We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could live here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I wasn't expecting a lot from this hotel, as it was the only 'chain' hotel we'd booked on a 2 week trip to Europe. On arrival I was extremely surprised not only at the central location of this property but the beautiful appearance of it and how unique and homely it felt. Gorgeous flowers in bloom on the outside of the rooms and idyllic Swiss features. Love at first sight.
Staff were so friendly and helpful, I was travelling with my 10 month old son and was stopped on our way out the door by management (sorry, I'm terrible with names) and asked if I would like to borrow her pram for the day, I've stayed all over Europe and Australia alone with my son and no where has this ever been offered to me.
Absolutely loved my time at Hotel Butterfly, I'm a travel agent in Australia and recommend all of my guests to stay here! Beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyP0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Butterfly, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Micky,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I know the name - it was Simone who stopped you. They try always to make the hard mountain life a bit easier for our guests with babys. (She has own experience...)

We are always happy to surprise our guests and we alwys try to laugh with them once per day. We hope we will see you again.

Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Butterfly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 648 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've been to this hotel twice now and I don't have a single compliant on either occasion,
The location is fantastic for arrival into by Zermatt by train, for the ski buses, for the town centre and for restaurants although the food in the hotel itself can not be faulted (although a wee curry on the menu would not go amiss I know it's a traditional Swiss hotel but I do miss a curry when it's a full week without one)
The staff are so so friendly and helpful and all appear to enjoy there work,
Frank the manager runs a great hotel he manages to have time to be both professional and friendly at all times even when you have to wake him out of his bed because you forgot your key to get back into the hotel, I don't suggest doing this btw

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiger_anne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We traveled to Zermatt in April for some Spring skiing. Being the week after Easter, it was still in high season. Hotel Butterfly was one of the more reasonably priced options for the time we were there. It's definitely a great value all things considered.

The hotel is very nice, relatively quaint and clean. The location is just off the main street, the Bahnhofstrasse, just a couple blocks from the main train station (as the street name would imply). When we showed up we tried to get a cab, but he told us to just walk to the hotel. We had a lot of luggage and two younger children so were dubious, but it did end up being a very reasonable walk. Just down a block or two and to the right.

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are clean and fairly large. The desk was very helpful every time we had a question or needed assistance. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant each day, but it seemed very nice for dinner as well. I wouldn't say there are a lot of amenities at the hotel, but I think most people are there to ski or shop anyway.

The hotel location is good in that you are in the heart of the action for shopping and dining on the main strip. It is also close to the Gornergrat Bahn train up the mountain. From there you can get to most of the rest of the ski area - with a little effort. Otherwise you can hop a taxi for 12 CHF anywhere in the town, including the main gondola, which is a ways away.

We were really impressed with how massive of a ski resort Zermatt really is - especially when you add in the Cervinia side in Italy. We ski Vail every year, which is also very large, but were still surprised by the size of Zermatt. We also felt like it is also slightly less convenient as skiing in the US. More time on trams and gondolas getting to where you want to go. That said, it is absolutely beautiful scenery and skiing.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Hotel Butterfly to anyone traveling to Zermatt.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 412 & 414 and did not have great views. Something on the other side of the hot...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I spent Easter week in Hotel Butterfly and it was fantastic.

The first thing you notice is how friendly the staff is. Frank, Simone, and the rest of the staff really make you feel like part of the family from the moment you walk in the door. Everyone is very nice and speaks very good English.

The hotel is well situated about a 3 minute walk to the Gornergrat Bahn ... the ski train that takes you high up into the mountains. The hotel is also very clean, quiet, warm, and comfortable.

The room we had was very nice. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and never ran out of hot water. Everything was modern and functioned well.

We opted for the half-board which was a great decision. After skiing all day it was nice and easy to just walk to the dining room and eat. The food was very good (5 courses every night + breakfast). Great wine selection too. Breakfast was a combination of hot and cold foods. The coffee was delicious.

We went on the ski day which was included in our ski week. Frank, Simone, Milo, and Steffi took about 20 hotel guests out skiing for the day. We skied into Italy and had a huge 21 course lunch. This was a really fun day and an easy way to meet some of the other guests which made the rest of the week that much more enjoyable.

I highly recommend Hotel Butterfly and will definitely stay again when we return to Zermatt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We've been visiting Hotel Butterfly for years and absolutely love it. Frank and Simone continue to create a wonderful family atmosphere and all the staff bend over backwards to make your stay memorable. We have got to know everyone really well and it has become a home away from home. Comfortable rooms and stylish but informal dining room.The food is amazing - extensive breakfast buffet with everything freshly prepared, tea and cake waiting for you apres ski, and a mouthwatering menu every evening. Sit in the cozy bar before dinner and catch up with old friends. Don't miss the brilliant day out Frank organises for guests which is a day's ski-ing and includes a 20 course lunch with endless stops for aperitifs on the way! The location of the hotel is great, being just off the village high street and very close to the station, as well as walking distance to all the ski lifts/railway etc. Zermatt has alot to offer for those that don't ski - beautiful winter walks and a picture-postcard town with interesting shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Just forget being on a budget and on a diet for the time you spend in Zermatt! Not a budget destination!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is our third visit to the Butterfly (2007 was our last visit) Very friendly staff, food very good there was always a vegetarian option in the evening. Very quiet location and rooms , wish more hotels like the Butterfly would have doors seperating the entrance hall from the bedroom (cuts out noise in the hallway) i would question security in the boot room not adequate in my view.Would definately recommend this hotel and we will go back,suprised its only rated as a 3 star should be 4 star Great location only a few minutes from the Gornergat and main line stations.

Room Tip: Try and get a mountain view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. The management and staff were most helpful in all things but particularly when one of our party broke her ankle skiing. The hotel itself is convenient to the town centre, the main railway station and the Gornergrat rail link to the slopes. The rooms are comfortable and quite spacious. The whole experience was warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#17 of 111 in Zermatt
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $153 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing