We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Room, nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Room, nice breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely big room with a balcony to sit on and watch Zermatt. Breakfast is varied and tasty and finally a decent coffee. Cappuccino and delicious. Rest of breakfast is good too. Little lifts so if a group checks in at the same time ... use the stairs and get fit :). Again, no ability to change the temperature in the room other than open a window ... that means noise from outside. No fridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    206
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
140
325
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I really like this property, walkable from Zermat Train Station, and they offer a free pick up and drop to the station. The Hotel is really beautiful with a view to the mountains,
Very clean, spacious,,and an excellent complimentary breakfast menu.
Its a good destination for family with kids,

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the back side with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

On a last minute deal, we booked into the Butterfly from the barnhoff. Our friends and my wife and I enjoyed two rooms side by side on the first floor with a shared balcony. The rooms were generous in size and all amenities were very agreeable. Breakfast was a treat as well. The staff were extremely courteous and e hotel was centrally located. Thumbs up. Would definitely cme back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I landed in Geneva, Switzerland and only had a few days to see the country and knew what I wanted to do but wanted to feel safe traveling by myself. I went to the train station and told the travel agent what I wanted to do. I was able to book everything right there for three days. It was expensive but well worth it because everything was planned for me right there and I was given a detailed itinerary of all of my train stops and transfers, the tickets for the Glacier Express and hotel vouchers. It really made it easy for me. I stayed in Geneva and the next morning boarded an early morning train, went south to Zermatt where I stayed at the Butterfly Best Western Hotel. The hotel is a short walk from the train station but there is a small cart that will come pick you up. No cars allowed in this small village but everything is very walkable. It was a perfectly clear day so took the train up to see the Matterhorn! Magnificent!. The ski village of Zermatt is wonderful, too. There are many restaurants and shops. There is even a well stocked grocery store (coop) where I bought cheese, bread and wine and sat on my balcony and viewed a gorgeous sunset over the Alps. The breakfast buffet included in the price of the hotel was adequate with some variety and nice service. I boarded the Glacier Express which is a very slow moving train that travelled all the way across the southern Alps to St. Moritz where I spent the night. I caught the train the next morning back to Geneva via Zurich and across the northern part of the country. I did all of this in three days plus had an additional day in Geneva and travelled to Annecy, France and Dardagny, Switzerland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in July 2012 and was particularly impressed by the friendliness of the staff. They cannot do enough for you and all of our requests were met with a cheerful politeness. The location is superb, very close to the railway station and two of the three access points for the mountains. The third one is a 10/15 minute walk away. It is at the quieter end of town but everything is within walking distance. In conclusion we would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it highly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Butterfly in the 2nd week of Jan 2012 & had a fabulous time. The room was large, comfortable & warm. The location was ideal, close enough to everything but quiet enough for a great nights sleep. The staff & management werer friendly & helpful. We were on a DBB package and the food for all meals was plentiful with lots of choice. The other thing that I can't speak highly enough about was the group ski day - what a GREAT day. Fun, friendly, a chance to meet others who were staying at the hotel. We skiied on the future days with others, and have stayed in touch with several. It made the rest of the week feel like we were staying with friends. We rarely go to the same place twice - but I would make an exception to Butterfly. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We2Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed with tour group for 2 nights.
Good location. Close to center of town and walking distance from RR. Yet, quiet.
Rooms nice size. Alittle old looking. Needs to be updated.
BR large.
Terrace.
Breakfast was fine, but not great. They will make eggs if you ask them.
Bed was comfortable
Very clean and safe.
Not fancy.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor. Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#33 of 110 in Zermatt
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Property: Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing