
It's a nice hotel with a warm welcome. Hotelowner Inge is very friendly en genuallly interested in the wellbeing off her guests. Big room and the food was very good.
Price/Quality, this is a very fine hotel. Maybe it needs in the future a modern touch but the sons are finding their way in and will certainly make the necessary adjustments.
We certainly will be back at Alpen Resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Address: Spisstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing