We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be good, but has issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Should be good, but has issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We've stayed in a few of Zermatt's amazing hotels, twice in sister (?) hotel Coeur des Alpes (which is amazing)

This is a very arty hotel, with the usual welded loo fittings, instruments & cups making the wacky chandeliers, chairs & the rest of the hotel.

We stayed in one of the cubes which is a very cool looking cube in the middle of the room. It's quite comfy but does has its problems. Put it this way, the toilet is under the bed in the home-made cube so you will have to be very familiar with whoever you're sharing the room with! I would also say that anyone over 5 foot should watch their head.

The reception & lounge area is very cool, although nothing compared to the amazing experience that is the Genesis er... sauna, pool, wind, creation thingy. Very handy for the station, not just for arrival / departure, but also for the train that takes you to the top of the mountain.

Two bad things though; on Saturday night there was a club night downstairs. When we arrived back at our room after a hard day's snowboarding we found a choice; tickets & ear plugs. Having been out the night before we choose the ear plugs which unfortunately did not detract from the thumping bass. Secondly the Michelin starred restaurant was probably one the worst culinary experiences I ever had; I wonder if they have a Michelin tyre rather than star.

I really wanted to like this hotel; it has great style & has aspects of fabulousness. Just need to sort out a bit of guest care.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Nikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    53
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
174
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic few days in Zermatt. The Backstage Hotel made our 8th Zermatt visit one of our BEST!! We stayed in the Loft (Rm 204) for 4 nights,.. and there was not a thing we could fault. The place is so so funky, so well thought out , so functional , so original in design, and so comfortable and practical. The nespresso machine, the fabrics , the big balcony, the lighting, the floor to ceiling windows made our room amazing . Even though the material used was industrial there was a complete warmth in every elemnt of the place. The staff were very attentive and accomodating , from the pick up, to the reception welcome, to the daily breakfast, to the departure. Perfect location - 3 min walk to station and Gonnengrat station to the slopes. The Wellness Spa = one of its kind with such a creative concept based on the 7 day creation. completely takes you to another place,.. We will definetely be staying here for all our future Zermatt visits. Thank you for making our stay so relaxing and convenient!!!

Room Tip: We looked at the Standar and Deluxe roms and they look great also - however the Loft is a very diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alekak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, on our second visit to Zermatt. This was a very last minute trip so we could not get accommodation at our preferred hotel and ended up booking here. Turned out to be way better than we expected! The design is... funky. Very funky. We stayed at the Coeur des Alpes earlier and we understand that Heinz Julen designed that, as well as this one, which he owns. Couer des Alpes remains our favourite, but at Backstage, Heinz has managed to create a really out-there hotel as well. The gizmos and technical flashes are all very nice - as long as you can figure out how they work, which isn't exactly easy. We are both quite tech-savvy and it still took us a while to figure out how the ultra hi-tech light panel works. The room was nice and spacious and mostly comfortable. The design somewhat lacks practicality - didn't quite enjoy the massive bathtub next to the bed, making the room a bit crowded...or the ultra large toilet and the cramped shower room. The room was also very stuffy and hot (we went in August), and there was nothing they could do about it, except tell us to open the only door that led to the balcony. We did that, and stayed up half the night because of street noise below. While the location is very convenient - close to the town centre and the station, this can mean a lot of noise in busy periods. Still, problems aside, this is a good hotel, and we had a good time. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbottom, Cheshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 double rooms for 2 nights as part of my 50th birthday celebration. Our stay was excellent. The staff were polite,friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was simple with a great selection of teas, coffees, cereals, bread, pastries, jams, meats,cheese and eggs. The hotel is small and despite its high quality has a very relaxed feel to it. The decor is striking. Our room which had a balcony and view of the Matterhorn was cosy and well equipped. The hotel has it's own art gallery,cinema/multipurpose venue and lounge bar- all very stylish. We didn't try the fine dining in the hotel in the evening as we prefer to explore. We would highly recommend Chez Vrony mountain restaurant and Chez Max restaurant by the river, both owned by relatives of Heinz Julen. The spa and relaxation facilities are very unusual. The heated beds were my favourite area. My only complaint would be that the reception, breakfast/dining room area were too hot but we will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Enjoyed the v original design and architecture , arty feel ,with a cinema and art gallery as well as up to the minute tech features and the spa , partly outdoor ,which rivals the best.central location . compact yet uncrowded.a complete one-off special experience. Will go again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceVenturaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights in January in a cube loft family room. The room design was fabulous, resulting in plenty of space for the 4 of us. The hotel is a visual feast in a gorgeous location. The staff were wonderful. Always a friendly smile and nothing was an effort. My husband required an iron, and upon asking at reception was advised that he was on holidays, they would have his shirt ironed for him.
Lovely fresh breakfast every morning in the restaurant with an amazing view.
My husband and I had the 7 course tasting menu in the After Seven Restaurant on our last evening. It was magnificent.
The wellness centre is very unique and worth a visit to the themed rooms.
For a stay with a difference, I definitely recommend the Backage Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muskie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Backstage,- never been in a Hotel like this before. The Cube Loft was amazing, there was always something new to discover in the room, and the hotel area. Great style, comfortable and in the center of Zermatt. The breakfast was very varied, healthy and well presented.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#22 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backstage Hotel Vernissage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Property: Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Address: Hofmattstrasse 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Backstage Hotel Vernissage 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Backstage Hotel Vernissage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing