We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, nice rooms, breakfast was fabulous. Staff at the hotel was very friendly an helpful. Could converse in English, German, Italian or French.
Super location near the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    209
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
144
328
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camulodunum
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were here as a stopover on a Swiss Railway excursion. This hotel is so typical of the Alps but without the kitsch one sometimes finds. They were alert to our relatively early arrival and had our room available, allowing us time for a quick change and straight out to continue on to the mountain. Rooms are simple but elegant and very well kept and bathrooms very comfortable. We had a balcony to sit on in the early evening and enjoyed the lounge area later for a late night drink. On departure day, luggage was safely stored allowing us to maximise the time before our departure. Breakfast was good, perhaps more italian than swiss, understandable given Zermatt's geography. Zermatt is very expensive and this hotel bucks the trend....you dont feel ripped off. PS Convenient for main station and Gornergracht

Room Tip: Probably all very good, higher floors offer a view of the surrounding mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItalianTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grampi, Manager at Best Western Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hello from Zermatt, Hello from the BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank Schilling
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was located right on the small street very close to Zermatt main station and Gronergrat Bahn. It was closer than it looked in the map. In fact, right after you leave the station, walk a few steps on Bahnhofstrasse and turn right to the small road and you will see this charming swiss chalet, quiet but close to everything. No matterhorn view from here.

We booked 2 double room (standard) on the first floor which we liked because our balconies were huge.

Room was clean and spacious with classic decoration, Zermatt village painted wall, wood furniture, and carpetted floor. Breakfast was good.

All in all, the hotel was cute, convenient and good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very close to the Railway Station & Market place. Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Loved the place. The staff was very co-operative and helped us plan our day for a memorable trip to Gornergrat & Matterhorn Glacier Paradise.

Zermatt is a wonderful place, in fact one of the Best in the Swiss alps. Want to go back and stay with Butterfly

Room Tip: Prefer the Rooms on the higher floors with balcony overlooking the garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were originally booked to stay at their sister hotel, Le Petit, but were upgraded to this location. We were upgraded, because there was a huge snow storm that was forecasted and they wanted us to be closer to the city center. The hotel is less than a two minute walk from the train station. The front desk staff were very helpful and give great suggestions for things to do. The hotel provides laundry service and our clothes were washed, dried, folded, and delivered to our room within 4 hours. The breakfast offered each morning had great variety and was delicious. The rooms were super comfortable and we honestly didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BK_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Butterfly for a weekend trip with two other families. The hotel is short walk from the train station. We found the rooms to be comfortable. My kids appreciated that the double bed could be separated so that they didn't need to share. The receptionist was very friendly and gave us advice about travel times and area activities. We enjoyed having the bar area to meet and socialize with our friends. The included breakfast included breads, yogurt, cereals, cheese, and cold cuts. My kids were able to order hot chocolate.

The only downside of the hotel is that there aren't any views.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A very friendly hotel with great service and location.Quiet yet central. Felt very comfortable staying here.Pick from the station was appreciated even though it's an easy walking distance. Reception staff gave helpful advice and followed up on requests.
Clean, comfortable room at the back of the building with a nice balcony and pleasant aspect.Wi-fi didn't really function in the room but worked in the lobby. Breakfast good and we had an enjoyable meal in the dining room despite a tour group.
Tea/coffee making facility appreciated.
Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 111 in Zermatt
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Property: Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing