We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cozy atmosphere and super good dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walliserstube Zermatt

Walliserstube Zermatt
Ranked #2 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Complimentary taxi service to the restaurant (one way).
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Cozy atmosphere and super good dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Super cozy restaurant with incredibly good dishes especially fish and shellfish. Good fondue and amazing grappa trolley :)

The staff is very nice and helpful. Cozy atmosphere in the beautiful alpine village of Zermatt.

Will definitely return to Walliserstube next time I'm in Zermatt!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EbbaGustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    96
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a very old restaurant with nice decor. The food was excellent as was the service. The local beer and wine were very good. Our waitress spoke fluent English. The starter dish of their own marinated Scottish salmon was very generous and it was very tasty. The lamb dinner special was some of the best lamb that I have ever had. Chocolate fondue for dessert was excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCBNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but we were unlucky with the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food was very good, the location is central downtown. I had an amazing Steak Tartare, prepared in front of me with the ingredients I chose.
The downside was that we were the only ones having dinner outside, so we were left waiting a lot between dishes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank htsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Kindly chief”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Fantastic!. This is the best restaurant for me especially in Zermatt. Traditional decoration, kindly waiter& waitress. The most of foods are delicious. The chief of this place is the nicest person I have ever met. He can make the delicious food and make the western food in Thai style. The special spicy sauce which he made in thai style call "Nam Jim Jaew" was really great!. I suggested that every travelers should go to here and taste all recommended foods. You'll have a really good experence I promise!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duangnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is my first time to go to Zermatt. This restaurant have good taste food and good service. Thank you about Thai food that you cook for us. I will come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSaranya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walliserstube Zermatt also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Walliserstube Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing